Regular price: $22.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this chilling and disquieting debut thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes's Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay's Dexter series, a family man with a habit of digging up the past catches the attention of a serial killer who wants anything but his secrets uncovered.

For years, unbeknownst to his wife and teenage daughter, Martin Reese has been illegally buying police files on serial killers and obsessively studying them, using them as guides to find the missing bodies of victims. He doesn't take any souvenirs, just photos that he stores in an old laptop, and then he turns in the results anonymously. Martin sees his work as a public service, a righting of wrongs.

Detective Sandra Whittal sees the situation differently. On a meteoric rise in police ranks due to her case-closing efficiency, Whittal is suspicious of the mysterious source she calls the Finder, especially since he keeps leading the police right to the bodies. Even if he isn't the one leaving bodies behind, how can she be sure he won't start soon?

On his latest dig, Martin searches for the first kill of Jason Shurn, the early 1990s murderer who may have been responsible for the disappearance of his wife's sister. But when he arrives at the site, he finds more than just bones. There's a freshly killed body - a young and missing Seattle woman - lying among remains that were left there decades ago. Someone else knew where Jason Shurn left the corpses of his victims...and that someone isn't happy that Martin has been going around digging up his work. And when a crooked cop with a tenuous tie to Martin vanishes, Whittal begins to zero in on the Finder.

Hunted by a real killer and by Whittal, Martin realizes that in order to escape, he may have to go deeper into the killer's dark world than he ever thought....

©2018 Nathan Ripley (P)2018 Simon & Schuster Audio

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing look into the mind of a killer

This book is Stephen King, mixed with Meg Gardiner's UNSUB series, with Silence of the Lambs thrown in. This book is fantastic, and I can't recommend it enough.

This book felt so real. It is creepy, thrilling, and takes you into the mind of a killer. I typically listen to military thrillers, so this was a little different for me, but I absolutely loved it. This is not one of those books to listen to if you're at home alone with all of the lights off. It never drops your attention, as I was glued to my headphones throughout this entire book. I never wanted to stop. I highly, highly recommend this book. If you've always been curious and what goes through the mind of a killer, this book is definitely hands-down at the top of the list.