We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Full Moon Rising Audiobook

Full Moon Rising: Riley Jenson, Guardian, Book 1

Regular Price:$39.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A rare hybrid of vampire and werewolf, Riley Jenson and her twin brother, Rhoan, work for Melbourne's Directorate of Other Races, an organization created to police the supernatural races, and protect humans from their depredations. While Rhoan is an exalted guardian, a.k.a. assassin, Riley is merely an office worker, until her brother goes missing on one of his missions. The timing couldn't be worse. More werewolf than vampire, Riley is vulnerable to the moon heat, the weeklong period before the full moon, when her need to mate becomes all-consuming.

Luckily Riley has two willing partners to satisfy her every need. But she will have to control her urges if she's going to find her brother. Easier said than done as the city pulses with frenzied desire, and Riley is confronted with a very powerful, and delectably naked, vamp who raises her temperature like never before.

In matters carnal, Riley has met her match. But in matters criminal, she must follow her instincts not only to find her brother but to stop an unholy harvest. For someone is doing some shifty cloning in an attempt to produce the ultimate warrior, by tapping into the genome of nonhumans like Rhoan. Now Riley knows just how dangerous the world is for her kind, and just how much it needs her.

Bite into another Riley Jenson novel.

©2006 Keri Arthur; (P)2006 Books on Tape

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Anita Blake and Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse vampire series will be rewarded." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (839 )
5 star
 (326)
4 star
 (256)
3 star
 (159)
2 star
 (52)
1 star
 (46)
Overall
4.0 (436 )
5 star
 (191)
4 star
 (129)
3 star
 (69)
2 star
 (29)
1 star
 (18)
Story
4.1 (430 )
5 star
 (197)
4 star
 (132)
3 star
 (69)
2 star
 (21)
1 star
 (11)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Billie Cedar Park, TX, USA 03-22-06
    Billie Cedar Park, TX, USA 03-22-06 Member Since 2006
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    543
    2
    Overall
    "Erotic to the Senses"

    Sensuous, erotic, mystery, thriller, action-adventure all rolled into one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lilly Miami, FL, USA 03-20-06
    Lilly Miami, FL, USA 03-20-06
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    95
    1
    Overall
    "Hot & Steamy"

    This was a good book with suspense & lots of sex! I enjoyed it & I am looking forward to the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ShawnaLanne St. Louis 03-07-06
    ShawnaLanne St. Louis 03-07-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    291
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Enjoying the Book and the Reader"

    I don't like to listen to overly 'practiced' readers. They tend to exagerate emotions and all use the same sort of voice for charecter types, such as seductive women, psychotic man. That gets on my nerves. This reader does not do it. The story is faced paced and the reading subtle.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly Austin, TX, USA 03-01-06
    Kimberly Austin, TX, USA 03-01-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    86
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Reader ruins the book...."

    Unfortunately, this book's sample audio doesn't play for me, but I chose to get it anyway. This is the first time that I have ever had to stop listening to an audible book because of the reader (and I even listen to amateur books/readers). I made it 3 hours just because I HAD to see if I got used to it. I didn't.

    She has absolutely zero inflection in her voice. Have you ever been to a yoga/meditation class? The instructors always have a very soft, peaceful and completely neutral voice. This reader sounds just like that even in the middle of fight scenes where she's describing flying bone fragments.

    I have no idea whether the book itself is good or not because the reader was putting me to sleep. I will probably be buying this book in written form just to see if it's any good.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Smith 03-01-06
    J. Smith 03-01-06 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    204
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    131
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Fun From Start To Finish"

    If you like vampire and werewolf romance, you will love this. This book is an original ... taking place in Australia, with guardians, strange creatures and lots (and LOTS) of moon lust!
    Reilly is cooler than Anita Blake any day.

    I listened to this book every free moment and even did my longest run (EVER) while listening to this great story. I'm off to the bookstore tonight to get more of this author -- too bad audible doesn't carry more of her titles.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel Richmond, IN, USA 02-20-06
    Rachel Richmond, IN, USA 02-20-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Enjoyable"

    If you like the Anita Blake series by Luarel K. Hamilton you'll like this book as well. It has a bit more sex then I thought the story needed but the plot and action was good. I enjoy tough females with a good sense of humor and a I can take you on type attitude. Hope to see more from this author soon.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kelly 12-30-07
    Kelly 12-30-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Don't do it"

    AWFUL!!!! Oh, so bad. This is nothing like Charlaine Harris! Shame on me for not reading the reviews before I bought this one. The narrator is annoying and all the main character does is have sex every five minutes. Apparently this author so horny that she couldn't get sex off her brain long enough to include a plot. Really just so bad.

    5 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer austin, TX, United States 01-01-13
    Jennifer austin, TX, United States 01-01-13 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    392
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    157
    67
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    18
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "XXXtrodinarily bad"

    I am no prude. I don't mind sex in my books. I don't have some need for monogamy or care if sex is casual so long as the participants are consenting and safe. I applaud people who treat sex as a celebration. The thing is, this book says that the sex is a celebration (while repeatedly belittling anyone who treats the werewolf way as not for him), but this book is not in any way a celebration of sex. The basic premise behind the sex bit (one of about 4 unresolved and frustrating plot lines) is that for a week leading up to the full moon, werewolves must have sex nearly constantly or they will become blood hungry beasts who will savagely rape/murder indiscriminately. It is degrading, disturbing and unnecessary.
    Aside from the sex happening every chapter or so, the heroine frequently has sex with 1. men she hardly knows with no intention of getting to know them 2. men she does not trust/like 3. men with whom she is having sex in exchange for information and 4. men who make absolutely clear their lack of respect for her as a person/species. Apart from all this, there are several rape scenes treated like they are no big deal, sex in the middle of breakins and rescue attempts, and a total lack of anything that might make the non-stop orgy remotely more than mere porn.
    Which brings me to the "plot". If you could cut the sex down to something approaching sensible (well then the book would be about 2 hours long) you would have three seperate dastardly plots at world domination which somehow are related and somehow appear to focus on a girl who is relatively unimportant except for a secret that the people masterminding the plots would be delighted to know about, except that they are unaware of it, despite having- apparantly- been planning to use her for at least a year. Confused yet? There are plot holes big enough to drive a truck through, and almost nothing gets resolved. The kidnapping of her brother, which gets her involved, is left largely unresolved. One whole plot line that is never quite explained is left open with its wildly unlikely involvement in the other unexplained. Everything about this book is terrible. Bad sex, bad plot, bad writing.
    I am now going to do something I have only ever done with one other book, and return it.

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Bernadette Cato 03-06-12 Listener Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Running out of good Author in this genre"
    What made the experience of listening to Full Moon Rising the most enjoyable?

    This story had lots of little sub plots that involved the main character and supports


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Full Moon Rising?

    Riley is a gutsy and free thinking woman who is not totally focused on sex, even though this is shape shifter norm


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    I have to admit that the narrator had a terrible Aussie accent. The pronunciation of a few words made me laugh, good NewZealand accent however.


    Any additional comments?

    Despite the flaws in narration I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a new author in this genre.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diana CHANDLER, AZ, United States 06-19-11
    Diana CHANDLER, AZ, United States 06-19-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    268
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "KERI ARTHUR OUT DID HERSELF"

    THIS SERIES IS ANOTHER OF MY FAVORITES. THE STORY LINE IS GRIPPING AND KEEPS YOU LOCKED IN. THE CHARACTERS ARE INTERESTING AND EVERY SCENE IS WELL WRITEN. LOVE IT!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.