adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.72

Buy for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Number one international best seller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

A missing child. 

When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods just outside Fjällbacka, the community is horror-struck. Thirty years ago a young girl went missing from the exact same spot and was later discovered murdered. 

A murder. 

Back then two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could it really be a coincidence that one of the girls - now a world-famous actress - has just returned to Fjällbacka? Detective Patrik Hedström starts investigating with his wife, best-selling crime writer Erica Falck, by his side. 

A community torn apart. 

But as Patrik and Erica dig deeper, the truth becomes ever murkier, because it seems that everyone in the tight-knit community is hiding something. And soon the residents must confront the fact that they could be harbouring a murderer in their midst.... 

©2018 Camilla Lackberg (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Camilla Lackberg: "Domesticity and brutality are Lackberg staples.... Tightly plotted.... Unflinching." (Sunday Times)

"Heart-stopping and heart-warming...a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing." (Val McDermid)

"The rock star of Nordic Noir." (The Independent)

What listeners say about The Girl in the Woods

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

New narrator, new pronunciations. Not good.

I've really enjoyed this series over-all, so I was disappointed to discover that this narrator pronounces the names of the two main characters differently to how they had been known in all the other books. It was disconcerting and pulled my focus out of the story.
The book was probably not as good as some of the others in the series. There are three time lines which the story flips between. Sometimes this can make it a bit hard to keep track, especially in the first few hours of the book, while you are still remembering who all the characters are. Personally I found the storyline set in historic Sweden to be unnecessary to the book. However, even say this, I did enjoy the book as a whole.
I would like to continue the series as more books are released, but I REALLY hope that the producers revert to one of the previous narrators. It might be a deal breaker.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best!

I enjoied every word of it! Longer than the other books but passionate. I like the alternance between the normal life of the small community and the psychological tensions hidden behind this normal life.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mcsmall
  • mcsmall
  • 05-24-20

Not up to her usual standard

This was far too long and lacked focus with an irrelevant time slip.The narrator was mediocre too

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-16-19

Very Enjoyable

I really enjoyed this murder mystery, there was nothing too gruesome or harrowing. There are alot of Swedish characters names to grasp at the beginning but persevere. I wouldn't give it 5 stars as I thought there was too much detail in some very banal situations and also a plot based in the 1600s which I thought was unnecessary. The narrator was excellent and overall very easy to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sallyhippo
  • Sallyhippo
  • 11-14-19

Great book with some good twists

I enjoyed this book for it's multi factional story lines that intertwine throughout the book. It was well read, I think Robin did a great job with the various characters and was able to deliver emotional content as the characters developed. I'm not sure that the title of the book reflects the story itself however. It was a good listen and I would highly recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for alan hunt
  • alan hunt
  • 06-17-19

Was the editor on vacation?

A novel which needs drastic editing. Particularly annoying are the 17th century flash-backs to a different story which has parallels but no apparent relevance to the main story. Why it was included is anyone's guess. The novel per se could be cut by half and still be too lengthy. Not her best.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nom de Plume
  • Nom de Plume
  • 12-30-18

Thumbs Up

Lackberg’s characters have a rare warmth and her books are a joy to read/listen to, as on re-entering her world it’s like meeting old friends.

This story is well-plotted and tense. The dog enjoyed some extended walks as I couldn’t stop listening to the unfolding storyline. I won’t spoil it for you, but if you are a fan of murder mysteries, you will enjoy this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher baldwin
  • Christopher baldwin
  • 04-18-18

brilliant

I really did enjoy this book i kept listening to it every chance i got

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patricia Evans
  • Patricia Evans
  • 06-18-21

tedious

I've listened to this author's books before and sometimes have been a bit confused by the number of characters but this is the worst. The three stories in one just don't work and I really don't understand the seventeenth century tale of jealousy and witchcraft and what relevance it had to the other two murders. Also the refugees lessons in sailing and Swedish had no relevance to the two murders and a good editor would have made this a much more readable book. Won't be listening to any more by Ms Lackberg

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jopublique
  • Jopublique
  • 12-13-20

Not the read it was hyped up to be. Disappointing.

Full of school level clichés and writing style. Disappointing fragmented story with hurried ending. The character of Gösta sounded like Bungle from children's TV series Magpie.....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GK
  • GK
  • 11-22-20

the best of her books so far

brilliant and fascinating intertwining stories that keeps you on your toes until the end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marspain
  • Marspain
  • 10-01-18

A good listen!

It was a different type of murder, mystery and I enjoyed the diversity of characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-11-18

Sooooooooo good

A really great book, edge of your seat reading right until the end. plots that intertwine throughout the story. One of the best writers who differs each story and encourages each ongoing character to better heights. I did not want to finish this book. what to read now...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gerry
  • Gerry
  • 09-06-20

Drawn out

I thought this book was too long and drawn out. Original storyline was promising but I found it frustrating and too long. The witches part was totally irrelevant and just contributed to the drawn out storyline. Found it hard to relate to any of the characters.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 07-15-20

Na na don’t like it

This narrator is too soft too girlie a voice. I listened for about 2 hours but in the end gave it up. It was confusing to which story I was supposed to be listening to. It would be fine if reading but listening is different

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-05-20

the Girl in the woods

loved it!!! was crying in many parts. Written Beautifully and set out to thrill you

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mozinoz
  • mozinoz
  • 01-27-20

Three stories woven into one.....

A masterpiece in political correctness, otherwise an interesting tale. The ending was a little unbelievable, but hey, it's a story!