Regular price: $32.87

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jane Austen and Charlotte Brontë, debut author Julie Klassen delivers a compelling Regency Era novel brimming with authentic period details, vibrant characters, and enthralling plot twists. Banished from hearth and home, a vicar's 20-year-old daughter pays dearly for a single lapse in judgment. To avoid the scorn of local villagers, Charlotte Lamb wends her way to the forbidding Milkweed Manor on the outskirts of London. Concealing her identity, she finds refuge within the dank confines of this mysterious bastion of old secrets and new life. She soon encounters a former suitor, harboring secrets of his own. Firmly relying on God's strength, both resolve to protect their loved ones. But neither realizes the level of self-sacrifice this will require.
©2007 Julie Klassen (P)2008 Recorded Books,LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

PART MISSING!!

I hoped that since the previous review was clear back in April of 2010 this missing part would be fixed but alas it was not. It is a disappointment. It is such a good story and good narration. I hope audible will make amends for this.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Judith
  • Pennington, NJ, United States
  • 03-25-10

Missing portion

I liked the book and the narrator very much. However, the recording I got was missing part of chapter 28 through Chapter 30. I don't know if this has been fixed yet. The original recording is supposed to be 12 hr. and 25 minutes. This one was 11 hr. and 48 minutes.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carrie
  • Yorktown, VA, United States
  • 02-18-11

Excellent Listen

Great narrator, excellent characterization and an interesting storyline. Easy listen. I believe this was Ms. Klassen's debut book. I enjoyed this very much. I can see where some readers might be put off by some of the topics covered in this book, perhaps those who have never born and nursed a child. Issues of adoption and loss were very touching and very well handled as was the topic of mania (in a minor character). Fresh voice and unafraid to tackle touch topics and embed them in a great historical fiction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So depressing.....

What disappointed you about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I have read all of Julie Klassen's books. This one was the worst. It was so depressing. But because I was determined to finish it out I kept going. The information the author collected was good. You could tell she put a lot of effort into gathering historical facts etc. It talks a lot about and describes breast feeding in great detail. My husband walked in while I was listening to a particular section on nursing and asked, "What the heck are you listening too?"

What do you think your next listen will be?

My next audiobook will be by Sarah M. Eden called Longing For Home.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

I thought the narrator was fine. He had a nice strong voice. However, when he did the voices of female characters (which was a lot) it was almost comical. Definitely would have been better read by a woman.

What character would you cut from Lady of Milkweed Manor?

That's a dumb question. I wouldn't "cut" out characters. It wasn't the characters that were the issue.

Any additional comments?

I believe this was the first or one of the first books Julie Klassen wrote. Her writing style and stories have gotten better with time. She definitely does her research when she writes a historical romance, which I can appreciate, and am sure takes a lot of time and effort. I hate books that are depressing and this one topped the list.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Missing 2nd half!

Any additional comments?

I was enjoying this story very much until I came to the second half of the download and it was the first half all over again. How do we get the correct second half of the story? I hate being left dangling like this!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heart filled story

What did you love best about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I loved the characters.

What did you like best about this story?

The main character's hard decisions. It was interesting to think through them and wonder how I would've chosen.

What does Simon Prebble bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Using different types of British accents from all classes brings to life how very different the characters were in their life stations if you will.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Sad, I can't imagine being faced with such a decision!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Beauty of a True Mother’s Love

I’m reminded of the Mothers in the Bible who selflessly gave of their sons....

I was skeptical of a male narrator and held off purchasing this Julie Klassen book. Even after the purchase I questioned my decision; not because of poor narration, but I struggle with male voices in female dominate stories. Mr Prebble does a fantastic job. I thoroughly enjoyed all elements of this story and consider it as excellent as the rest of Ms Klassen’s stories!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ugh! Romance is the wrong category!

What disappointed you about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

Confession: I stopped listening four chapters from the end. Doesn't that seem crazy? I kept hoping it would get better, thought maybe since I'd listened this far that I should finish but then realized that it was ruining my taste for Audible. Such a depressing story. I study daily and listen for romance for an uplifting break. This was no break. I know some like to read depressing books. I am not one of them. Four chapters from the end and no real relationship that could be considered an intriguing romance. Just odd that it is in the Romance Package.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narrator is a quality performer. His female voices, however, are too cartoonish.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Lady of Milkweed Manor?

Hard to say as the entire first 35 chapters of the book were basically one tragedy after another with no romance. I would cut this book from the romance category and put it somewhere else. The current category gives an unfair shake to the author. The author has skill.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sad but beautiful

Loved this story of a mother’s self-sacrificing love! Good narrator who read the book in a sensitive way .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Not your typical historical romance, with twists and turns that the ending took me quite by surprise.