Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Editorial Reviews

Editors Select, January 2013 - I listened to Stuart Neville’s debut novel Ghosts of Belfast 3 years ago, and was totally swept up by his seamless blending of fantasy into an IRA noir thriller. In Neville’s next two novels he delivered solid thrills, but they were slightly more traditionally drawn. But when I heard about his newest stand-alone Ratlines, I knew I had to listen to it. He heads back to his old narrative stomping grounds of an Ireland at war with itself, while bringing in an alternate history element involving Nazi stowaways. It doesn’t get more chilling than that! —Emily, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Ireland 1963. As the Irish people prepare to welcome President John F. Kennedy to the land of his ancestors, a German national is murdered in a seaside guesthouse. Lieutenant Albert Ryan, Directorate of Intelligence, is ordered to investigate. The German is the third foreigner to die within a few days, and Minister for Justice Charles Haughey wants the killing to end, lest a shameful secret be exposed: the dead men were all Nazis granted asylum by the Irish government in the years following World War II.

A note from the killers is found on the dead German's corpse, addressed to Colonel Otto Skorzeny, Hitler's favorite commando, once called the most dangerous man in Europe. The note simply says: "We are coming for you."

As Albert Ryan digs deeper into the case, he discovers a network of former Nazis and collaborators, all presided over by Skorzeny from his country estate outside Dublin. When Ryan closes in on the killers, his loyalty is torn between country and conscience. Why must he protect the very people he fought against 20 years before? Ryan learns that Skorzeny might be a dangerous ally, but he is a deadly enemy.

©2013 Stuart Neville (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

“Thrilling.... Readers will hope to see more of Ryan, a formidable yet damaged hero." (Publishers Weekly)
“Another moody winner mixes Nazis into Neville's usual Irish noir.” (Kirkus Reviews)
"Neville, whose debut, The Ghosts of Belfast, won the 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Best Mystery/Thriller, concocts a believable plot with an intriguing protagonist torn between duty to country and his distaste for Nazi criminals. Fans of Jack Higgins and Ken Follett will enjoy this novel." (Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    11

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    9

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    10
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Keenan
  • Anchorage Alaska
  • 08-02-15

James Bond in Ireland

Would you listen to Ratlines again? Why?

Doubtful. It's not one of my favorite Stuart Neville stories.

What did you like best about this story?

Once I realized it was more of a James Bondian spy story rather than typical Neville noir, it was a fun story

What does Alan Smyth bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I couldn't recreate James Nesbitt's voice in my head if I wanted to. I wouldn't have thought of a George Clooney voice for the American. I was surprised to learn Alan Smyth wasn't an Irish-American because his narrating voice sounded very American with little hints of Irish heritage coming through.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No.

Any additional comments?

I hope if they make a movie out of it, Julia Robert isn't cast as the love interest.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story-Disappointing Narrator

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Yes. It was a good story and Stuart Neville is a very good author.

What did you like best about this story?

The premise that the Protestant Irish and the IRA collaborated with the Nazis and Nazi sympathizers.

What didn’t you like about Alan Smyth’s performance?

Flat voice with some characters, stilted sentences. Not enough change of voice/accent between the different people in the story.

Was Ratlines worth the listening time?

Yes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing for Ghosts of Belfast Fans!

I loved Neville's first novel, "Ghosts of Belfast", But his second book "Collusion", didn't match up to the first, and unfortunately, the third "Ratlines", was even more of a disappointment. The narrator's voice was too nasal or hesitant for me.

I would rather hear more of the Irish writer, Gene Kerrigan, especially his new one called "The Rage", but it is not on the U.S. version of Audible. I don't know why that is.

I wish Audible would add a "Suggestions List" for books we want to hear but are not in their canon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sheldon
  • WALDEN, NY, United States
  • 02-04-13

Greed and murder

Where does Ratlines rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Good story and in the top of my audiobooks

What did you like best about this story?

Ryan's determination to see it through to the end

Which scene was your favorite?

Ryan's stakeout of the house and discovering the fourth man.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

just enjoy it.

Any additional comments?

like it a lot