We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Daemon Audiobook

Daemon

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (12570 )
5 star
 (7332)
4 star
 (3388)
3 star
 (1180)
2 star
 (389)
1 star
 (281)
Overall
4.4 (9276 )
5 star
 (5522)
4 star
 (2314)
3 star
 (910)
2 star
 (303)
1 star
 (227)
Story
4.5 (9237 )
5 star
 (6039)
4 star
 (2295)
3 star
 (631)
2 star
 (164)
1 star
 (108)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Stagi 04-16-15
    Stagi 04-16-15 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating!"

    Couldn't stop listening. The story and Jeff Gurner reading it are captivating. Just a great book and production.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne pleasant grove, UT, United States 04-10-15
    Wayne pleasant grove, UT, United States 04-10-15 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    Really enjoyed. I'm a 46 yo, father of 4. Loved the story. I have recommended it to friends and biz associates with no disappointments.
    Great story, great voice and diction.
    More please.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    eric tulsa, ok United States 04-08-15
    eric tulsa, ok United States 04-08-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is it bad that I want this world?"

    Society is full of problems and it seems like few people are doing anything about them. I read this book and feel a sense of longing to be part of the society the Deamon is spawning. The murders are horrible but the change is important.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nathaniel J Roiger 03-27-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Techno Cliches"

    Daniel Suarez's Daemon attempts to be relevant to our changing technological landscape, but he does so by pushing over the top with techno babble that often feels out of place within the confines of his world. Misogynistic undertones plagued the book, which makes me wonder if Daniel Suarez spends the majority of his time on 4chan.

    The first book I couldn't finish in a long time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josey H 03-24-15
    Josey H 03-24-15

    sillygoat

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ideas, but not in love with the actual story"

    Great and mind blowing sci-fi and technology concepts, but characters were a little too "cliche-macho-action-movie" for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris M 03-20-15
    Chris M 03-20-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing story, I want more!"

    Amazing story, I want more!

    Well written and read. The technological accuracy is astounding. I'm glad there is another title in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jon South Louisiana 03-18-15
    Jon South Louisiana 03-18-15 Member Since 2011

    Hike and Paddle Guide

    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun little thrill ride"

    This book is a well written unique story without the formulaic plot usually seen in this genre - it's fast moving and well read. I will be continuing with the series and expect to be reading/listening to this again. The book deals heavily with technology and the future of mankind. If your looking for an exciting quasi Sci-Fi/fantasy/ mildly dystopic book - this is a good read for you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Croz 03-18-15
    Croz 03-18-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An interesting concept of Soble's Daemon"

    First let me stay, I don't normally read/listen to this genre and I only picked it up due to the number of positive reviews. I must say I am glad I did as it was a fantastic ride.

    This book puts a little bit of what-if scenario if a virus (Daemon) that takes over the world by using the data against the organisation.

    The book appears to be a commentary on the social structure of the world and how corporations are protected at all costs at the consequence of people suffering. It is a good concept and not one I've seen too much before.

    As for the narrator.. Gurner is probably one of the better narrators I've actually heard and one I will look out for in the future.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joan Swamp Yankee 03-07-15
    Joan Swamp Yankee 03-07-15 Member Since 2006

    Also China Miéville, Peter Hamilton, good space-opera, No Zombies, Apocalypses, Women who sigh and go weak at the knees when seeing a man!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    231
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    749
    57
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Didn't have the same reaction, blech"

    So many positive reviews for this title that I am almost sorry to disagree, but I do disagree. I found the book repetitive, overlong, and the ending disappointing. I also fail to see how this makes the science fiction cut. I'd give it a sort-of Sci-Fi at the most generous and thats because of the quality of the VR. I do agree that the narrator was very good. However the best that can be said of the book is that here is an author who obviously sees the dangers in a poorly educated Democratic society in which the government has allowed too many responsibilities to become privatized, and in which said society is service based, (note Sobel's use of the identical hamburger joint's analogy,) and yet technology is the glue holding society together and creating a new wealthy class. I'm not spoiling anything here, that's a vague overview. I do find it highly amusing that some of the same people who love Ayn Rand loved this book. Perhaps they'll get it?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sam Herzig 03-06-15
    Sam Herzig 03-06-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unreal amazing"

    This Book is by far the greatest book I have ever read. It is amazing. By red I mean listened. Please understand this is the greatest technological book about the world ever written this is all you need to know if you don't listen to this book Soble will get you

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.