adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Christopher would never hurt anyone. Not intentionally. Even after everything that’s happened, I still believe that....

Christopher Harris is a lonely boy. A boy who has never fit into his family. Who has always felt something was missing from his life. Until one day, when he discovers a suitcase in his family’s attic, and a secret about his mother that changes everything.... 

Mother will leave you reeling and hold you breathless until the very last minute. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister, and Apple Tree Yard.

"An intelligent psychological drama with a gasp-making twist." (Good Housekeeping)

"Up there with the big hitters. Move over Gone Girl you’ve got company on the top shelf." (Read & Rated Book Reviews)

"Breathlessly exciting." (Linda’s Book Bag)

"A sinister, deliciously wicked foray into the dark recesses of our personality. Lynes is a promising addition to the prolific list of stellar writers of psychological thrillers which includes Gillian Flynn, S J Watson, Louise Doughty, Elizabeth Haynes et al." (NB Magazine)

"Sent chills down my spine... completely enticing." (Damp Pebbles)

"Oozes with atmospheric tones, vivid descriptions and pure, haunting emotions." (Reviewed the Book)

"S.E. Lynes has raised the bar when it comes to phenomenal story telling." (Between Dreams I Read)

©2017 S.E. Lynes (P)2017 Bookouture

What listeners say about Mother

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    15
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

I have really enjoyed listening to this book. had my attention the entire time. highly recommend

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Stellar Narrating

Tamsin Kennard is an outstanding narrator. The story is slow until the last few chapters, where there is a twist I never saw coming. I'm very picky about the narrator's tone and I was not disappointed.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Depressing

I have read other books by this author and have enjoyed them. I did not enjoy this book. It was sad and depressing. Definitely not a book for me. The overall story seemed to be a bit drawn out and boring. I just wanted to hurry up and finish it - just to get to the end. The narrator was amazing, which is why I stuck it out.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a sad sad story. I hated the ending.

The narrator took me by surprise. The hurt of each character felt so profound and real.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

99% BORING

This is the third book I have read by this author. Grossly disappointing.. The various plot lines are totally disjointed. until the very end, which is finally informed and and quite enjoyable. However, getting through the story is laborious, tedious and frustrating. Boring!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The Mother

This book had a predictable plot. The details throughout the end felt randomly generated. I expected more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

just "so so"

it was a very long winded tale. I found it to be quite predictable from the get go, and the ending was very anticlimactic. it was almost as if the writer gave up and had a deadline to meet. I really enjoyed other books by this author which is why I purchased this one, but goodness was this boring. great narration though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

barbataann203

loved it..could not wait to get in car and hear more... would stop get coffee and sit in car to hear a chapter or 2...very well written and read....

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Mother

I t was very confusing. I started it over a couple of times thinking i missed something. I wasn't real happy about the ending either.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Maudlin, self-serving characters

This story surprised me, but not in a good way. The listening experience was pleasant enough, thanks to the narrator, but this is not a thriller by any stretch, nor a mystery in any but the broadest sense. The whole thing reeks of privilege, and maybe that's the point, but it's flogged to pieces over many hours. (Edited to add, as an adoptive grandparent I was extremely offended by the ends of this book, and removed a star.)

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for None
  • None
  • 01-17-18

Compelling and Gripping Story

I have never read anything by this author before so did not know what to expect. I found that I was totally gripped by this book. The subject is unusual and the narrative compelling. S.E.Lynes has a real talent for creating characters that are believable and well drawn. I loved the Seventies setting and references that really took me back to my teens. The references to the Yorkshire Ripper and his impact on the actions of the characters was a really interesting twist. I also loved the narration, Tamsin has a gift for creating characters without resorting to silly exaggerated voices. I would really recommend this book and was sad when I had finished it.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chrissie
  • Chrissie
  • 02-15-18

Interesting subject, but that is where it stops!

An interesting subject choice, exploring adoption and the search for identity and family, and sadistic murder, marred by a hackneyed writing style and monotonous narration.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emma richards
  • Emma richards
  • 01-26-18

Outstanding

I started this book and nearly stopped because I thought it was a bit slow the characters bland but that is what the author wanted to create- draw you in get to know them. However I am glad I felt compelled to carry on because this book kept twisting and turning. I hope other readers enjoy it as much as I did.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard
  • Richard
  • 01-08-18

A page turner

A very good read , kept my interest to the end , an end I didn't foresee !
Thoroughly enjoyable . Would definitely recommend .

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for flc
  • flc
  • 01-08-18

Worth buying.

Excellent narration and a really good story with little twists right at the end. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Iscalady
  • Iscalady
  • 01-02-18

Great story, gripping till the end

Excellent story, sad but believable. The narration was excellent too. I was totally immersed in this book from start to finish. Will be looking for more from this author.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for robert
  • robert
  • 12-30-17

Disappointed

Felt very disappointed with the overall story. It intrigued initially but became boring, not helped by substandard narration.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny
  • Jenny
  • 12-27-17

Not my type of book

This book was ok. I didn't return it but I would not recommend it. I found it opposing and boring really. I didn't like the main character Chris so I never really cared about his story. The narrator did a good job on this very mundane book.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chrissie
  • Chrissie
  • 12-28-17

Excellent.

I nearly gave up at the slow start but so glad I hadn’t. Love psychological thrillers, you’ll love this one .!!!!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. J. M. Benjamin-potts
  • Mrs. J. M. Benjamin-potts
  • 12-13-17

Mother

Wow! This may just be the best story I’ve ever listened to. I can’t wait to read more from this author

11 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Thomas
  • Mary Thomas
  • 06-22-19

Mother fantastic story

A really great book the narration is excellent and although I did work things out it kept me interested until the very end. The characters are well written and you get very involved in the story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-19-21

a little unsettling

A good book, well written & excellent narration but the mother son relationship was all a bit much for me. Poss author was going for those sexual overtones but mmmm....not for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-18-21

Story was very slow

The ending was not what was expected but it wasn’t entertaining either. It was an interesting story but it did drag on a bit long.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adilah Y.
  • Adilah Y.
  • 01-12-21

Not bad

Slow buildup, and abrupt ending. Some loose ends not tied up. Some parts of the book made me go, "......eh??" .. but all in all, it was so-so.

Narrator did a great job