Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world’s greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.

A critically acclaimed historical drama and instant number-one international best seller, The Winter Palace brilliantly reimagined the rise of Catherine the Great through the watchful eyes of her clever servant Varvara. Now, in Eva Stachniak’s enthralling new novel, Catherine takes center stage as she relives her astonishing ascension to the throne, her rule over an empire, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.

As the book opens, the charismatic monarch is in her final hours. From the fevered depths of her mind, Catherine recalls the fateful trajectory of her turbulent life: her precarious apprenticeship as Russia’s Grand Duchess, the usurpers who seek to deprive her of a crown, the friends who beg more of her than she was willing to give, and her struggle to know whom to trust and whom to deceive to ensure her survival.

"We quarrel about power, not about love," Catherine would write to the great love of her life, Grigory Potemkin, but her days were balanced on the razor’s edge of choosing her head over her heart. Power, she learns, is about resolve, strategy, and direction; love must sometimes be secondary as she marshals all her strengths to steer her volatile country into a new century and beyond - to grow the Romanov empire, to amass a vast fortune, and to control a scheming court in order to become one of history’s greatest rulers.

Gorgeously written with vivid detail and lyrical prose, Empress of the Night is an intensely intimate novel of a woman in charge of her fortunes, who must navigate the sorrows, triumphs, and hopes of both her soul and a nation.

©2014 Eva Stachniak (P)2014 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • M&M
  • BLOOMINGTON, CA, US
  • 04-22-14

Good but not as "Great" as the first book

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed Eva Stachniak’s The Winter Palace and had been greatly looking forward to Empress of the Night. And while it’s certainly an enjoyable read, the sequel didn’t quite live up to my expectations. For some reason, Stachniak employed a completely different narrative strategy in Empress of the Night, trading in the lively first-person voice of Catherine’s servant Varvara for Catherine’s own death bed ruminations. The difference in narrators, along with a convoluted plot structure, makes Empress of the Night less immediate and far more confusing than its predecessor. While the action in The Winter Palace unfolded over years, in Empress of the Night it all takes place on the final two days of Catherine’s life. In order to span the remaining decades of Catherine’s life, the book relies on a muddled series of flashbacks, so that it is often unclear from paragraph to paragraph what event or decade is being discussed. While Stachniak’s prose is still lyrical and evocative, the book overall is not as gripping as the first. <br/> The narrator does a lovely job with an almost impossible task, creating different voices for a huge cast of characters with widely varying accents. Her voice is very expressive and dramatic, which makes the audio version more compelling than the print. Her authentic Eastern European accent conveys an undeniable authority and makes the tale more coherent and enjoyable to follow.<br/>

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Story

Unmemorable




Tedious. No connection with characters. This book was not enjoyable. Unmemorable. Lot of effort and research.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great period of Russian history

Who was your favorite character and why?

Catherine. I did like the scenes between Catherine and her husband, Emperor Peter III, which were exciting and intense. Many scenes between Empress Elizabeth, daughter of Peter the Great were also memorable.

What about Beata Pozniak’s performance did you like?

Pozniak has a terrific sense of vocal range and accents. Feels authentic.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Not possible. Sometimes the story was challenging to follow and to know which character Catherine was remembering since the whole book was just based on flashbacks. One could easily get lost in all her past relationships, but at the same time one could argue that it worked just because she was on her deathbed looking back at her life... many scenes would come to her at the same time in a very confused way. Then she gets a heart attack.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Terrible reader

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No because of the reader

What was most disappointing about Eva Stachniak’s story?

I liked the story but gave up because of the reader

What didn’t you like about Beata Pozniak’s performance?

Tone , accent ,

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

GREAT AND PASSIONATE PERFORMANCE!

Would you consider the audio edition of Empress of the Night to be better than the print version?

Absolutely!

What did you like best about this story?

The challenge of it all happening in 48hours.

What about Beata Pozniak’s performance did you like?

Her own natural accent as the narrator feels realistic and authentic. She has a unique ability to portray different accents that give life to the various characters.

If you could take any character from Empress of the Night out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Potemkin. I love his unpredictable character.

Any additional comments?

I couldn't wait for the sequel because I really loved the previous narrators audiobook "The Winter Palace". Great voice. Great range. Great Catherine!