Showing results by author "Sungju Lee"


All Categories

1 results
Sort by
    • Every Falling Star

    • The True Story of How I Survived and Escaped North Korea
    • By: Sungju Lee, Susan McClelland
    • Narrated by: David Shih
    • Length: 9 hrs and 24 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 61
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 57
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 58

    Every Falling Star, the first book to portray contemporary North Korea to a young audience, is the intense memoir of a North Korean boy named Sungju who is forced at age 12 to live on the streets and fend for himself. To survive, Sungju creates a gang and lives by thieving, fighting, begging, and stealing rides on cargo trains. Sungju richly recreates his scabrous story, depicting what it was like for a boy alone to create a new family with his gang, his "brothers".

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Riveting, sad, and inspirational

    • By Janis Creason on 09-17-16

    Regular price: $27.99