Regular price: $25.09

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called The Last Friend, and through it Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure - to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound".

©2017 Adam Silvera (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Tear jerker Performance

The tale is a beautiful story of connection and giving life a second chance. It meets all the requisites of a great narration, subtle ruses and emotionally inclined.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

AMAZING!

I AM AN EMOTIONAL WRECK. WHAT THE HECK THIS WAS BOTH BRILLIANT AND HEART WRENCHING.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

100%

i listened to this while i worked as a security guard. looked like a baby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fantastically emotional

The voice actors are SO perfect for their roles. And the story is so emotional and real and beautiful. Do yourself a favor and give this a listen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

They Both Die at the End

I will need at least a couple days to process this beautifully heart wrenching novel. This book will stick with me forever and my heart is broken. Once o gather my thoughts, I'm sure I'll have more to say, but I absolutely love this book and everyone should read it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Absolutely Incredible

This is by far one of the best books I've read/listened to in a very long time. The narrators were great, the story was great, and I just hope I can find something as good to listen to in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

My heart..

I knew what i was getting myself into when i made the decision to buy this book. What i didnt know is that no matter how much i thought i have prepared myself for it, i wasnt even close.
The title says, they both die in the end, and you know in the back of your mind that eventually they will. However, you get so infatuated by the idea of they could’ve been, and THERE IS NO GOING BACK FROM THERE.
My heart will ache for a very long time, and i am too devistated to write an full review. All i know is that, this book needs to be read. It will stay with you. It will break your heart, and you will allow it, because thats what great stories are supposed to do.
Read it, you wont be sorry.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Interesting

Sad. Because you know the ending, you wish for a different ending. Enjoyed the narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Heartbreaking.

This tale of two lives, intertwined in one fateful last day is extraordinarily beautiful. The relationship built between Mateo and Rufus over the course of their last day is believable and hopeful. Prepare to cry early on and not stop for hours after you're done.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

OMG! Amazing!

I loved this book! You will get no spoilers from me other than beware the ending!
The narrators were an amazing- actually becoming the characters and bring life to the book!
The plot and story was amazing!

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amy
  • 12-02-17

Beautifully Heartbreaking

Absoluetly adore this. Fantastically brilliant story about making the most of the time you have left. The ending left my heart in pieces and I'm so happy that it did. This was exactly what i needed in a book!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Gary W
  • 11-01-17

Emotional Rollercoaster

Once Again Adam Silvera ruins me. He takes our emotions and brings us on one hell of a journey. Then he decides thàts not enough so he takes our hearts and rips themto shreds. Thank you Mr Silvera, a job Very Well Done.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Andrew
  • 10-28-17

Quite Enjoyed This.

Not something I’d usually give a second glance to but the title and concept caught my attention and I have to say, I really enjoyed and it’s performed well too. Definitely worth a listen. Just a bit different. I’ve read a lot of poor reviews of this on GoodReads about the whole ‘love in a day’ scenario - people need to buck up. It is a tad slow here and there, but it’s a great story and well-written too.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-08-17

They both die at the end

Absolutely brilliant, heart breaking and everything in between. The last great love story, a modern day LGBT Romeo and Juliet