Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle-grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a 12-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.” (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

©2013 Holly Goldberg Sloan (P)2013 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget." (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)
"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    350
  • 4 Stars
    132
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    307
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    320
  • 4 Stars
    101
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Endearing!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Loved the main character. You can tell it is YA but I am so glad I read it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

excellent

The narrator did an excellent job. I listen to a lot audio books and this was one of the best narrators.
It took me a little bit to get in this to the story but then I had a hard time putting it down.
Good life lessons

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

GREAT!!

Counting by 7s is one of the best books ever to be written. Most of the characters are dynamic. I just love this book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Heart-warming and funny

A book for any age, this story has such quirky, lovable characters that you HAVE to root for them!! The narration on this story is fantastic. The story covers some heart-breaking themes and the narrator takes you right into the moment as she acts out the varied characters. And while your heart might break for the characters at times, this is a story log hope and light and belonging.
Truly a treat to experience: listen NOW!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful Story

This book made me laugh and cry and I enjoyed every moment of it. The narration was perfect and brought the story to life!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story and narrator!

I started the book on my own, but read the second half with Audible. I got through it much faster, and the narrator definitely helped my fluency and the enthusiasm in the book. Counting By 7s is a touching story, and I definitely recommend it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Grant
  • Highland, UT, USA
  • 10-04-17

Great story, great book!

I really loved this book! I thought it was heart warming and really enjoyed getting to know the each of the characters!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Counting by 7s

I absolutely loved this book! I finished this book in three days and I just wish there was more! I enjoyed how the narrator read it and also how it was so organized in every section of the book!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful characters

I listed to this book with my son as it was required for his summer reading. He is 12. I enjoyed the characters and their flaws. I loved the way the main character Willow made plants and people grow. The symbolism was lovely for school aged children and a positive message. My son found this book a little boring as he prefers action and adventure, but I still enjoyed talking to him about the characters.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A Simply Refreshing Retreat

I really enjoyed the slower paced simplicity of this story. The characters were interesting. And while it could occasionally be a little predictable, I found it refreshing and relaxing.