We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Don't Close Your Eyes Audiobook

Don't Close Your Eyes: A Novel

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A juicy, powerful book featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart and the shocking family secrets that bind them - for fans of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go.

When the past knocks, someone must answer.

In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Kent, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door.

Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior.

These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the way. It is a life only Robin can save - as long as she never looks away.

In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave listeners gasping in surprise.

©2017 Holly Seddon (P)2017 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (61 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.8 (57 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.0 (55 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    holly r brewer 11-17-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ending is a dud, lots of build up and no real end"

    Ending is a dud, lots of back story with no closure. was as if the writer just said f it, it's over.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Truly shopper 10-28-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    Overall
    "snooze"

    where's the drama? I guess some not so typical things happen but I found this book to be overall boring

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charmaine Z 10-16-17
    Charmaine Z 10-16-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disappointing book. Kept thinking it would get better."

    So disappointed with this storyline. The sample audio portion had me thinking it would be a exciting listen. Throughout the entire book, I kept waiting for it to take off but it just kept bumping and stumbling along. The end was a pathetic let down. Waste of a credit in my mind.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 08-25-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    169
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    247
    243
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "DON'T CLOSE YOUR EYES"
    If you could sum up Don't Close Your Eyes in three words, what would they be?

    FAMILY BAGGAGE SUCKS!


    What did you like best about this story?

    AT THE END WHEN ROBIN REALIZES...


    What does Mandy Williams and Elizabeth Knowelden bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    THE VERY DIFFERENT CHARACTERS OF COURSE!


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN GLASS HOUSES...


    Any additional comments?

    ANOTHER EXCELLENT NOVEL BY MS. SEDDON.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robyn FRANKSTON SOUTH, Australia 08-23-17
    Robyn FRANKSTON SOUTH, Australia 08-23-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I just couldn't get into it."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I kept turning if off as I just couldn't get my head into the story. I found myselff distracted.


    What was most disappointing about Holly Seddon’s story?

    The lack of 'gotcha' I need to keep reading.


    What three words best describe Mandy Williams and Elizabeth Knowelden ’s performance?

    The voice of Sarah (Elizabeth Knowelden) I found irritating.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Nope


    Any additional comments?

    I'm guided by reviews as Audible readers genuinely critique a book in a fair and balanced manner. I must have missed something very important in this book as reviews we're generally positive. The book just wasn't for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Olivia 07-15-17
    Olivia 07-15-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    162
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    57
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    21
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just okay"

    I loved Try Not to Breathe, so I was excited to listen to Seddon’s sophomore effort but this one fell a bit flat for me. The storyline was just intriguing enough for me to stick with it, at 1.25x speed.

    Because it’s about a dysfunctional family, the story by nature is somewhat depressing. We see the ramifications that bad parenting can have on children, especially when they become adults. Of the two main characters Sarah was the most likable, with Robin being simultaneously boring and aggressive. Whereas I was interested in Sarah’s story and felt compassion for her, I had trouble relating to Robin or really caring much about her struggles. Callum’s character was also kind of boring, despite the fact that he acts out.

    Not sure if this was intentional, but the narrator for Robin had a weird negative tinge to her voice and odd cadence. The tempo was waaay to slow at 1.0x speed but actually perfect at 1.25x speed.

    The narrator for Sarah, on the other hand, was great and had a normal tempo (same narrator as main character in Try Not to Breathe). But because the perspectives switched so often, I wound up listening to her voice at 1.25x speed as well.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DM Salazar 07-15-17
    DM Salazar 07-15-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "SO DIFFERENT BUT FASCINATING!"

    This is my first book by this author, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! The story continually goes back-and-forth between the past and the present from the two sisters' perspective, but it is never confusing. I found the storyline so very intriguing because you know there's so much that the reader does not know. I love how it takes place over such a long period of time. The narration was excellent and I was enthralled until the very end! Highly recommend!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    debbie ortiz 07-12-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Don't close your eyes"

    A very well written book about redemption and tenacity. The characters have very big hearts.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.