Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

You invited him into your life. And now you can never go back....

Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life to move to a beautiful farmhouse in the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realizes that troubles are never far behind. One night, when Pippa is at home alone, a stranger arrives at her front door. Pippa invites him in and, in a moment of madness, makes him an offer she believes could change everything.... 

Ryan is funny, charming, and haunted by his past. There, in the kitchen, over a glass of wine, Pippa thinks Ryan might be the answer to all of her problems. But how well does she really know him? Pippa can tell truth from lies. And she’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

From Amazon best seller S. E. Lynes, The Proposal is a pause-resisting and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Woman at the Window, and The Wife Between Us.

©2018 S. E. Lynes (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    18

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    10

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    20
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ashley
  • Mckinney, TX, United States
  • 09-23-18

Brilliant...

Powerful,moving...funny and refreshing. All adjectives apropos for this book. I read a lot. So many are similar , but this was unexpected . Written in first person it’s the story told by Pippa an author in a dry spell deadline looming. Finding her muse in a door to door salesman, she makes a decision she can never go back on.
You won’t regret your credit spent.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Exhausting

This book is exhausting. No one can be as stupid and unaware as the main character in this book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

lots of fast forwarding through the middle

This book is fine at the beginning up to the point where the stranger leaves her home. That is, if, you would believe someone would invite a stranger off the street into their home and treat them like they have been friends for years. Then I found myself fast forwarding through the most drawn out scenes imaginable through the middle of the book. It doesn't get good again until almost the end. Then the ending is bizarre to say the least. Could have done without this book. Would never recommend it to anyone who likes psychological thrillers. Save your credit.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CB
  • 09-26-18

Good but a little creepy

This started out a little boring in my opinion and it took me awhile to get into it. Eventually though I could not stop listening, I had to know what was going to happen next! A very suspenseful and rather creepy thriller. I also
liked the way they did the narrative layout, made it even more suspenseful. A good listen!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Propostrous

This is hands down one of the worst books ever. The story is absurd and the main character is laughable and unbelievable.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Drags at the beginning but gets good at the end

I struggled to stay with the story up until around chapter 26. I did not like the main characters, they were selfish and whiney.
Around chapter 26 the story picks up and things become clearer. It's a bit predictable and dysfunctional.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

unique approach to storytelling

I have read and loved several psychological thrillers and this is the most unique approach to the story. I am giving this high rating not so much for the story itself, but because of how it was delivered to the reader.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It's twisty...

This had an unexpected twisty end. Unlike any other book I have read. I enjoyed the dark humor embedded in an even darker tale!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great Openning

The book started very well with a quirky heroine but took soon odd and disturbing turns in end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What did I just read?

This book was all over the place. I had to stop halfway through and return it. Complete waste of time. Definitely would not recommend.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • irishchyna
  • 09-27-18

Don’t bother!

Honestly... don’t bother with this book. I tried so so hard to give it a chance... but I got to where there was an hour left and just gave up. It’s so tedious... the storyline is awful and so drawn out, not to mention predictable... save your money (and the hours of your life you’ll never get back)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lynn Burfoot
  • 12-03-18

Boring and very long winded!

I am suprised the narrator didn't fall asleep.This bool was boring and sadly very predictable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mandy
  • 01-11-19

Gripping

I do not usually read these types of books, but this had me gripped from the beginning & didn’t want to listening.
Although I more or less expected how it would end, I still could not stop, neither when I wanted to shout at Pippa for being so silly.
Really enjoyed this

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-10-19

true love ?<br />

an intriguing twist on the meaning of True Love, or infatuation?
very well written and narrated bringing the tension & drama to life.
I am looking forward to reading her next book 'Mother'

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Julie
  • 12-27-18

Interesting, yet rather mad.

A rather strange book. the beginning was a bit mad, then the story was really good, but totally bonkers at the end. Sort of like a modern-day Romeo & Juliet without the romance!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah Martin
  • 12-12-18

Twists and turns !

Great book and loved the last twist.
Recommended!
An excellent thriller that’s keeps you guessing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss
  • 11-26-18

AMAZING!

I loved the story & the narration. I couldn’t predict the ending and I was gripped the whole way through!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Martyn J. Pass
  • 11-08-18

Creepy in all the right ways

Loved it. Not my usual read (listen in this case) but one started I found it very hard to put down. Great story, great performance.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa
  • 10-28-18

Good read with a great ending

I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. I Was very relieved it had a great ending.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Hannah
  • 10-24-18

80% great!

Found this book a bit odd..I thoroughly enjoyed the majority of it. I was gripped from outset & enjoyed the characters & the narrator. HOWEVER! I found it got slightly farcical towards the end, and the ending was silly. It almost felt like the author had been putting their all into the story but then had to finish it off quickly. It’s a bit of a funny one as I wouldn’t say give it a miss as I enjoyed the majority of it..maybe just brace yourself for a descent into silliness towards the end!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-26-18

BORING!!!!!

I tried to 3 times to listen to this story but it is just too boring that my mind kept wandering off.
I returned it and got
My credit back.