Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)
"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,662
  • 4 Stars
    1,439
  • 3 Stars
    415
  • 2 Stars
    88
  • 1 Stars
    67

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,472
  • 4 Stars
    1,137
  • 3 Stars
    350
  • 2 Stars
    77
  • 1 Stars
    52

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,467
  • 4 Stars
    1,127
  • 3 Stars
    356
  • 2 Stars
    83
  • 1 Stars
    54
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Action Packed

This story was fast paced and full of action. Very realistic story line can't wait to read the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

excellent read held my interest the whole time

this is a great book that held my interest the entire time making it difficult to put it down. if you like action stories I highly recommend it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Many Turns to End

Very busy start. Too many people and places to keep up with. When it finally comes together, you can't put it down.
Great thriller.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good, not Great

Let me start with the narration of this book, it was excellent. Hermann did a great job of voicing all the characters. I really enjoyed it. As for the story itself, it was more like a Hollywood script. *Please don't read further- spoilers* I thought Andreas would be more central to the story. He was just a supporting character in a book with tons of them. Ok his role was a little more significant, but I still feel like he wasn't in it as much as he should've been. The plot was outlandish and cliche. Especially the dramatic ending between Andreas and Fortuna. There were a lot of unexplained scenes like how was Dewey able to find Buck when the US Gov couldn't? How was Marx and co able to escape a black ops hq in another country unscathed? I didn't like the outrageous plot lines like how Buck tried to assassinate Tanzer it just didn't make sense. I thought it was all just a tad too Hollywood. But I will admit, it was exciting. But maybe that credit goes to Hermann.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Just okay in my opinion.

I had a hard time believing some of the elements of this book. For the antagonist to be smart enough to attain his position and then to make some of the choices he did was hard for me to believe. The protagonist also seemed to be struggling to find his role and then was allowed to do things that made this feel more like a movie setting up a final fight scene than a well thought out plot. Also, I had to listen to this novel at 1.25x speed just to make it sound close to normal. Overall, the book was good but I doubt I'll be reading more of the series.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Really liked this action book

What made the experience of listening to Power Down the most enjoyable?

Great detail. Conflict and resolution. I've listened to other audio books with super hero type characters and often the person isn't well defined or the action not compelling and I feel like I have to push myself to finish. Not this one even thought this character is rather super human.

What other book might you compare Power Down to and why?

I like John Sandford novels. Lucas Davenport isn't a super hero type but rugged, human and successful

Which scene was your favorite?

The opening sequence aboard the oil rig. The knife fight and then the sequence following.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Started slow, but wow

This book started slow and I even set it aside for a month thinking it would be boring, but returned to it later. I am glad that I did. Great action and adventure

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story overshadows average narrative

Short review:
Great story that definitely pulls you in.
Average and sometimes monotoned narration.
Writer at times overly dramatic and sometimes cheesy but still a great read. Just roll your eyes a few times to endure the occasional indulgence.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good listen.

Dewey Andreas is a tough SOB. Enjoyed the overall plot and the twists that followed.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

ok

not a bad listen kind of all over the place as far as the story goes but not bad it gets put together