Regular price: $16.77

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This was no accident.... Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

Best friends are there for each other through thick and thin. You trust them with your life. At least that's what Emma, Daisy, Leanne, and Al think. But all that changes when they embark on a trip of a lifetime together. When they return home, only two of them are left alive, and the group has been torn apart by lies and deception.

Many years later, when the dust has settled and life has moved on, one girl receives a threatening letter. Someone knows the truth about what happened on that holiday and will stop at nothing to expose it ....

©2015 C.L. Taylor (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Critic Reviews

Praise for C. L. Taylor:

"An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists." (Daily Mail)
"This dark and creepy book is a must read." (The Sun)
"A thrilling crime debut." (Woman Magazine)
"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." (Alex Marwood)
"Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down." (Rowan Coleman)
"Twisty, dark and utterly compelling." (Lucy Diamond)
"I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!" (Lucy Robinson)
"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!" (Paula Daly)
"Gripping and terrifying." (Julie Cohen)
"One of the best books I've read in ages - the tension never lets up until the final pages. Page-turning suspense ratcheted up with every new scene. Sub-plots woven in effortlessly. Brilliant - my heart was racing as I drew nearer and nearer to the ending." (Mel Sherratt)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Megan Hodgkins
  • 05-28-15

Brilliant! Couldn't stop listening!

Really enjoyed this book. I also read 'The Accident' which I liked, but this was better!
Rely good narration too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Andy Russell
  • 04-27-15

Excellent thriller let down by poor ending

What made the experience of listening to The Lie the most enjoyable?

This is a really intense thriller and the narrator does an amazing job too.

What did you like best about this story?

It flips seamlessly between the present and the past, always gripping and just has that 'one more chapter' going for it - I listened to this in a little over 2 days.

What does Penny Rawlins bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Brilliant narrator, great voices and is spot on every time with the right emotion.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The lead character's love for animals.

Any additional comments?

Great book, the last hour though is a real let down - it could really have done with an extra twist

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • tegan
  • 04-12-16

Great read couldn't put it down

Really enjoyed, wanted to keep listening enjoyed every second, so much suspense! Defo be looking at other titles from this author

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • JoBev
  • 03-01-16

Slow start ....

.... But compulsive listening as the story went on. It's worth sticking with.

I starred this at least 3 times but in the end just continued listening hoping I would make some sense of story. Thankfully it proved worth while!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Simon Linton
  • 07-02-15

A Slow burner to start but got there in the end

The Lie starts with a bit of a girlie theme with the first quarter of the book establishing relationships between a group of girls which I found a little slow to begin with. Gradually though the book reals you in and before long you are eager to keep going and find answers. This wouldn't have been my usual choice but I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • miss e l castle
  • 06-17-15

great story, terrible narrator

I did enjoy the book but the narration was jarring! when she switched between characters it was cringeworthy. I felt it detracted from the story

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-28-16

Couldn't get into it at all...

I disliked this audiobook from the off but persevered to the end because I felt like I should.
I'll be honest - I found the entire experience rather painful. This may have been due in part to the narrator: her Scottish accent was particularly awful and grated terribly.

I didn't warm to any of the characters, I found the storyline itself to be completely ludicrous, and some of the main character voices were like nails on a blackboard - Daisy/Isaac/Al, & Chloe to be precise.

I was (and still am) surprised this book had so many positive reviews.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • dc
  • 07-29-16

Unfortunate

This book was very long winded in areas that didn't need so much detail, the narrator used some very annoying voices (some of the men and Welch accents were off putting) and all in all, together, very disappointing.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • fletchek
  • 01-16-16

What a find

Would you consider the audio edition of The Lie to be better than the print version?

The reader (Penny Rawlins - who I have not knowingly come across before) was excellent. She brought the story alive and her reading clearly differentialted the different characters for me. A lively reading, which added to the tale (and a merely indifferent reader can spoil a good story).

Who was your favorite character and why?

I hate this question - its a story; I don't have favourites. Instead, let me tell you that the storyline is good (not stretching your credulity but not dull either) and the detail of what goes on in a pet rescue centre is accurate and interesting. The psychological aspects are not over-simplistic or overwrought. Obviously there are extremem elements to the story (or it wouldn't be dramatic) but the only thing that seemed a bit OTT in the set up was the thought that three of the friends had traumatic deaths of close relatives. Really - in their early 20s?

Which character – as performed by Penny Rawlins – was your favourite?

Will you stop this obsession with 'favourites' - its a bloody story. They are just pretend characters; I don't form attachments to any of them

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Who makes up these purile questions - why can't we just write a simple review?

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Matthaus
  • 07-21-15

promises much delivers little

all the way through the book you're expecting a huge ending, you never get it, it's flat and largely uneventful

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • steve
  • 05-10-15

Painfull

If you can get to the end of this book good luck. Narration is only fare for female parts allfull for the males. The story gos on and no, about 4 young woman on holiday. But gos nowhere. I got to about chapter 24 then gave up. May by that's unfair but that's all I could take.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful