We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Daemon Audiobook

Daemon

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (12331 )
5 star
 (7187)
4 star
 (3323)
3 star
 (1159)
2 star
 (384)
1 star
 (278)
Overall
4.4 (9045 )
5 star
 (5377)
4 star
 (2263)
3 star
 (884)
2 star
 (299)
1 star
 (222)
Story
4.5 (9008 )
5 star
 (5883)
4 star
 (2239)
3 star
 (616)
2 star
 (161)
1 star
 (109)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Joshua Kring 01-21-15 Member Since 2017

    The least helpful reviewer on audible.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    348
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    109
    108
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great science fiction story."
    Any additional comments?

    While this wasn't a perfect book it was extremely entertaining. It took only a little while to get used to the tempo and narrative. I enjoyed it so much that I immediately started listening to the sequel.<br/><br/>I could say more, but it's not necessary. Just do your ears a favor and listen to this audio book.<br/><br/>Without giving away anything, I do want to say that my favorite character was introduced in the very last chapter. You'll know him when you meet him.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    l wood 01-13-15
    l wood 01-13-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    57
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Technically solid, but lacked some depth."

    The descriptions of the technology involved are solid, if somewhat simplistic, but at times it feels forced. The drama and thriller aspects are a bit thin. The beureaucrats, politicians and law enforcement feel like paper characters at times. Suarez does not, however, become too cliche and the story does feel like it has some life to it. I would have preferred a "slightly" more possible scope for the daemon, or perhaps more expansive explanation of the "how" this gigantic intelligence was created, but overall the book was above average.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    xskylinedrive3x 01-13-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Phenomenal"

    One of the best audio books I've listened to yet. Excellent story and great presentation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martin 01-11-15
    Martin 01-11-15 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing story with extremely many facets!"

    a very interesting take on our society mixed with gaming culture and resourcefulness in many ways. a must read!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Otto 01-09-15
    Otto 01-09-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good story"

    if you work in information technology, you may find this akin to some of the absurdities that Hollywood produces regarding technology. However, everything described in the book is technically possible and makes for a great story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Aaron Hardage 01-09-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating"

    Started off a little shaky for me but the reader has great technique with character switching. Really enjoyed the story and im looking forward to seeing what else the author has to offer

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael D. Defoe East Wenatchee, WA 01-07-15
    Michael D. Defoe East Wenatchee, WA 01-07-15 Listener Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story"

    Great execution. Enthralling and the reader was very good as well.

    Good introduction to this unfamiliar to me writer. Twists and turns I was not expecting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Mathine 01-07-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A ride unlike any other."

    A great listen! A bit of a lull just before the middle, but I'm so happy I went back to finish it. The ideas and technology are straight from the tech news headlines and put together in a creative and believable way.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Keith Springfield, MO, United States 01-07-15
    Keith Springfield, MO, United States 01-07-15 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    92
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    209
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting Read"

    This was an interesting read. The ideas expressed kept me intrigued. I'm not sure where it is going but feel like it is a great start to a series. My only problems with it are: 1) there are a lot of characters to keep with and 2) there doesn't seem to be a clear protagonist or villian. I guess this could be classified as man versus machine story, but instead of one man, it is many and the machine is made up of humans as well. Going to try the next book and see if it lives up to expectations!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CJ LUCAS, TX, United States 01-06-15
    CJ LUCAS, TX, United States 01-06-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Technotastic"
    Would you listen to Daemon again? Why?

    Yup, already to #2


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Yes, it was something new, with a twist


    Which character – as performed by Jeff Gurner – was your favorite?

    They were all believably different


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    "It's not just a game....anymore"


    Any additional comments?

    I was totallly into it. I can see why some people might have a hard time following it if you've never played any online games, or PC video games. I was as immersed in the story as some of the characters were in their games. Great thing is, it was a totally plausible.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.