Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising, Scott Sigler's unforgettable heroine, Em Savage, must come to grips once and for all with the perilous mysteries of her own existence.

©2016 Del Rey (P)2016 Empty Set Entertainment

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    322
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    224
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    62
  • 2 Stars
    34
  • 1 Stars
    36

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    340
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another masterpiece by the master.

Scott has done it again. Another masterpiece. The writing here is on another level worthy of t.v. or movies. Amazing work. He is due for recognition beyond just being an author very soon!

20 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Should've kept old Narrator

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I love these books, but the new Narrator is just awful. It really jolts you out of the story. The old M was much better. I'm only a bit of the way through it, but so far, I can't stand her. I can't get into the story like I used to. I'm thinking I just might need to read this one instead of Listen.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

WTF Scott?

I introduced my oldest sone to Scott Sigler with the first book in this series Alive. With the hopes he would want to hear more Sigler books. I've been a long time fan with your books and Podcast. We were both stoked for the second book Alight. My son loved it so much he knew exactly when the third book Alone came out. This was supposed to be your best book ever. Ugh I can't tell you enough how disappointed we both were when we heard AB Kovacs read this story. It was so hard to follow along with this monotone reading. Within 15 minutes we were both completely let down. I own over fifty audiobooks from audible. I will never buy anything from Scott Sigler if he has Ab Kovacs read it. She does a great job with the other parts of her job but the reading is one of the worst I have purchased. So disappointed.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another Sigler great book, not so great voice actor though.

This is another solid Sigler book, however, the voice actor wasn't that good at all.
It lacked Emma Galvin's emotional and differentiation capabilities.
I understand that the person in the story is a different one, though only one year has passed from book 2, so really can't be that much different.
It took me a while to recognise some places and characters name from book 2 as the pronunciation was different.
The story maybe gives a small insight of what is going to happen in future GFL books, but no big spoiler.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance

Narrator change all but ruined the book

While A. Kovacs did a decent job narrating, it was not the same as the first two books read by Emma Galvin. The first two books were able to connect with me on a deeper level because of the style and character voice separation..........Scott said he changed narrators to show the progression of EM's character however in my opinion , readers of the first two books yearned for the passion and emotion that Emma provided. The third book was well written in my opinion however lacked certain "junkie" elements that kept me wanting more like in previous titles like the infected series...........

that being said I enjoyed it till the end but in a series in my opinion Scott should not have changed narrators......



#siglerjunkie!!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Listen at 1.25x

I really enjoyed this trilogy and Alone was a great ending. There was a change of narrators in this one that although I've heard the explanation, I don't find it necessary or agree for the need.

I had an issue with the narration on this one...she reads so slowly. The pace just did not match the story. Then about half way through I found the speed adjustment setting in the app and set fir 1.25X. It felt more conversational and much more natural. I don't think I would have finished the book had I listened at regular speed.

Set it 1.25x and then enjoy the ride, otherwise read the book.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Did the old narrator ask for too much money? Sad.

Is there anything you would change about this book?

The narrator

What did you like best about this story?

Couldn't get into the story as it was like a different (not changed as Scott mentioned) person. The change in the narrator ruined it.

How could the performance have been better?

The original narrator

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

Would they change the actors in the middle of the movie?

Any additional comments?

Killed it for me with the change of narrators.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Danger

The book was so so. The performance is really bad. Makes it very hard to get into the story. I'm going to read it as well. Maybe that will help

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent book

The narrator made the characters sound stupid and slow. The characters all of a sudden had accents which they did not have in the first 2 books. She sounded as if she has had one too many cigarettes. I understand that Scott wanted an older voice but not an emphysema patients voice. She was difficult to follow, her tone and demeanor were inconsistent and did a disservice to the trilogy, characters, and story. The tone was flat. The grown ups all sounded the same as did the male birthday children, an exception for the unusual accents that the characters now have. Bishop was made to sound stupid and slow, when he is a circle star. A man of power and strength with natural leadership abilities. The character would have died for them,
yet this strength and leadership was not conveyed with the narrator. Spingate now has a British accent and is a nervous nelly in her tone. Not an intelligent Brit either. The birthday children had new bodies.... M or even Maddie didn't need to sound like they were on their death beds. Your voice box doesn't change just because you have been over written.
Scott did an excellent job of ending this story. I am very pleased with the storyline. Still having difficulties with the narrator which has influenced the story unfortunately. I am so disappointed.
I would not recommend this as an audible, but to read it instead.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Story

bad voice swap

could not get past chapter 6 was alot of character changes and her reading was slow and unintresting, i feel no time was taken to listen to how emma had potrayed charters. i suggest listening to the first 2 and just getting 3rd in text unless he gets it re-read. quite the disappointment knowing the publisher made us wait for this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-26-17

Non stop, heart in mouth stuff.

A brilliant conclusion to a great series. I look forward to Scott's next book. 10/10

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mt
  • 09-06-17

A face paced space opera thriller with added GORE!

Enjoyed an excellent finish to another of Scott's brilliant triologys.

This is a action filled space / alien planet thriller with an interesting take on the planet exodus story theme. the main characters are children but the story is definitely not for children.

Enjoy the GORE junkies!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • James T.
  • 07-13-17

Sigler nails it again

"Sometimes courage comes with a blood curdling scream, other times it comes through a wavering voice. "

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Tom Robinson
  • 05-30-17

Loved it

Great end to a thrilling trilogy. Loved every book and have listened to all 3 books in just over a month!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mat
  • 04-10-17

Great

A fantastic end to the trilogy. Never saw that ending coming. To be honest I hope Scott carries on with these characters and universe.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Stephen
  • 03-31-17

WOW another prolific trilogy by scott

WOW brilliant book gutted av finnished the series now Seriesly advise any book written by this aurthor the way he builds characters up is amazing

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-23-17

A brilliant book from start to finish.

Full of Kick Ass action, twists and turns. I did not expect that ending at all!! Amazing narration. Far better than the first two books. The narrator really moved me and captured my imagination.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • keith
  • 03-19-17

Scott Sigler

A fantastic end to a great trilogy I can not wait for the next gfl book. Keep em coming.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • carl
  • 07-07-17

Disappointed

I like the first two books, especially as I only half read the summary so with the first book I did not have a clue what was going to happen.. I rarely rate so low but this just did not live up to the first two books and I hated the woman reading it..

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-06-17

Disappointing

I found this disappointing. I'm not sure that it was the story. I think it was the narration. It's not that Kovacs was bad, it's just that she is not the original Em. The contrast between the two narrators is stark, too stark. Listening to Kovacs read is like hearing the story being read by a 25 year old Em to a 12 year old child. I found it almost boring. When listening to Emma Galvin's version of Em you feel like the story is unfolding before your eyes (or ears). You are there with Em, in the moment, in middle of the action and it's intense. Everything that happened in the final book felt like it was happening to someone else - another Em and not the Em I got to know from the first two books. I found it hard to care for her in the same way. If you liked the series it's worth getting to the end. However I think I would have enjoyed it more if I'd just read it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Alison Zahra
  • 03-19-17

Great Final

Loved the final chapter, and how the story ended. A Kovacs was brilliant as the new reader.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ian F
  • 03-19-17

Fantastic end to an amazing trilogy

This book could so easily have disappointed me.
The previous 2 were so good so I was concerned the end may be a let down - but it is awesome!!!!