We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Room of White Fire Audiobook

The Room of White Fire

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, a stirring thriller from New York Times best seller and award winner T. Jefferson Parker: The Room of White Fire is the tale of a private investigator tasked with hunting down a returned soldier broken and made dangerous by his experiences at war.

A young soldier shattered by war, on the run from a mental institute.

A PI carrying his own vicious wounds hired to track that soldier down.

A race against the clock to bring the soldier home before he reveals the secret that haunts him.

Roland Ford - once a cop, then a marine, now a private investigator - is good at finding people. But when he's asked to locate air force veteran Clay Hickman, he realizes he's been drawn into something deep and dark. He knows the weight of war, having served as a marine in First Fallujah; he also knows the nightmare of indescribable personal pain, as only two years have passed since his young wife's sudden death. What he doesn't know is why a shroud of secrecy hangs over the disappearance of Clay Hickman - and why he's getting a different story from everyone involved.

To begin with, there's the teenage woman who helped Clay escape: She's smart enough to fend off Ford's questions but impetuous enough to be on the run with an armed and dangerous man. Then there's Clay's attractive doctor, who clearly cares deeply for his welfare but is impossible to read, even as she inspires in Ford the first desire he has felt since his wife's death. And there's the proprietor of the mental institute who is as enigmatic as he is brash, and ambitious to the point of being ruthless; what could Clay possibly know to make this search so desperate?

Soon, what began as just a job becomes a life-and-death obsession for Ford, pitting him against immensely powerful and treacherous people and forcing him to contend with chilling questions about truth, justice, and the American way.

©2017 T. Jefferson Parker (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (34 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.0 (31 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.2 (31 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Stanley ORANGE, CA, United States 09-25-17
    Stanley ORANGE, CA, United States 09-25-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    44
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Save your listening time for something else. Tedious, wordy, boring. I kept waiting for something redeeming in this book."

    Save You’re listening time for something else. Tedious, boring. I kept waiting for something redeeming in this book nothing. Narration slow draggy and very difficult to listen to

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JJC 08-26-17
    JJC 08-26-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    35
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Vividly described torture"

    Profoundly dIsappointed.
    There are spoilers in this review. The narration is delivered in a sing-song, start-stop, emotionally-infused drone. The story's stereotypical characters - dead saintly wife, wounded persevering PI, evil US military sociopaths, handsome proud jihadi, plucky determined doctor - are bound together by many, many minutely & lovingly described scenes of horrific torture and despair. The penultimate scenes are of CHILD torture and death. Mr. Parker is an excellent writer and these scenes are well written ... grotesqueries. Yes, we get it: war is terrible and repulsive things are done to combatants and non-combatants. I wish I'd given greater consideration to book reviews that described the storyline and avoided this audible reading. But I discounted them: it's a new Parker and I've read or listened to all of Mr. Parker's books and enjoyed them. I am profoundly disappointed with this one. It's left an awful residue in my mind. I won't jump at the next Parker novel, and if this is in fact the beginning of a new series, I'll abstain.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.