We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Counting by 7s Audiobook

Counting by 7s

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle-grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a 12-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.” (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

©2013 Holly Goldberg Sloan (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget." (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (455 )
5 star
 (294)
4 star
 (115)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.5 (397 )
5 star
 (263)
4 star
 (92)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.5 (394 )
5 star
 (253)
4 star
 (97)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Elizabeth 08-31-15
    Elizabeth 08-31-15 Member Since 2015

    Listen to about four audio books a months. Never without one.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1344
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    112
    85
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    242
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Endearing!"

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Loved the main character. You can tell it is YA but I am so glad I read it.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Turner 05-05-16
    E. Turner 05-05-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "GREAT!!"

    Counting by 7s is one of the best books ever to be written. Most of the characters are dynamic. I just love this book.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. David Carlson 05-09-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heart-warming and funny"

    A book for any age, this story has such quirky, lovable characters that you HAVE to root for them!! The narration on this story is fantastic. The story covers some heart-breaking themes and the narrator takes you right into the moment as she acts out the varied characters. And while your heart might break for the characters at times, this is a story log hope and light and belonging.
    Truly a treat to experience: listen NOW!!

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JillyMcK 04-22-15
    JillyMcK 04-22-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful Story"

    This book made me laugh and cry and I enjoyed every moment of it. The narration was perfect and brought the story to life!

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Halli 03-25-15
    Halli 03-25-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story and narrator!"

    I started the book on my own, but read the second half with Audible. I got through it much faster, and the narrator definitely helped my fluency and the enthusiasm in the book. Counting By 7s is a touching story, and I definitely recommend it!

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian Acord Salt Lake City, Utah 04-09-17
    Brian Acord Salt Lake City, Utah 04-09-17 Member Since 2014

    b

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    113
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Simply Refreshing Retreat"

    I really enjoyed the slower paced simplicity of this story. The characters were interesting. And while it could occasionally be a little predictable, I found it refreshing and relaxing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly White 04-03-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why I love the book counting by 7's"

    I love this book so much!

    This is a very raw story and it has very good details! I would highly recommend this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeff G 03-10-17
    Jeff G 03-10-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good"

    I like it because my favorite number is 7. Also who here is a master

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jane 10-28-16
    Jane 10-28-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Story but Reader Detracted"

    it's probably just preference but I don't like when a reader tries to do voices. I just want to hear the story and put my own voices with it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer Panama City, FL USA 08-10-16
    Kindle Customer Panama City, FL USA 08-10-16 Member Since 2014

    I love being read to.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    62
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a great story and performance!"

    Seven characters lend unique contributions to a story that incorporates tbe right amount of humor to soften a serious theme.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.