Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous re-imagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother.

We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?

As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story....

A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress' apprentice when she is only 10 years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenage Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child.

Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises.

Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after".

©2018 Danielle Teller (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Other Side of the Story

There are always two sides to every story, and I thoroughly enjoyed hearing Agnes'. It was believable and tied in very well to what we've all read regarding Cinderella. This is a book I could probably read a time or two and never tire of. Probably not appropriate for readers under the age of 14.
Narration of this book was perfect.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

I loved this book. I was sad when it was over. I love Cinderella and it was fun to hear another version.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent in every way

the writing in this book, the reading of this book, and storyline are all excellent. I enjoyed every moment of this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the best Cinderella story

this is the best rendition of Cinderella I've ever heard, I truly love this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome highly recommend

The narrator was great she knew exactly the different types of voice tones to make for each character the story was good and very well put together. My personal opinion I'm still on Cinderellas side

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting perspective

Great perspective and insight into pieces that brought together the fairy tale that I grew up with. I loved that the story fitted and moulded itself so perfectly into the story of Cinderella. Cinderella, the Ugly Step Sisters and Step Mother can now be seen in detailed 3 dimension and colour!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable book.

I really enjoyed this book. It was well written and the story was certainly interesting. There is always two sides to every story....