We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Evil Under the Sun Audiobook

Evil Under the Sun: A Hercule Poirot Mystery

Regular Price:$21.67
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The beautiful bronzed body of Arlena Stuart lay face down on the beach. But strangely, there was no sun and Arlena was not sunbathing - she had been strangled.

Ever since Arlena's arrival the air had been thick with sexual tension. Each of the guests had a motive to kill her, including Arlena's new husband. But Hercule Poirot suspects that this apparent "crime of passion" conceals something much more evil.

©1941 Agatha Christie Limited (P)1992 Chivers Press Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (312 )
5 star
 (221)
4 star
 (68)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (290 )
5 star
 (196)
4 star
 (71)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (289 )
5 star
 (228)
4 star
 (42)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    iris 12-01-13
    iris 12-01-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    303
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So enjoyable and relaxing"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Evil Under the Sun to be better than the print version?

    Yes!


    Have you listened to any of David Suchet’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, but he is great. Excellent job of change of voice as well as being able to put "personality" into the characters. Best I've listened to.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I Did


    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lexi 07-26-13
    Lexi 07-26-13 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    213
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Always fantastic"
    Would you listen to Evil Under the Sun again? Why?

    I have already listened to this book twice. There is such beautiful details that it is always intriguing. Hercule Poroit is my favorite character that Agatha Christie writes about. David Suchet does the voices of every character so wonderfully that you forget it is just him reading.


    What did you like best about this story?

    As usual Agatha's twists keep you going until the end. Hercule Poroit never tells you everything and his character is so quirky and enjoyable. The characters are so rich and developed that you feel like you really know the people she writes about.


    What about David Suchet’s performance did you like?

    Fantastic voices and brings every character to life. Such a joy to listen to him perform.


    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    montecarlostar Little Rock, AR, USA 08-29-15
    montecarlostar Little Rock, AR, USA 08-29-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A classic masterpiece!"
    Where does Evil Under the Sun rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Top 10


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Hercules Poirot! Nobody can beat him!


    What does David Suchet bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    His impersonation of the characters and Poirot's voice are untouchable.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gudrun Fort Resolution, Northwest Territories, Canada 05-06-16
    Gudrun Fort Resolution, Northwest Territories, Canada 05-06-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    150
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    523
    273
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My favourite Poirot so far"

    I liked everything about this one the story, characters and setting. I have read lots of Agatha Christie and normally give them about three stars, but this one hit me just right.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DJDecca 09-03-14
    DJDecca 09-03-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    48
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No Vacation from Evil"
    What made the experience of listening to Evil Under the Sun the most enjoyable?

    David Suchet's excellent performance of all the characters really brought the story to life.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Evil Under the Sun?

    I really enjoyed the lead-up to the murder, meeting all the characters and finding out all the motives people might have.


    What about David Suchet’s performance did you like?

    He has a wonderful knack of creating believable and individual voices for each character and has a very light touch with the more humorous bits.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, I wanted to savor it.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tara M. East Bridgewater, MA United States 11-02-17
    Tara M. East Bridgewater, MA United States 11-02-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Read expertly by David Suchet, who is to me, the definitive Poirot. I enjoyed having him perform this story, giving each character their own voice and personality.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessica Barber 08-20-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "David Suchet makes this great book even better. "

    I love Agatha Christie books, and I love watching adaptations of them as well. I have seen two different adaptations of this book, and enjoyed them both. I had never read the book though and it had been a while since I had seen the adaptations so when I was looking for a new audio book, I chose this one. David Suchet, famously, played Hercule Poirot in a tv movie series. His reading of this book was superb! Obviously his narration of Hercule was amazing, but he does so well on all of the characters, each having a distinct voice. It was such a joy to listen to, and I definitely have looked up other books he narrated to listen to in the future.

    The story is amazing. Agatha Christie is the Queen of mystery for a reason. This one has such a lovely twist, that is truly hard to guess. Hercule goes to the seaside for a refreshing holiday for his health and while there with his good friend Hastings, meets a great many interesting people. A famous movie star and her Husband are vacationing with their stepdaughter. There is a young couple, a sickly strange vicar, and many more. It really is a great story, that will certainly keep you on the edge of you seat.

    I am someone who loves reading and watching mysteries and she is the only Author that I have found in a long time that can stump me.

    AUDIBLE 20 REVIEW SWEEPSTAKES ENTRY

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lowcountry Book Lover 08-05-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "David Suchet!"

    Of course I loved his. Narrated by David Suchet, the only Poirot. Not the best of the Christies but I loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin 07-02-17
    Kevin 07-02-17 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "David Suchet is terrific, but story is not as good as other Christie"

    Suchet is an excellent narrator, and the story flows nicely. However, the character development is noticeably lacking. (Except for mrs. Gardner and her husband Odell.) Good book, but not Agatha's best. STILL a must for fans of Christie and Hercule Poirot!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris T 02-27-17
    Chris T 02-27-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    87
    73
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "David Suchet Does an Excellent Job of a Classic"

    The original book differs greatly from the movie with Peter Ustinov but both are extremely entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.