We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Conceit & Concealment Audiobook

Conceit & Concealment: A Pride & Prejudice Variation

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Pride & Prejudice meets alternate history.

Six years after Napoleon's invasion of England....

Fitzwilliam Darcy is a traitor. He even admits to collaborating with Napoleon's troops. And Elizabeth Bennet despises all traitors.

But she can't make sense of Darcy. He doesn't act like a traitor. He risks his own safety to save young women from the French. And how can she despise a man who loves puppies? Something about him doesn't add up - and she finds him far too attractive.

Then Darcy's carefully constructed world crumbles, and he must entrust his closest-held secret to Elizabeth. To protect that secret, Elizabeth must disappear entirely, leaving her family and Darcy behind, to plunge herself into the dizzying world of fashionable London and the dangers of the Loyalist Resistance. Nothing will ever be the same again.

Darcy is determined to find Elizabeth. Now that she knows the truth about him, there's nothing to keep them apart - nothing, that is, until the day Darcy is forced to choose between his country and the life of the woman he loves....

©2017 Abigail Reynolds (P)2017 Abigail Reynolds

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (12 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (12 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (12 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan 07-16-17
    Jan 07-16-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    310
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    325
    322
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting Twist!"

    I have enjoyed Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice, and found this twist on the original premise to be very good. The story is original and yet has some very familiar details. I thought the narrator did an excellent performance with the various characters and emotions. Both the author and narrator are very talented, and I will look for more of their works. My review is not a synopsis of the book, but rather my opinion of it. This is a sweet story that is a clean listen and full of so much imagery. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melody Anderson 07-03-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Reynolds does it again..."

    I didn't even bother to read what this book was about before purchasing because Abigail Reynolds has yet to publish something I haven't been able to put down. To say she has out done her self would be the understatement of the year.

    The alternate history sets the backdrop for one of the most adventurous Pride and Prejudice stories I've ever had the pleasure to read/listen to.

    I laughed, cried, and laughed again. The new characters were just as lovable as their original counterparts.

    This story couldn't have been told better!

    Brava, Abigail!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Blake H. Gilbert 06-30-17 Member Since 2012

    I'm a voracious fiction reader/listener but focus mostly on Sci-fi, fantasy (urban and alternate & other world), and romance. A mixture of these is what I love to find. Sci-fi to challenge my mind, fantasy to make me grin, and romance to turn my mind off to.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "extremely original"

    The most original P&P variation that still feels like it could be Darcy and Elizabeth. So well researched.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HeatherY 07-19-17
    HeatherY 07-19-17 Member Since 2013

    Devourer of fantasy and romance, lover of all things fiction. I can be reached at castawaycreations at gmail dot com about reviews.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    80
    80
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Butterflies, Goosebumps, And A Lot Of Tears!"

    In this Pride and Prejudice variation, Napoleon invaded England in 1805 and conquered it, imprisoning royalty and stripping nobles of their lands and titles. Now England lives under French occupation. When the story begins, Mr. Bingley has arrived at Netherfield Park with his friend Mr. Darcy, a man everyone knows is a traitor.

    I would go on with a summary, but I don't want to spoil any part of the book for anyone. The revelation of the new state of affairs for the Bennet family had me on pins and needles, and you need to experience that for yourself! This was one of the most original P & P variations I've ever read. It told a completely new story, and only borrowed characters and locations from P & P. Every once in a while the author dropped in a phrase from the original novel, and it was so fun to pick them out.

    As for the plot itself, it was really well done. Meticulously researched, wonderfully creative, expertly written, and full of witty dialogue. The book had so many romantic scenes between Lizzy and Darcy, but also managed to be action packed and suspenseful. Expect butterflies, goosebumps, and a lot of tears!

    Narration can really make or break the listening experience, especially in a book with so many French accents. Elizabeth Klett ranks up there with Kate Reading, Rosalyn Landor, and Davina Porter for me. Her regular speaking voice is so pleasant, and her French accents a delight. She's incredibly talented, and did an outstanding job with this professional narration.

    I received a copy of the audiobook at my request, and I'm voluntarily leaving a review.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Adriana B USA 07-19-17
    Adriana B USA 07-19-17 Member Since 2015

    Books give a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything. - Plato

    HELPFUL VOTES
    463
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    327
    271
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining Twist to Pride & Prejudice"

    This was a great alternate reality for Pride & Prejudice. The story was entertaining and very original. I enjoyed the adventure, danger, suspense, romance, and unexpected twists.

    The narration was well done and brought the story to life.

    This is by far the best variation I have heard from Pride & Prejudice. It is set in an alternate reality where England has been invaded and conquered by the French/Napoleon.

    I'm looking forward to reading/listening more books by this talented author.

    "I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen 07-18-17
    Karen 07-18-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ms Reynolds has done it again!"

    Loved it! This may be my favorite of all of Abagail Reynolds' P&P books.! Thanks.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon CustomerBeliever 07-15-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    638
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    638
    557
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different but Entertaining"

    I got this ARC via audiobook boom. For fans of Pride and Prejudice you will enjoy this remake of the book. England falls under The little despot's rule (we all know the famous general with the short man syndrome)and Darcy is thought to be a traitor. But life is strange like that and he is really helping England's misused. The twists and turns this remake takes are truly remarkable. Go into the story with no preconceived notions. They will be disabused. The narrator added just the right amount of drama to keep the story flowing. Enjoy the story but be aware that you will either lose sleep or have to listen to it on a long journey to and from.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.