Regular price: $22.04

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This critically acclaimed debut by breakout author Keith Donohue flawlessly blends fantasy and realism into an utterly unique fable, inspired by a W.B. Yeats poem, that has been described as a bedtime story for adults.

Seven-year-old Henry Day is kidnapped and renamed "Aniday" by changelings, ageless beings who inhabit the woods near his home. The changelings also leave behind one of their own, who flawlessly impersonates Henry except for one noteworthy detail: the new Henry is a prodigiously talented pianist. Both Aniday and Henry settle comfortably enough into their new existences, but both are haunted by vague memories of their former lives.

A fresh take on the search for identity that will appeal to fans of J.R.R. Tolkien and J.M. Barrie, The Stolen Child triumphantly announces Donohue as a fresh voice in contemporary fiction.

©2006 Keith Donohue; (P)2006 Recorded Books, LLC

Critic Reviews

  • Winner of Audio Publishers Association 2007 Audie Award, Science Fiction

"An impressive novel of outsiders whose feelings of alienation are more natural than supernatural." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    148
  • 4 Stars
    148
  • 3 Stars
    122
  • 2 Stars
    48
  • 1 Stars
    22

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    4