Regular price: $20.72

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Number one international best seller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

A missing child. 

When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods just outside Fjällbacka, the community is horror-struck. Thirty years ago a young girl went missing from the exact same spot and was later discovered murdered. 

A murder. 

Back then two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could it really be a coincidence that one of the girls - now a world-famous actress - has just returned to Fjällbacka? Detective Patrik Hedström starts investigating with his wife, best-selling crime writer Erica Falck, by his side. 

A community torn apart. 

But as Patrik and Erica dig deeper, the truth becomes ever murkier, because it seems that everyone in the tight-knit community is hiding something. And soon the residents must confront the fact that they could be harbouring a murderer in their midst.... 

©2018 Camilla Lackberg (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Camilla Lackberg: "Domesticity and brutality are Lackberg staples.... Tightly plotted.... Unflinching." (Sunday Times)

"Heart-stopping and heart-warming...a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing." (Val McDermid)

"The rock star of Nordic Noir." (The Independent)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

New narrator, new pronunciations. Not good.

I've really enjoyed this series over-all, so I was disappointed to discover that this narrator pronounces the names of the two main characters differently to how they had been known in all the other books. It was disconcerting and pulled my focus out of the story.
The book was probably not as good as some of the others in the series. There are three time lines which the story flips between. Sometimes this can make it a bit hard to keep track, especially in the first few hours of the book, while you are still remembering who all the characters are. Personally I found the storyline set in historic Sweden to be unnecessary to the book. However, even say this, I did enjoy the book as a whole.
I would like to continue the series as more books are released, but I REALLY hope that the producers revert to one of the previous narrators. It might be a deal breaker.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best!

I enjoied every word of it! Longer than the other books but passionate. I like the alternance between the normal life of the small community and the psychological tensions hidden behind this normal life.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • NMcD
  • 09-14-18

gripping, sad, emotional, beautifully written

This was a very well written book of complex relationships, injustice and consequences cleverly written and twists and turns and delivered beautifully by the performer in a most chilling and heart rendering way. It took me a chapter or two to settle in as there is Much going on but when the foundation was set I was hooked.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • craft addict
  • 05-05-18

great story

Loved the story but I found the performance made it rather tiresome to follow. It was too monotonous and didn't do the story any justice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marissa
  • 04-29-18

Wow! An absolutely spine tingling read!

An absolutely spine tingling read. This had me gripped until the very last words. Horrifying, moving and twisty all at the same time. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Annie
  • 04-21-18

Far too long

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No. The book is far too long and there are far too many characters with stories that have no relevance to the crime and the solving of it.

Would you recommend The Girl in the Woods to your friends? Why or why not?

No. As already said: far too many characters with side stories and I really failed to see the relevance of the witch trial in the seventeenth century.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

Yes. Both rather slow

If this book were a film would you go see it?

No

Any additional comments?

I have enjoyed Camilla Lackberg's books before but prefer when she concentrates on the solving of the crime.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christopher baldwin
  • 04-18-18

brilliant

I really did enjoy this book i kept listening to it every chance i got

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-11-18

Sooooooooo good

A really great book, edge of your seat reading right until the end. plots that intertwine throughout the story. One of the best writers who differs each story and encourages each ongoing character to better heights. I did not want to finish this book. what to read now...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful