Regular price: $28.10

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

You can run from your past, but the truth will always find you.

Luckiest Girl Alive is an intense, compulsive debut thriller, described by Reese Witherspoon as 'the kind of book that grabs you and doesn't let go'.

Now a New York Times best seller and optioned for film by Reese Witherspoon and her production partner, Bruna Papandrea, in conjunction with Lionsgate Films.

Her perfect life is a perfect lie....

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll is an audacious debut thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult.

Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiancé. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts....

When a documentary producer invites Ani to tell her side of the chilling and violent incident that took place when she was a teenager at the prestigious Bradley school, she hopes it will be an opportunity to prove how far she's turned her life around since then. She'll even let the production company film her lavish wedding, the final step in her transformation. But as the wedding and filming converge, Ani's past threatens to come back and haunt her. And as her immaculate veneer starts to crack, she is forced to question: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for - or,will it, at long last, set Ani free?

©2015 Jessica Knoll (P)2015 Simon and Schuster US

Critic Reviews

"…definitely, definitely read it."('Why you need to read Luckiest Girl Alive', Stylist Magazine)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • FKblue
  • 07-18-16

Great Summertime read.

Great narrator's voice, really suits the lead character. If you liked 'Gone Girl' and 'The Girl on the Train', you'll like this too.
Highly recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Trish
  • 03-02-16

Hard to empathise with main character

Is there anything you would change about this book?

For me the lead character would have to be more likeable

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The basic story line was good and the switching from past to present worked well

What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I thought the narrator was excellent

Do you think Luckiest Girl Alive needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No but I would try another novel by the same author

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the narrative style but found the character of Tiffany/ Ani so unpleasant. I see a previous reviewer said she loved Tiffany so there we are, it's all up to you. It was a good premise for a novel although it was fairly easy to guess what was going to happen

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lena
  • 08-16-16

A good holiday listen/read!

This was a good book to listen to on holiday. I had to speed up the reader slightly as I found it a little slow in pace.
The main character is deliciously hateful and really what kept me listening.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • MichelleC
  • 04-24-16

What a great listen

Loved it. Tiffany seems to be an unlikeable character but her story is compulsive listening. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mrs
  • 01-21-16

Brilliant !!

I loved Tiffany and her story brought me to tears at points. Very realistic and very true of this age character... Well done

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ova
  • 05-04-16

Very Disappointing and nothing like Gone Girl

What disappointed you about Luckiest Girl Alive?

The book cover compares it with Flynn and Gone Girl, which this book is nowhere near. It does not have any twist at all. It's just a story about a very shallow character.If you are after a surprise ending, gripping read just skip this book, because it does not deliver a surprise end, any twist or a gripping story.

Has Luckiest Girl Alive put you off other books in this genre?

Yes.

What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The performer was quite good. Maybe the only best thing about this audio book.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I am sorry but I really didn't like it. I doubt anyone with a taste for fiction/literature will enjoy this book.

Any additional comments?

Honestly, I felt like I am tricked into a book which I’ll never pick up if it was not ‘compared’ to Gone Girl on the cover. Really disappointed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Michaela
  • 10-08-15

Surprised in a good way

Would you consider the audio edition of Luckiest Girl Alive to be better than the print version?

I went in expecting some sort of Devil Wears Prada meets Gone Girl, but bits of this (especially the flash backs) remind me more of Glory O' Brian's History of the Future for the way it explores this girl's heartbreak as a teenager.

Any additional comments?

I think the interesting thing about this book is that I spent the first hour or so finding Ani so obnoxious, thinly drawn and all that that I wouldn't finish it. I still think that thinness is a flaw in the writing, but as the novel went on I was really surprised to find the author had done something a bit different, and how much empathy I developed for the main character and understanding of why she was the way she was. Definitely worth the read, was glad I took a chance on it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sarah
  • 05-18-17

Very unlikeable Protagonist

Any additional comments?

Ani is an unlikable character. I spent the whole book trying to find her redeeming qualities. I could not. The story feels like it leads nowhere. It has been compared to gone girl, I think this is an inaccurate comparison, as the quality of gone girl is markedly superior.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Nichole
  • 05-30-16

A story to nowhere

I feel like I missed something? The story never seems to end! Overall, very disappointed

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Emily Webb
  • 05-27-16

Lives up to the hype

I enjoyed this book. Jessica Knoll's delivered a well-paced plot and Ani/Tiffani is a compelling character. Unlikeable as an adult (Ani) but her depiction of Tiffani the 14-year-old was sensitive and shocking in that I could re-feel how I was at that age. This book has had a lot of hype and I wasn't disappointed.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Vanessa
  • 04-19-16

Hard to get through

The main character is so obnoxious it makes this a painful read. The story is predictable and not at all gripping. Not much that I liked about this novel.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Daniella
  • 04-08-16

Great plot, some bits slow. Some could dislike Ani

Great story but I felt some of the start of the book a little slow. A lot of people have given this book mixed reviews which I think comes down to Ani's character, but I felt because of how she ws portrayed she was a real character.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kate
  • 11-06-15

Boring take on an important subject

What a load of drivel. Hard to care about what happened to a spoilt and bitchy woman who cares more about her dress size than the feelings of those she supposedly cares about.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sheriden
  • 01-04-16

Great Read

What did you like best about this story?

Great read, awesome story. Quite dark and deep which I like. Wish it went for longer! Couldn't stop listening

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.