We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4105 )
5 star
 (2278)
4 star
 (1316)
3 star
 (371)
2 star
 (78)
1 star
 (62)
Overall
4.4 (3562 )
5 star
 (2092)
4 star
 (1025)
3 star
 (322)
2 star
 (73)
1 star
 (50)
Story
4.4 (3565 )
5 star
 (2105)
4 star
 (1033)
3 star
 (311)
2 star
 (69)
1 star
 (47)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jason 03-08-16
    Jason 03-08-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Prime Example of American Prejudices"

    This novel takes advantage of the negative sentiments the American people have for Arab people, twists it into a high spun terroristic plot, and serves to further disrespect and resentment for non-Anglo racial people. In my opinion, the story is an "out-to-get-you" fiction created to take advantage of current American xenophobia.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dale 03-08-16
    Dale 03-08-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "terrible book"

    very slow jumbled story lines forced myself to finish it, feeble attempt to mimic vince Flynn

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann 03-08-16
    Ann 03-08-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    124
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Story is riviting"

    The story was one of those that you hate to hear "The End"! It was keep you on the edge of your seat. The narrator was one of the best I ever heard!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlene Indianan 03-05-16
    Charlene Indianan 03-05-16 Member Since 2012

    Listen to hours of audio books weekly. Some really good and some not so good. Rely on reviewers to stay on the good side.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, great performance"

    This book should be mandatory reading for any one who thinks that "911" is the last attack on freedom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephen 03-01-16
    Stephen 03-01-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    80
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of my favorites"

    Excellent book. I have high praise for the author and his coverage of the subject.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JamiE 02-27-16
    JamiE 02-27-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good enough that I'm going to get the second book"

    Sometimes hard to follow, but very interesting and intriguing. For the most part it kept my full attention.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles C. Wright Avalon, Calif. 02-26-16
    Charles C. Wright Avalon, Calif. 02-26-16 Member Since 2013

    CW 26 mls.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    194
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too many holes."

    I disagree with Gov. Romney's view that this story had no "holes" and "could" all happen and spare me that our "American" oil companies are patriotic good guys.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tguess1 02-25-16
    Tguess1 02-25-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Possibly the slowest book I have ever listened too"
    What disappointed you about Power Down?

    Really poor narration the reader voices are terrible.


    What was most disappointing about Ben Coes’s story?

    Super slow never reaches a point.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Her voices are terrible


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-24-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scary but good..."
    If you could sum up Power Down in three words, what would they be?

    Unsettling - Racing - Gripping


    What does Peter Hermann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The overall tension of the sitution


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It scared me to think that there is probably a thread of truth running through the story that is happening right now in our free American society


    Any additional comments?

    This was a total departure from what I would normally reay but I loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg 02-24-16
    Greg 02-24-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    124
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen"

    The writer had me hooked from the beginning. The amount of detail provided from all the characters was excellent, it was not just about Dewey. The context actually helps one understand the world better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.