Regular price: $22.46

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie’s extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon - a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this endangered land and presents an impassioned call to save it.

In the Madre de Dios - Mother of God - region of Peru, where the Amazon River begins its massive flow, the Andean Mountain cloud forests fall into lowland Amazon Rainforest, creating the most biodiversity-rich place on the planet. In January 2006, when he was just a restless eighteen-year-old hungry for adventure, Paul Rosolie embarked on a journey to the west Amazon that would transform his life.

Venturing alone into some of the most inaccessible reaches of the jungle, he encountered giant snakes, floating forests, isolated tribes untouched by outsiders, prowling jaguars, orphaned baby anteaters, poachers in the black market trade in endangered species, and much more. Yet today, the primordial forests of the Madre de Dios are in danger from developers, oil giants, and gold miners eager to exploit its natural resources.

In Mother of God, this explorer and conservationist relives his amazing odyssey exploring the heart of this wildest place on earth. When he began delving deeper in his search for the secret Eden, spending extended periods in isolated solitude, he found things he never imagined could exist. “Alone and miniscule against a titanic landscape I have seen the depths of the Amazon, the guts of the jungle where no men go, Rosolie writes. “But as the legendary explorer Percy Fawcett warned, ‘the few remaining unknown places of the world exact a price for their secrets.’”

©2014 Paul Rosolie (P)2014 Audible Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mesmerizing story!

I really enjoyed this book. It's interesting and educational. The story is mesmerizing: after being addicted to the outdoors (trees, plants, snakes, spiders, etc.) his entire life, an 18 year old guy makes a trip to Peru to journey into the Amazon and becomes even more addicted to it. He makes local friends and learns to survive in the Amazon. He tells of many journeys, some with others, and some solo, in which they see all kinds of wild animals and capture enormous snakes ("...as high as my knees."). His passion for the protection of wildlife and the untouched wilderness is noble and motivating.

My only disappointment was the reader. I thought his voice was just a bit too slow and deliberate. He tried to put some emotion into the story, but I found him a bit flat. My wife listened to him for a bit and said he sounded fine, so maybe it's just me.

That didn't ruin the book for me. It's a great listen, and I've recommended it to others.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very very very IMPORTANT

ANYONE WHO WANTS TO UNDERSTAND HOW IMPORTANT THE PRINSTINE AMAZON IS TO ALL LIFE MUST READ. MUST PROTECT BEFORE ITS DISAPPEARANCE AS THE COUNTY OF INDIA 50YRS AGO USED TO HAVE TIGERS AND ELEPHANTS ROAMING. NOW ALL GONE MADE UP OF MILLIONS OF PEOPLE IN CITIES. PROTECT THE AMAZON

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow, I loved it.

This story was funny and serious. It opens your eyes to the domino effect that nature has on us and us on nature.
The writer creates an emotional journey that was worth the trip.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

OK, but dogmatic and preachy

The journey of the authors personal growth and self awareness are OK, but his views are not well supported and presentation of his position is that of a fanatic preaching and expecting his views to be taken without question. I applaud some of his conservation work, but after reading the book doubt his ability to draw an unbiased big picture view.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful