Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7,632
  • 4 Stars
    3,512
  • 3 Stars
    1,228
  • 2 Stars
    411
  • 1 Stars
    296

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    6,385
  • 4 Stars
    2,401
  • 3 Stars
    657
  • 2 Stars
    175
  • 1 Stars
    115

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5,821
  • 4 Stars
    2,419
  • 3 Stars
    964
  • 2 Stars
    321
  • 1 Stars
    248
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing story, I want more!

Amazing story, I want more!

Well written and read. The technological accuracy is astounding. I'm glad there is another title in this series.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jon
  • South Louisiana
  • 03-18-15

Fun little thrill ride

This book is a well written unique story without the formulaic plot usually seen in this genre - it's fast moving and well read. I will be continuing with the series and expect to be reading/listening to this again. The book deals heavily with technology and the future of mankind. If your looking for an exciting quasi Sci-Fi/fantasy/ mildly dystopic book - this is a good read for you.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An interesting concept of Soble's Daemon

First let me stay, I don't normally read/listen to this genre and I only picked it up due to the number of positive reviews. I must say I am glad I did as it was a fantastic ride.

This book puts a little bit of what-if scenario if a virus (Daemon) that takes over the world by using the data against the organisation.

The book appears to be a commentary on the social structure of the world and how corporations are protected at all costs at the consequence of people suffering. It is a good concept and not one I've seen too much before.

As for the narrator.. Gurner is probably one of the better narrators I've actually heard and one I will look out for in the future.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Joan
  • Swamp Yankee
  • 03-07-15

Didn't have the same reaction, blech

So many positive reviews for this title that I am almost sorry to disagree, but I do disagree. I found the book repetitive, overlong, and the ending disappointing. I also fail to see how this makes the science fiction cut. I'd give it a sort-of Sci-Fi at the most generous and thats because of the quality of the VR. I do agree that the narrator was very good. However the best that can be said of the book is that here is an author who obviously sees the dangers in a poorly educated Democratic society in which the government has allowed too many responsibilities to become privatized, and in which said society is service based, (note Sobel's use of the identical hamburger joint's analogy,) and yet technology is the glue holding society together and creating a new wealthy class. I'm not spoiling anything here, that's a vague overview. I do find it highly amusing that some of the same people who love Ayn Rand loved this book. Perhaps they'll get it?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Unreal amazing

This Book is by far the greatest book I have ever read. It is amazing. By red I mean listened. Please understand this is the greatest technological book about the world ever written this is all you need to know if you don't listen to this book Soble will get you

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Dmitriy
  • Paramus, NJ United States
  • 03-06-15

Couldn't wait for the store to finish

What did you love best about Daemon?

Even though the idea itself is not new but the spin that Daniel put on it, the beginning of the story, unfolding, and development is AMAZING.

What other book might you compare Daemon to and why?

His Influx is probably the first that comes to mind

Which scene was your favorite?

Rebirth of sergeant Seaback

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both mostly crying....

Any additional comments?

Enjoy the book

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mark
  • Aarhus V, Denmark
  • 03-06-15

Amazing

Came to this book after reading Ready player One. I was not disappointed, even though they differ greatly they are similar enough to enjoy.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

New Age of Cyberpunk Fiction

I often hear that cyberpunk is dead. Hell, I've been hearing that for almost 20 years. I say it is not dead, but it has evolved. Today's cyberpunk is far less speculative and more grounded in what really is possible.

Suarez's books (Daemon, Freedom, & Kill Decision) are great examples of this new age of cyberpunk.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A fun thriller that falls apart a bit at the end..

I really enjoyed this book from the start. It's a pretty formulaic plot, but with a fun techno twist. The reason it's 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the ending (or lack thereof). The book seems to be building to some epic conclusion, but instead unravels in a string of far-fetched action sequences. Still, the previous two acts more than make up for this.
The narrator is one of the better ones I've experienced so far. He gets a little carried away with some of the voices, but does a great job bouncing between characters during conversation.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story

Modern gaming theme is very well captured in a absolute thriller.

Narration and pace was excellent.

I recommend the story