Darkslayer

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 41 ratings

Wrath of the Royals Publisher's Summary

Fans of RA Salvatore's Drizzt Do' Urden, Frizt Leiber's Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser, David Gemmell's Druss the Legend, Raymond E. Feist's Pug the Wizard, and Robert E. Howard's Conan, like The Darkslayer series. Perhaps you will as well.

Welcome to the unwelcome world of Bish.

Bish is the land of constant strife and turmoil. The rise and fall of the blazing suns make the days long and the people disagreeable. Its barren Outlands are as comforting as a bed of thorns as there is little sanctuary to be found in the sweltering forests or the dank caves below the ground. Its caviling cities are overrun with death, greed, and corruption, but few complain. It is a place where tempers flare and alliances last as long as a tankard of ale. It is a place where the women are as beautiful as they are scarred and deranged. A place where good doesn't thrive, it endures. It is the land of fight or die.

Enter Venir the incorrigible, a fierce warrior, who has been secretly keeping the underling forces at bay for years. He is the Darkslayer, a man possessed by a mantle of power he cannot let go.

Enter Melegal the resilient, a crafty rogue, and Venir's reluctant shadow.

Enter the underlings, a purely evil race of sadistic killers bent on the destruction of mankind.

Enter the humans, a greedy, self-absorbed race of shameless survivors.

Enter the orcs, halflings, dwarves, ogres, and other races, some good, some bad, all caught in the maelstrom of treachery and seduction.

How will they survive to fight and skim another day? Only Bish knows.

©2010 Craig Halloran (P)2016 Craig Halloran
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Wrath of the Royals

    • The Darkslayer, Book 1
    • By: Craig Halloran
    • Narrated by: Lee Alan
    • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 22
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 22
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 22

    Bish is the land of constant strife and turmoil. The rise and fall of the blazing suns make the days long and the people disagreeable. Its barren Outlands are as comforting as a bed of thorns as there is little sanctuary to be found in the sweltering forests or the dank caves below the ground. Its caviling cities are overrun with death, greed, and corruption, but few complain. It is a place where tempers flare and alliances last as long as a tankard of ale. A place where good doesn't thrive, it endures.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Good Endures Says it all

    • By Amazon CustomerBeliever on 04-16-17

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 2

    • The Darkslayer, Book 2: Blades in the Night

    • By: Craig Halloran
    • Narrated by: Lee Alan
    • Length: 14 hrs and 5 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 6

    Only the Darkslayer's death will do! After tasting defeat at the hands of the mythic Darkslayer, the underling Lords Catten and Verbard are determined to once and for all eliminate this thorn in their side. But they'll have to wait their turn. After a brutal trip through the Outlands, the brash warrior Venir – a.k.a. the Darkslayer - returns to the City of Bone and faces threats from the Royal Houses of Bone, man-urchins, shadow sentries, and two dark figures that he'd left for dead once before.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Epic Storytelling

    • By Fernando Zepeda on 04-01-17

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 3

    • The Darkslayer

    • Underling Revenge, Book 3
    • By: Craig Halloran
    • Narrated by: Lee Alan
    • Length: 17 hrs and 13 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 5

    As Venir struggles to survive the wrath of the underlings, Fogle Boon the Wizard and Mood the Blood Ranger continue the search for their missing comrade. But how will they find a man that completely disappeared from Bish without a trace? Back in the City of Bone, Melegal the thief is pushed to the limits under the thumb of the powerful Royal Lord Almen.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Incredible Story & Performance

    • By Fernando Zepeda on 07-14-17

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 4

    • Danger and the Druid

    • The Darkslayer, Book 4
    • By: Craig Halloran
    • Narrated by: Lee Alan
    • Length: 14 hrs and 14 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3

    Detective Melegal remains neck deep in Royal Games, trying to hunt down the Slergs, who have Venir's son Brak in tow, as well as trying to enact his own personal vengeance on the Cleric Sefron. Mood the Blood Ranger and Fogle Boon have traveled deep into the bitter cold of the Nameless Mountains in hopes of finding a druid that can provide a cure for the dying two-headed dog, Chongo. But the mountains are full of dangers and surprises that even the brilliant mind of the mage Fogle Boon could never have anticipated.

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 5

    • Outrage in the Outlands

    • The Darkslayer, Book 5
    • By: Craig Halloran
    • Narrated by: Lee Alan
    • Length: 13 hrs and 31 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2

    Venir is pushed to his limits in the Outlands: battling underlings and trying to find a way to staunch the underling armies that are quickly spreading from one corner of Bish to the other. Detective Melegal, struggling to get his life back under control, finds himself with more responsibility that he ever asked for. Not only does his life hang in the balance, but the fate of many others as well. Will his actions save them or spell doom for them all?

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 6

    • Chaos at the Castle

    • The Darkslayer, Book 6
    • By: Craig Halloran
    • Narrated by: Lee Alan
    • Length: 15 hrs and 24 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    With Venir imprisoned at the Outpost, who will step forward to protect Bish from the rising tide of underlings? Who will save Venir? What about the City of Bone? Have underling Lords Catten, Verbard and Master Kierway taken it over? Kam the mage and Lefty Lightfoot struggle to find a way out of The Nest, but will they need the help of a far more dangerous ally? What hand, if any, will Scorch have in all of this? Will another Darkslayer rise amid the chaos?

    Regular price: $24.95