Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of The Stand, The Man in the High Castle, and The Road comes an epic story of struggle against tyranny in a future America....

The year is 2141. Islam controls most of the civilized world, including all that exists of the former United States. Climate change has made fresh drinking water a scarce and valuable commodity. Islamic states that once controlled oil now control the largest fresh water deposit in the world, the American Great Lakes.

Washington, D.C., and New York City are mere memories of the old world as a new regime of Caliphs has ruled the eastern half of the country for the past century. The barren no-man's-land east of the Mississippi River is but an encroaching desert, and the realm of the Great Lakes - known as Al-hayat Miyaah - dictates life for the rest of the realm.

Jihadic allegiance and the Lakes' bounty decide a person's worth, where clean, drinkable water is far more precious than gold... and more valuable than the lives of infidels.

In this hostile environment, Joaquin Martinez and six others risk certain death as fugitives crossing state lines to reclaim loved ones stolen from Hernando, Mississippi, and sold into slavery in Detroit. Meanwhile, survivalist Malcolm Foster and his daughter Renee begin a journey to Kentucky with other survivalists hoping to strike a blow to the Muslim empire. Lastly, in the heart of Al-hayat Miyaah, the youngest son of the Caliph, Abdul-Bari, sets out on a quest to determine the truth about infidels... their worthiness of scorn and indiscriminate death.

Much is at stake for them all, as a crossing of paths determines who inevitably is destined to win... and who must lose everything.

©2016 Aiden James (P)2017 Timothy McKean/Aiden James

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

a non non-cliche book

all this book could have become one of the biggest caliche's out there.... the story was a scary one and it had all the elements to become something obvious but it didn't it had is flaws a little bit but the book itself wasn't bad the narrator as well wasn't bad a nice book to listen to

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 11-25-17

Doesn't Quite Hit The Mark!

This book sets out a genuinely scary apocalyptic scenario. Climate change ravages the world, a weakened US succumbs to invasion and what remains of the country falls under a brutal Islamic regime. No need for zombies or super plagues just an intriguingly possible scenario. I was concerned that the authors would fall into the trap of making it a typical good Christians vs Bad Muslims slugfest but they avoided that in some style with lots of shades of grey and internal conflict within the main character groups. The story is fast-moving and there is considerable tension and excitement as two groups set themselves against the dominant Islamic powers.

It's not a bad read at all but it didn't quite hit the mark for me. The narration by Timothy McKean is clear and concise but it's much more of a reading than a performance. He's really not helped by some rather stilted dialogue which sees most of the characters speaking as if making a political speech or giving a lecture of some kind rather than interacting naturally. I'd also say that the whole thing is very logistically naive with armies of 20,000 troops mobilising in scant hours and I don't think the authors seem to have a great understanding of weapons or tactics.

So, it's one that's worth a try. It sets a great scenario and a good set of characters take part in a fast-moving adventure but it didn't light any fireworks for me.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful