Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Hawley Book of the Dead  By  cover art

The Hawley Book of the Dead

By: Chrysler Szarlan
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial reviews

Editors Select, September 2014 - I have a feeling I’m going to be a fan of Chrysler Szarlan for a long time The Hawley Book of the Dead grabbed hold of me within the first few pages, as it started - quite literally - with a bang. Reve Dyer and her daughters are forced to disappear from their Las Vegas home by the heart-wrenching and eerie circumstances surrounding her husband’s murder. They move to Hawley Five Corners - her ancestors’ estate outside of Boston - in an effort to evade the killer that is stalking their family. Cassandra Campbell brings the suspense, romance, and magic of Szarlan’s words to life, creating a world worth re-visiting over and over. —Katie, Audible Editor

Publisher's summary

For fans of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic.

Revelation "Reve" Dyer grew up with her grandmother’s family stories, stretching back centuries to Reve’s ancestors, who founded the town of Hawley Five Corners, Massachusetts. Their history is steeped in secrets, for few outsiders know that an ancient magic runs in the Dyer women’s blood, and that Reve is a magician whose powers are all too real.

Reve and her husband are world-famous Las Vegas illusionists. They have three lovely young daughters, a beautiful home, and what seems like a charmed life. But Reve’s world is shattered when an intruder alters her trick pistol and she accidentally shoots and kills her beloved husband onstage.

Fearing for her daughters’ lives, Reve flees with them to the place she has always felt safest - an antiquated farmhouse in the forest of Hawley Five Corners, where the magic of her ancestors reigns, and her oldest friend - and first love - is the town’s chief of police. Here, in the forest, with its undeniable air of enchantment, Reve hopes she and her girls will be protected.

Delving into the past for answers, Reve is drawn deeper into her family’s legends. What she discovers is The Hawley Book of the Dead, an ancient leather-bound journal holding mysterious mythic power. As she pieces together the truth behind the book, Reve will have to shield herself and her daughters against an uncertain, increasingly dangerous fate. For soon it becomes clear that the stranger who upended Reve’s life in Las Vegas has followed her to Hawley - and that she has something he desperately wants.

Brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic, The Hawley Book of the Dead is a brilliantly imagined debut novel from a riveting new voice.

©2014 Chrysler Szarlan (P)2014 Audible Inc.
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

More from the same

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen everywhere

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Reach your reading goals

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for $0.00 $14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

What listeners say about The Hawley Book of the Dead

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    643
  • 4 Stars
    449
  • 3 Stars
    251
  • 2 Stars
    60
  • 1 Stars
    36
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    729
  • 4 Stars
    373
  • 3 Stars
    150
  • 2 Stars
    40
  • 1 Stars
    22
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    575
  • 4 Stars
    402
  • 3 Stars
    235
  • 2 Stars
    70
  • 1 Stars
    39

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars