We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5400 )
5 star
 (2954)
4 star
 (1203)
3 star
 (625)
2 star
 (307)
1 star
 (311)
Overall
4.1 (4978 )
5 star
 (2685)
4 star
 (1135)
3 star
 (567)
2 star
 (287)
1 star
 (304)
Story
4.3 (4978 )
5 star
 (3109)
4 star
 (876)
3 star
 (449)
2 star
 (229)
1 star
 (315)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    William 07-09-16
    William 07-09-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    121
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny and she was designed for audiobooks!"

    Reading the book herself, she made me laugh repeatedly. What else is their to say?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-07-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love this book, buy it for happiness sake."

    This book is amazing, especially if you hate your job and want to be entertained.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Antoni 06-30-16
    Antoni 06-30-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very funny"

    She's just sooo funny! Got a good laugh listening to this book. Highly recommended! :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonas Rapid City 06-29-16
    Jonas Rapid City 06-29-16 Member Since 2015

    I love stories and traveling in a world beyond my own. I write them, read them, view them and now listen to them!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    96
    93
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ever Feel Like You Are Funny, and Then..."

    I totally read Jenny's books backwards. I went through Furiously Happy first, then came back to this memoir. I can't begin to state how much fun it is to hear her stories and cursing and hilarity, all the while coming across moments of sincerity and heartfelt emotions. I am a fan for life and can only put on my bucket list to awkwardly meet her one day.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    brittany w 06-19-16
    brittany w 06-19-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not for me, I guess"
    Any additional comments?

    I loved the stories about her weird childhood, but couldn't get into anything else in the book. None of it made me laugh or cry (though the bungled burial of her dog definitely tugged at my heartstrings) or feel anything other than annoyed. The singing of the chapter titles was the absolute worst for me. I just really didn't like this audiobook.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ellie 06-14-16
    Ellie 06-14-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great laugh!"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Possibly, it was just THAT good


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    Can't think of any, it felt quite unique to me


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    I always love it when an author reads their memoir, it feels a lot more personal


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Possibly, depending on my mood when starting


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. E. Frings 06-14-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If only any and all of us had this perspelarents."

    loved it.Like my life in a nutshell. her take on what could make society break down is Right On!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shell Miller 06-08-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good"

    I will buy the second book, this one was entertaining. Story was relatable and the author made the story engaging.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Liz 06-05-16
    Liz 06-05-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Everywhere and nowhere"

    This book started out interestingly and funny. However, towards the end it just seemed to be a little "out there". I enjoyed the stories of her HR job experiences though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy Beehn 06-04-16
    Nancy Beehn 06-04-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funniest thing I've ever listened to!"

    Great stories. Great narration. Absolutely couldn't put it down. I love this author's sense of humor.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.