Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In March of 2002, while the eyes of the world focused on Afghanistan, Jack Noble finds himself on the outskirts of Baghdad, Iraq. A Marine in name only, Jack is on loan to the CIA. Normally an integral part of the team, he finds that he is nothing more than a security detail in Iraq.

Jack and his partner Bear have a run-in with four CIA special agents over the treatment of an Iraqi family. Within hours Jack and Bear are detained.

All Jack wanted was to finish his enlistment and move on with his life. All he did was intervene and save a family from unwarranted violence at the hands of four CIA agents. But he soon discovers that he did far more than intervene. He has placed himself dead square in the middle of a conspiracy that reaches the highest levels of the US government.

This fast-paced political crime thriller by USA Today best-selling author L.T. Ryan will leave you burning through the minutes as Jack races to stop the conspiracy before it claims his life. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne should enjoy Jack Noble.

©2012 L.T. Ryan (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    11

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great characters and story

What did you love best about Noble Beginnings?

Excellent beginning to a series and character building

What did you like best about this story?

Characters were built wonderfully.

Have you listened to any of Dennis Holland’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

no

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

no to long at one sitting

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Don't waste time or money on this

This was terrible, from the completely awful story, to the worst narrating I have ever heard. A complete waste of time and credit, please spare yourself.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A horrible narrator can ruin a book.

For an action hero story, the narrator's voice was too passive, too soft, to relaxed. He reminded me of Forrest Gump. I felt like I was being told a bedtime story. It was very difficult to get into the lead character.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

No regrets in buying this one.

This production is difficult to shut off in so one may do other things. Such as to go to sleep. It is non stop action. The actions taken seem real due to the quality of the writing but at the same time we do not have too much detail. This is good so one's imagination can do some work.

This book is an introduction to a series. One is not bogged down in TMI on the characters involved. This is quite refreshing It leaves one interested in additional information in later books.

Dennis Holland has a very pleasing voice. This is the first work to which I have listened by him. The good news is he is the narrator for the entire series including a short story.

Well done L.T Ryan and Dennis Holland.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Forget Jack Reacher

This is my first book about Noble. After the radical change in Reacher in the last disappointment of a book I have been looking .
Noble beginnings is very similar to the first Jack Reacher books. Great story telling, a really tough, tender guy, Noble is my new audio hero. I listen to a lot of books for pure fantasy . This kind of book will never win a Pulitzer but keep me in his crazy world.
I recommend this for anybody who liked the Jack Reacher series until the author tried to broaden his horizons and failed miserably.
Where should I go next readers ? Which book?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Completely unbelievable

Waisted of time and Monet. Definitely not Jack Reacher or Mitch Rapp. Don't know where this is going but I certainly won't be following.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

pretty good

I did not enjoy reading all the details of the violence. other writers do it better.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

hated it

written by someone who has never been in combat. not even close to believable. Sorry Charlie no cigar.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Gerri
  • Port St. Lucie, FL, United States
  • 01-08-17

Predictable and ...more predictable.

The principal player, USMC Noble is concentrated more on the movements of a body (s) preparing for conflict rather than the give and take of principal protagonists. I was looking for straightforward dialogue. Instead, the mapping out of placement of hands, elbows, side, front, eyes crossed, knees buckling........... on and on .......... I'm done.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Vince Flynn has me spoiled

The story was amateur and the characters were watered down. The narrative was very boring

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Carôle
  • 10-31-15

Noble, but no fully formed!

This was an interesting book, with so much promise, but the story was not fully formed, in my opinion.

The resolution was inadequate and murky. The strands that kept you following the narrative, were very loosely tied & in some cases either non existent it unraveling!

I shall reserve final judgment by hearing book 2. That will decide on whether I pursue the rest of the series.

However, one bonus, the narrator was good and earned the book an extra 2 Stars!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.