Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Author H. Grevemberg, a Senior Dharma Teacher in the Kwan UmSchool of Zen, gives a startling account of the path of Zen in a muscular prose in the tradition of Henry Miller and Hunter S. Thompson.

The American spirit of self-reliance goes hand in hand with the mystical tradition of Zen - yet it hasn't found its own bare wire. The best revolution, and the domain of the Zen adept, is an inner one. The Zen Revolution reads like a novel, each compelling chapter revealing another nuance; the whole gamut, from origin to fiery culmination. Delving into both the spiritual and worldly aspects with equal candor, The Zen Revolution takes on the basic question of existence, perhaps the most important question we face. There's a new adventure in every chapter, leading to an eventual breakthrough - something nearly unheard of in the Zen literature of the West.

©2010 Henry Grevemberg (P)2012 Henry Grevemberg

Critic Reviews

"It can seem these days that living Zen has disappeared, its relics loosely traded by ecumenical pastors and feel-good quotemongers. Then you stumble upon this book. Grevemberg is daring enough to devote himself to zazen as the practice of enlightenment and to enlightenment as the life of samadhi. Vivid, compelling, encouraging and rare." (Karen Maezen Miller, author of Momma Zen and Hand Wash Cold)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • conor
  • 07-25-16

Powerful writing but sloppy production

It is a great listen. It opens on a train, the language racing along the tracks with the same rhythm as the engine. It never really slacks from this pace except for the bad edits and the retakes that didn’t even get a bad edit and at 1 hour 49 minutes and 57 seconds Henry treats his listeners to a belch before a retake. If you can forgive him this carelessness and stay with it then it is a cracking listen. If on the other hand you think that and audio book should be prepared with the same care a print edition is, then you might not be too impressed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful