Regular price: $28.51

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The sequel - and conclusion - to Victoria Schwab's instant New York Times best seller, This Savage Song.

Kate Harker is a girl who isn't afraid of the dark. She's a girl who hunts monsters. And she's good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human. No matter how much he once yearned for it. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is a terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows - one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victims' inner demons - it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She'll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.

A gorgeously written dark fantasy from New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab, for fans of Holly Black, Laini Taylor, and Maggie Stiefvater.

©2017 Victoria Schwab (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Feelings

[somewhat spoilers] The performance was wonderful, the story was wonderful, but I’m just bitter over certain things that happen to characters also not sure how I felt about the total drop off of certain characters that where a support group.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Our Dark Duet

It was a very entertaining book, but there were some problems here and there with either parts that pissed me off or parts I could not understand.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Unenticing start spirals to a biting grip mid-book

The beginning of Our Dark Duet left me struggling to get through, and thinking the magic had been lost in Schwab's tight storytelling. However, the shallow storytelling and slow plot pick up around the middle of the book and keeps you hooked until the end, fleshing out what felt missing in the beginning section and bringing more understanding and lore. Worthwhile read and great narrator.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kay
  • Murfreesboro, TN
  • 09-01-17

Why Kate!

August is still tortured but stronger. Kate is still a badass but even more so. Ilsa is still alive!!!!! (yay! 😁) And this piece of shit Sloan hasn't died off yet (ugh!) . . . At least when the story begins. I didn't like the outcome for a few important characters but I can admit their outcomes made it a better story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

What The . . . . Just Happened ?

Victoria Schwab is one of the most amaZing writers. I love everything she puts out. But I will admit that this particular story, Killed Me. Never has she made me cry, so saddened by the out come. This book has it all and if you don't fall in love with most of the characters, you're heartless yourself. I hate spoilers , just know this was minimal in romance, but heavy on the heart and does tug on your heart strings - it rips your heart out and devours it with one bite. ❤️❤️❤️❤️

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A truly great adventure

I am a huge fan of the first book so I anxiously awaited the sequel. Our dark duet didn't disappoint. I did enjoy the first book more as it took awhile to see where this story was going and naturally in sequel there is less character building which is something that the first one did so well. I love the themes of this story and the vividly described action scenes. I highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Love her!

4.5/5 Schwab is a master at writing rich worlds, deep characters, and beautiful but not purple prose. She's spoiling me!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Frustrated.

I really liked the 1st book in this series. Was so excited for the second.......
I really felt that the author just took the most difficult route to finish the book. It took so long for the meeting, then it was so anticlimactic. I really wish she would have wrote this story a lot differently. Not sure if she was in a hurry or what, but it was very disappointing.