Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Christopher would never hurt anyone. Not intentionally. Even after everything that’s happened, I still believe that....

Christopher Harris is a lonely boy. A boy who has never fit into his family. Who has always felt something was missing from his life. Until one day, when he discovers a suitcase in his family’s attic, and a secret about his mother that changes everything.... 

Mother will leave you reeling and hold you breathless until the very last minute. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister, and Apple Tree Yard.

"An intelligent psychological drama with a gasp-making twist." (Good Housekeeping)

"Up there with the big hitters. Move over Gone Girl you’ve got company on the top shelf." (Read & Rated Book Reviews)

"Breathlessly exciting." (Linda’s Book Bag)

"A sinister, deliciously wicked foray into the dark recesses of our personality. Lynes is a promising addition to the prolific list of stellar writers of psychological thrillers which includes Gillian Flynn, S J Watson, Louise Doughty, Elizabeth Haynes et al." (NB Magazine)

"Sent chills down my spine... completely enticing." (Damp Pebbles)

"Oozes with atmospheric tones, vivid descriptions and pure, haunting emotions." (Reviewed the Book)

"S.E. Lynes has raised the bar when it comes to phenomenal story telling." (Between Dreams I Read)

©2017 S.E. Lynes (P)2017 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Waiting for all the “exciting” twists

This book was okay but not as heart thumping and wildly exciting as so many people thought. Ben was brought Into the story abruptly and I quickly figured out why even though he does not mention again until later.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Stellar Narrating

Tamsin Kennard is an outstanding narrator. The story is slow until the last few chapters, where there is a twist I never saw coming. I'm very picky about the narrator's tone and I was not disappointed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Victim of Menace

All along I felt invested in Christopher's character. I wanted him to somehow did himself of Benjamin's threat. How inutterably
Sad how it ended. I wonder if the end twist was necessary.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

I have really enjoyed listening to this book. had my attention the entire time. highly recommend

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

ok

this book ok... but would not suggest it to anyone. very boring and just not interesting

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Started out great but ended poorly.

Loved the beginning, however the ending was poorly! Gripping and twisted end was not it at all!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad, but not great

This was a good read for long flight, but also fairly boring, ending is a bit convoluted as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

barbataann203

loved it..could not wait to get in car and hear more... would stop get coffee and sit in car to hear a chapter or 2...very well written and read....

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Mother

I t was very confusing. I started it over a couple of times thinking i missed something. I wasn't real happy about the ending either.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This was a mother here and over here

All I can say is what tangled weave of a novel this was... and The End....?????

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet biglari
  • 01-17-18

Compelling and Gripping Story

I have never read anything by this author before so did not know what to expect. I found that I was totally gripped by this book. The subject is unusual and the narrative compelling. S.E.Lynes has a real talent for creating characters that are believable and well drawn. I loved the Seventies setting and references that really took me back to my teens. The references to the Yorkshire Ripper and his impact on the actions of the characters was a really interesting twist. I also loved the narration, Tamsin has a gift for creating characters without resorting to silly exaggerated voices. I would really recommend this book and was sad when I had finished it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Chrissie
  • 02-15-18

Interesting subject, but that is where it stops!

An interesting subject choice, exploring adoption and the search for identity and family, and sadistic murder, marred by a hackneyed writing style and monotonous narration.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Emma richards
  • 01-26-18

Outstanding

I started this book and nearly stopped because I thought it was a bit slow the characters bland but that is what the author wanted to create- draw you in get to know them. However I am glad I felt compelled to carry on because this book kept twisting and turning. I hope other readers enjoy it as much as I did.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Richard
  • 01-08-18

A page turner

A very good read , kept my interest to the end , an end I didn't foresee !
Thoroughly enjoyable . Would definitely recommend .

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • flc
  • 01-08-18

Worth buying.

Excellent narration and a really good story with little twists right at the end. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Iscalady
  • 01-02-18

Great story, gripping till the end

Excellent story, sad but believable. The narration was excellent too. I was totally immersed in this book from start to finish. Will be looking for more from this author.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • robert
  • 12-30-17

Disappointed

Felt very disappointed with the overall story. It intrigued initially but became boring, not helped by substandard narration.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. J. M. Benjamin-potts
  • 12-13-17

Mother

Wow! This may just be the best story I’ve ever listened to. I can’t wait to read more from this author

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jenny
  • 12-27-17

Not my type of book

This book was ok. I didn't return it but I would not recommend it. I found it opposing and boring really. I didn't like the main character Chris so I never really cared about his story. The narrator did a good job on this very mundane book.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chrissie
  • 12-28-17

Excellent.

I nearly gave up at the slow start but so glad I hadn’t. Love psychological thrillers, you’ll love this one .!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful