Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The instant New York Times best seller!

For fans of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer - but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can't shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent...and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn't want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you'll never expect.

"The perfect nail-biting mystery." (Natasha Preston, number one New York Times best-selling author)

©2019 Holly Jackson (P)2020 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

“A fun, gripping, and skillfully constructed novel of suspense. I loved Pip - her relatable quirks, her inventive investigative approach, and her willingness to step outside of her safe world in search of the truth.” (Emily Arsenault, author of All the Pretty Things)

"Dark, dangerous and intricately plotted - my heart literally pounded." (Laura Steven, author of The Exact Opposite of Okay)

 "So so clever." (Savannah Brown, author of The Truth About Keeping Secrets)

What listeners say about A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    602
  • 4 Stars
    187
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    622
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    517
  • 4 Stars
    183
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Soooo Long

If you like listening to a blow by blow investigation with mostly talking and little action, then you won’t mind it. I found it tedious.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A murder mystery that you can’t put down

This is a great murder mystery story. Although the protagonist is a teenage girl, this isn’t typical YA fiction; anyone who enjoys a good mystery, filled with twists and compelling characters, will enjoy the book. The sound effects and other voice actors add a level of realism that you can’t get from just reading a book. Along with the main narrator, who is one of the best I’ve heard, all the sound effects and voice actors make the story much more real and present in your mind.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

It's a book produced like a movie

The story is really good. The writer knew how to throw the reader off. In a way that had me guessing until the end. That is all I have to say without giving away too much of the story. Now this audio was fun to listen to. It made it fun. It's a whole cast. Wow I would like to say more but I don't want to give anything away. My dad got me this audio so review by Anais ;)

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jaw Dropping

Intense story line that quite literally made my jaw drop open! i had to read this for book club and OMG am i going to recommend this book to everyone i know! As far as Audible i thoroughly enjoyed the way it was read and by sooo many different people! Well done by all!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Verrrrrry Veronica Mars.

The story was interesting, the narration was great. This would be a good TV show, as the lead Pippa is spunky and strong and brave. The only issue I had with it is probably one that doesn’t exist when one reads the text itself rather than listening to it. There were so many characters, especially male characters, that it was difficult to keep up with who was who.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • AB
  • 07-11-20

A dog is killed needlessly / not literature

Entertaining at the start, but written like a C grade salacious TV show. This is not a literary mystery. Poor characterization and mediocre language. And a dog is killed. That’s when I skipped ahead. Also, a rather ridiculous plot. Narration: the main narrator does a decent job with side characters, but gets to be very annoying as the main character, Pippa. She plays her as cloying and simpering. It gets tedious. The other voices add nothing. Can’t say this is worth a credit. Read PD James’ books about a female detective instead. She can write.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Overwrought, even for YA

Ugh, by some act of masochism I got through this whole book. Every now and then I will read or listen to a YA novel, and I always consider the audience and cut the author some slack accordingly. But this novel, contrary to the glowing reviews, is terribly overwrought even for a YA story. The lead narrator is equally cloying, as she repeatedly overdramatizes with too much vocal emotion and intonation, not sounding like a real person, and making the story feel like sappy melodrama. I wrote this review in an effort to put a tiny dent in the high average rating for this book, as I believe that rating is misleadingly inflated.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Tedious and Wordy

I'm all about details in a story but this was way too much! Too wordy. The descriptions went overboard to the point I started skipping parts. I had to increase the speed just to finish this. I'm returning this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Written for a young adult

Although this was written for a young adult, I decided to read it because it was recommended by my granddaughter. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. Very seldom do I get to the end of the book and not know who the criminal was. I didn’t know until the very end it had a little surprise twist.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I was so addicted to this book. I literally could not put it down or stop listening!

2 people found this helpful