Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Pre-order for $25.51

Pre-order for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Christopher Buehlman's The Blacktongue Thief is a voicey-as-hell, standout fantasy debut for fans of Nicholas Eames' Kings of the Wyld and Joe Abercrombie's The Blade Itself

Kinch Na Shannack owes the Takers Guild a small fortune for his education as a thief, which includes (but is not limited to) lock-picking, knife-fighting, wall-scaling, fall-breaking, lie-weaving, trap-making, plus a few small magics. His debt has driven him to lie in wait by the old forest road, planning to rob the next traveler that crosses his path. 

But today, Kinch Na Shannack has picked the wrong mark. 

Galva is a knight, a survivor of the brutal goblin wars, and handmaiden of the goddess of death. She is searching for her queen, missing since a distant northern city fell to giants. 

Unsuccessful in his robbery and lucky to escape with his life, Kinch now finds his fate entangled with Galva's. Common enemies and uncommon dangers force thief and knight on an epic journey where goblins hunger for human flesh, krakens hunt in dark waters, and honor is a luxury few can afford. 

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

©2021 Christopher Buehlman (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

“Beuhlman's prose floats nimbly from grisly to lyrical and back again, evoking a damaged world that's by turns bleak and starkly beautiful. A fantastical road trip with a hard-boiled sensibility, complete with shape-shifting assassins, murderous kraken and some delightfully gruesome magic.” (A. K. Larkwood, author of The Unspoken Name)

“Wow! Truly outstanding. I can't say enough about how good The Blacktongue Thief is. Damned good stuff.” (Glen Cook, author of The Black Company

“Equal parts fairy tale, D&D adventure, and acid trip. Buehlman has successfully blended the essences of these elements into something at once familiar and fresh. I look forward to returning to this evocative and f*cked up world!” (Jonathan French, author of The Grey Bastards

The Blacktongue Thief is a masterclass in voice and thoughtful world design, with a wonderful cast and a protagonist who grabs you instantly. Fans of Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora will love this one.” (Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names

What listeners say about The Blacktongue Thief

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.