A Fatal Obsession

Ryder and Loveday, Book 1
Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Series: Ryder & Loveday Mysteries, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (248 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The start of a brand-new series from the global best-selling author of the DI Hillary Greene series.

Oxford, 1960. There's a murderer on the loose, and two unlikely heroes are poised to solve the case.

Meet Trudy Loveday - smart, enthusiastic and always underestimated.

In the hope of getting her out of the way, Trudy is assigned to help coroner Clement Ryder as he reopens the case of a young woman's death. She can't believe her luck - she is actually going to be working on a real murder case.

Meanwhile, the rest of the police force are busy investigating a series of threats and murders in the local community, and Clement can't help but feel it's all linked.

As Trudy and Clement form an unlikely partnership, are they going to be the ones to solve these crimes before the murderer strikes again?

A gripping, twisty crime novel that you won't be able to pause. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton.

©2018 Faith Martin (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A beautifully crafted crime mystery..." (Anita Davison, author of the Flora Maguire series)

What listeners say about A Fatal Obsession

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just didn't buy it

Clement Ryder, s retire surgeon turned Coroner, who we are reminded is "old" in every other sentence in the scenes in which he appears, teams up with WPC Trudy Loveday, a wet behind the ears 19 year old Probationary WPC who thinks she should be a detective, are paired up to reinvestigate an old death and its connection to a current murder. If Trudy had been on the force for a number of years and had been held back because she was a woman, I might have been more sympathetic with her constant internal complaining. Obviously she doesn't understand about paying your dues. I was also perplexed because she never mentions any other women in the police force or the status of women during the time period.

The story is told by a narrator who skips from character to character so fast in some scenes it is hard to follow who is acting or speaking. We are told at the beginning that the story is in the 1960, which is good because the lack of setting and description could set this story in many different decades. There are no references to 1960 culture, music, politics or literature to ground the reader. Though we do know Trudy's mother has a bakelite radio.

I might have considered a two star because the mystery is interesting until the ending. The buildup for a terrible revelation from the victims mother falls flat. Not only was the solution to the murders a stretch and a bit ridiculous, the fact that Trudy and the "old man" elicited a confession from the murderer without informing him/her of his/her rights, was unacceptable behavior on both their parts.

I can't see myself joining Ryder and Loveday for further adventures.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The first entry in a challenging series

Faith Martin knows how to weave a tale. A little bit police procedural, a little bit cozy mystery and filled with interesting characters. This is the first in a series and I look forward to the team of one young female newbie policewoman and a dapper but crotchety former heart surgeon turned coroner. Fascinating pairing isn’t it!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great new series

Enjoyed it. Would recommend it. Would listen to another. Not too corny and the ending is possibly which a lot of books don't have these days.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Glad I Bought This Book

Faith Martin is a new author to me ,.. and I am so very glad to have found this book .. I am looking forward to her other series,.. and hope that Audible will purchase the other book in this very short ,.. but satisfying series.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good

What a good classic mystery. A little disappointed at the end but, the ride was worth it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic murder mystery!!!!

A must read, different way of writing and brings the reader in wondering what the ending will be. 100% recommend!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good

An excellent story, interesting and has twists and turns. I look forward to another story by this author, one for woman's lib in the beginning days.