Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7,746
  • 4 Stars
    3,567
  • 3 Stars
    1,245
  • 2 Stars
    417
  • 1 Stars
    300

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    6,511
  • 4 Stars
    2,444
  • 3 Stars
    667
  • 2 Stars
    178
  • 1 Stars
    117

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5,930
  • 4 Stars
    2,467
  • 3 Stars
    981
  • 2 Stars
    323
  • 1 Stars
    255
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story

Liked author's other book- interesting twist in the world we live in today. In som ways, seems far fetched- but, there is enough going on to make you wonder.... I recommend it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story, well read!

Fantastic production quality, with a talented reader who was well marched with a switched on story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So over the top it becomes unconvincing

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The story really didn't need date rape, decapitation and all the brutal death to be a techno thriller.

Lots of action is one thing, but there was so much over the top extreme action that the story became unconvincing. The scene with Agent Merrit chasing Loki includes what must have been several hundred 'autoM8' autonomous vehicles. How could that have been staged without authorities figuring out that something was about to happen.

What do you think your next listen will be?

Not Daniel Suarez

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

Found a different author

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good Premise; Decent Execution

What made the experience of listening to Daemon the most enjoyable?

The idea behind the plot was very good. However, it seems like it wasn't executed as well as I personally felt it could have been.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

The story definitely evolved in ways I would not have imagined. Several plot twists.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No extreme reaction. Good book overall.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Dan Brown does science fiction

Why do I read Dan Brown? Because the storyline is so good that I just want to keep going. Daemon is the same way. The dialogue is wooden and to call the characters two-dimensional would be an insult to two-dimensional characters everywhere. The narrator's voices are so overwrought that I kept having to check myself to make sure I wasn't reading a children's novel. But the language and sexual content reminded me that no, in fact this was an adult book. The basic premise is fascinating, and the storyline is compelling. And that's the only thing this book has going for it. If you can skip past some of the sections where characters fire innane dialogue at one another, you might appreciate an innovative plot idea with some twists.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent character development and story line

Very impressive! The world Mr Suarez creates is so similar to our own, you'd think this was happening right up the street!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Phenomenal

The story is amazing, it's highly intelligent and had me gripped from start to finish. The twists and turns will keep you guessing until the end.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

awesome book

fuck I don't want to type all this words that's why I am listening to an audio book

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

This Book Never Stops

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Only if you like to think, plan, plot and enjoy excitement

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Yes.

What about Jeff Gurner’s performance did you like?

Amazing amount of voices

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Made me wonder

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Robert
  • Hanover, NH, United States
  • 07-09-15

The virtual & real worlds collide

The best book I've read or heard this year! This intriguing tale has the virtual and real worlds collide with murderous results. The technology described in this story already exists which makes this dystopian novel all the more believable. It is well written and the Audible narration is superb.