Showing results by author "Hazel Gaynor"

Categories

All Categories

8 results
Sort by
    • Last Christmas in Paris

    • A Novel of World War I
    • By: Hazel Gaynor, Heather Webb
    • Narrated by: Alex Wyndham, Billie Fulford-Brown, Morag Sims, and others
    • Length: 8 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 156
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 145
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 143

    Evie and Thomas experience a very different war. Frustrated by life as a privileged young lady, Evie longs to play a greater part in the conflict - but how? - and as Thomas struggles with the unimaginable realities of war, he also faces personal battles back home, where War Office regulations on press reporting cause trouble at his father's newspaper business. Through their letters Evie and Thomas share their greatest hopes and fears - and grow ever fonder from afar. Can love flourish amid the horror of the First World War, or will fate intervene?

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • A romance told through letters

    • By RueRue on 03-29-18

    Regular price: $25.09

    • The Cottingley Secret

    • A Novel
    • By: Hazel Gaynor
    • Narrated by: Karen Cass, Billie Fullford-Brown
    • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 191
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 172
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 172

    When Olivia Kavanagh finds an old manuscript in her late grandfather's bookshop, she becomes fascinated by the story it tells of two young girls who mystified the world. But it is the discovery of an old photograph that leads her to realize how the fairy girls' lives intertwine with hers, connecting past to present and blurring her understanding of what is real and what is imagined. As she begins to understand why a nation once believed in fairies, can Olivia find a way to believe in herself?

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Heartwarming

    • By Dana Rampi-Cruz on 10-22-17

    Regular price: $28.51

    • A Memory of Violets

    • A Novel of London's Flower Sellers
    • By: Hazel Gaynor
    • Narrated by: Nicola Barber
    • Length: 10 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 488
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 450
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 450

    1876. Among the filth and depravity of Covent Garden's flower markets, orphaned Irish sisters Flora and Rosie Flynn sell posies of violets and watercress to survive. It is a pitiful existence, made bearable only by each other's presence. When they become separated, the decision of a desperate woman sets their lives on very different paths.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • As beautiful as the flowers it describes!

    • By Caroline D. Hayes on 03-13-15

    Regular price: $28.51

    • The Girl Who Came Home

    • A Novel of the Titanic
    • By: Hazel Gaynor
    • Narrated by: Connor Kelly-Eiding, Alana Kerr Collins
    • Length: 9 hrs and 41 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 495
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 442
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 443

    A voyage across the ocean becomes the odyssey of a lifetime for a young Irish woman…. Inspired by true events, The Girl Who Came Home poignantly blends fact and fiction to explore the Titanic tragedy's impact and its lasting repercussions on survivors and their descendants.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Awesome Book about Titanic.

    • By Edythe J Clemons on 02-11-17

    Regular price: $28.51

    • The Girl from the Savoy

    • A Novel
    • By: Hazel Gaynor
    • Narrated by: Jennifer Jones, Lucy Rayner, Paul Fox
    • Length: 14 hrs and 20 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 75
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 68
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 67

    Dolly Lane is a dreamer, a downtrodden maid who longs to dance on the London stage, but her life has been fractured by the Great War. Memories of the soldier she loved, of secret shame and profound loss, by turns pull her back and spur her on to make a better life. When she finds employment as a chambermaid at London's grandest hotel, The Savoy, Dolly takes a step closer to the glittering lives of the Bright Young Things who thrive on champagne, jazz, and rebellion.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Loved it.

    • By Esse on 09-09-16

    Regular price: $31.93

    • The Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter

    • A Novel
    • By: Hazel Gaynor
    • Narrated by: Imogen Church
    • Length: 12 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    1838: Northumberland, England. Longstone Lighthouse on the Farne Islands has been Grace Darling’s home for all of her 22 years. When she and her father rescue shipwreck survivors in a furious storm, Grace becomes celebrated throughout England, the subject of poems and plays. 1938: Newport, Rhode Island. Nineteen-years-old and pregnant, Matilda Emmerson has been sent away from Ireland in disgrace. She is to stay with Harriet until her baby is born. As a deadly hurricane approaches, two women, living a century apart, will be linked forever by their instinctive acts of courage and love.

    Regular price: $30.79

    • The Cottingley Secret

    • By: Hazel Gaynor
    • Narrated by: Karen Cass, Billie Fullford-Brown
    • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 1

    1917: When two young cousins, Frances Griffiths and Elsie Wright from Cottingley, England, announce they have photographed fairies at the bottom of the garden, their parents are astonished. But when the great novelist Sir Arthur Conan Doyle endorses the photographs' authenticity, the girls become a sensation, their discovery offering something to believe in amid a world ravaged by war.

    Regular price: $13.42

    • The Girl from the Savoy

    • By: Hazel Gaynor
    • Narrated by: Jennifer Jones, Lucy Tayner, Paul Fox
    • Length: 14 hrs and 20 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    The new rich and compelling novel from the author of The Girl Who Came Home. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Dolly Lane is a dreamer, a downtrodden maid who longs to dance on the London stage, but the outbreak of war takes everything from her: Teddy, the man she loves - and her hopes of a better life. When she secures employment as a chambermaid at London's grandest hotel, The Savoy, Dolly's proximity to the dazzling guests makes her yearn for a life beyond the grey drudgery she was born into.

    Regular price: $14.97