Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle-grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a 12-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.” (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

©2013 Holly Goldberg Sloan (P)2013 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget." (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)
"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    409
  • 4 Stars
    147
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    355
  • 4 Stars
    122
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    9

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    372
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Endearing!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Loved the main character. You can tell it is YA but I am so glad I read it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

The narrator did an excellent job. I listen to a lot audio books and this was one of the best narrators.
It took me a little bit to get in this to the story but then I had a hard time putting it down.
Good life lessons

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

GREAT!!

Counting by 7s is one of the best books ever to be written. Most of the characters are dynamic. I just love this book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart-warming and funny

A book for any age, this story has such quirky, lovable characters that you HAVE to root for them!! The narration on this story is fantastic. The story covers some heart-breaking themes and the narrator takes you right into the moment as she acts out the varied characters. And while your heart might break for the characters at times, this is a story log hope and light and belonging.
Truly a treat to experience: listen NOW!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Story

This book made me laugh and cry and I enjoyed every moment of it. The narration was perfect and brought the story to life!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and narrator!

I started the book on my own, but read the second half with Audible. I got through it much faster, and the narrator definitely helped my fluency and the enthusiasm in the book. Counting By 7s is a touching story, and I definitely recommend it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING!!!!!!!💋😍😘❤️💕💘💞

This book is sad touching and AMAZING. I’m not your typical person that is all lovey dovey and that but this book actually made me CRY!!! Which is hard to do usually. Whoever made this book was a genius just like willow was

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartwarming

Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book with my tween daughter. A heart breaking story turns into a beautiful heart warming and inspiring story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable.

I enjoyed this book very much. The narrator was easy to listen to. There were several things that surprised me. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great pronunciations and voice wavering

I really enjoyed this book. It is quite predictable, but besides that, it truly is an amazing and inspiring book. In terms of Robin Miles (the narrator) she has amazing pronunciation! Therere are quite a few Vietnamese words that are pronounced great! She also wavers her voice just enough to put mean behind it. I also REALLY enjoyed her accents! She did a fabulous job changing voices and accents for eachperson. It is a little slow, so I would bring the speed up from 1 to 1.25.