Regular price: $22.60

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

With his colorful tattoos and booming hip-hop sound track, Mike Iaconelli has turned the world of big-money competitive bass fishing upside down. In Fishing on the Edge, Iaconelli tells his own story, and it's a whopper: a Philly-born, Jersey-bred Yankee who's been stealing the spotlight from bass fishing's traditionally all-Southern anglers, attracting fans and dominating one of the fastest-growing sports in America.

Forty-four million Americans fish, but no one does it quite like Mike Iaconelli. In Fishing on the Edge, he lets you in on the secrets to his extraordinary success; how he developed his "power" fishing style, how he attacks the water, positions the boat, and perseveres through those days when the bass just aren't biting. With tips that can be used by any fisherman, from using spinner baits to picking out the right rod to his no-fail "secret weapons", this is an intensive, informative, and often raucous journey through the life of a brash young man destined to do for fishing what Tony Hawk did for the X Games: take the sport to a whole new level. At the same time, it's the compelling first-person story of a man who prepared carefully every step of the way, kept notes on every fish he ever caught, and executed the perfect plan to get to the top.

A tale of passion, competition, and extreme personality, Fishing on the Edge is a book for anyone who loves the sport of fishing, wants to turn a hobby into a career, or is simply fascinated by a man's unstoppable drive to succeed.

©2005 Mike Iaconelli; (P)2005 Random House, Inc. Random House Audio, a division of Random House, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Nate
  • Calamus, IA, USA
  • 12-20-05

what you would expect

This wasn't a bad book. Yet it was what you'd expect. The story of Iconelli's life is interesting but not unique enough to be considered compelling. The other problem with the book is that it seems like it was written for a high school english composition class. Ike is really fond of trying to sound hip in his writing, so if you don't want to hear the phrase "I was totally stoked.." a thousand times you had better rethink this purchase. I bought the book hoping for fishing tips. They are there, but they are the same tips found on his web page and don't amount to much taken as a whole.

With that said, I don't feel like the book is unworthy of a listen. If you like fishing this listen will be moderately worth your time. But don't expect more than Ike can deliver!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Keith
  • Fond du Lac, WI, USA
  • 09-15-05

Great Book. Worth a listen.

A good book for fans of BASS or FLW. Ike's personality shines through and makes for a quick listen. Good stories and some tips. Very entertaining.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

awesome book

hearing it from iaconelli himself was cool
learning how he want's to change bass tournament was different

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Didn't suck

Good story. I'd like to hear something more updated as this is a bit old. Ike is due for another book/audiobook. Fun listen. Nice and quick. Story seems a little scattered at some points but it's pretty easy to follow. Thanks for a good un, Ike!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good book

Good book if you enjoy fishing. Not much in the aspect of techniques and lures. But still a great read.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Awesome for about all Anglers

Loved it! Inspiring and captivating. Ike is the real deal! Hoping for more from Mike!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Mike Iaconelli

An Amazing story of struggle. I just wish he spent more time on the fishing tips and less time on his personnel struggles.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great Read

Very rewarding read and loved that Mike narrated it himself! Look forward to his next book!?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good insights into tournament fishing

What made the experience of listening to Fishing on the Edge the most enjoyable?

Outside my area of interest, and it gave me insight into fishing as a profession rather than a hobby.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Fishing on the Edge?

How devastating tournament fishing can be to a family.

What does Mike Iaconelli bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Excellent delivery of his personal story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved it

Really enjoyed this fishing book. Mike seems like a good dude. I'm not a bass fisherman but he definitely accomplished his goal and made me feel his passion. Loved his story, and there was definitely more than enough fishing stories in there. Glad to hear there are modern pioneers changing the fishing scene and attracting a younger crowd.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.