Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7,633
  • 4 Stars
    3,512
  • 3 Stars
    1,228
  • 2 Stars
    411
  • 1 Stars
    296

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    6,386
  • 4 Stars
    2,401
  • 3 Stars
    657
  • 2 Stars
    175
  • 1 Stars
    115

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5,822
  • 4 Stars
    2,419
  • 3 Stars
    964
  • 2 Stars
    321
  • 1 Stars
    248
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Started out interesting, but seemed to fizzle out

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the book at the beginning. But for me, it just seemed to die out and was no longer a fun listen. I can't really pin down just one thing that went wrong. But I really was hoping I'd enjoy this book, but at the end I didn't.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

GOOD STORY...BUT NO DEPTH

Halfway through this book, i found i knew nothing about any of the characters. Very shallow. By the end of the book, it didn't really matter. It was a clever premise that still cried out to be read(listned to). Well narrated story with a well researched plot that is both entertaining and frightening. Will read the sequel.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Couldn't get through this...

Frankly, I was bored. I had high hopes based on the description, but this story just was not for me. The concept is good and I think that it had a lot of potential. I wish it lived up to that potential.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Just terrible

What disappointed you about Daemon?

Honestly, pretty much everything. The narration was terrible. It sounded like Shaggy from "Scooby-Doo" was telling the story. Story was shallow and weak. I rarely stop listening to an audiobook before completion, but I just couldn't finish this one. Not sure what all of the good reviews are about. To each his own, I guess.

Has Daemon turned you off from other books in this genre?

Other books in this genre? No. Other books by this author? Yes.

Would you be willing to try another one of Jeff Gurner’s performances?

No thank you.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

None that I can see.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Honestly, one of the stupidest books ever. Serious

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

An entirely different writer, say one that had matured beyond 8th grade story writing.

Would you ever listen to anything by Daniel Suarez again?

Not even if Mr. Suarez himself paid me to.

What aspect of Jeff Gurner???s performance would you have changed?

I think Mr. Gurner was against a wall... trying to do a good performance of a ridiculous script.

What character would you cut from Daemon?

Well, the Daemon was pretty awful, but then the story would have to be titled, "A Bunch of Thin Characters with Poorly Written Dialog and Faux-Edgy Absurdity".

Any additional comments?

I'll join the chorus and say that I bought this because of Leo Laporte's glowing recommendation. I first started listening to this last year when it came out and quickly lost interest. But, because of a recent podcast and Leo's continuing admiration, I thought that I had missed something and probably just needed to dive in a little more. Not so. There are four or five moments where I was honestly embarrassed that I was listening to this drivel and hoped that no one would walk in and hear it.<br/><br/>In addition to the completely unnecessary and look-at-how-smart-I-am "technical" spooge, comes an inane, obsessive focus on race and an adolescent attempt at including every race just to get a better grade from the teacher. Honestly, I can't believe this made it to print/audio. I had to laugh when new situations where something technical was happening arose. Suarez is obviously so impressed at his own technical knowledge that explanations are overly complicated recitations, seemingly straight from Websters.<br/><br/>Finally, if you are a parent, DO NOT let your children read this book. Beside it being a ridiculous waste of time, it is also depraved and has the worst, pornographic scene - involving a drugged, underage girl and a group of men at a rave - that I have ever encountered in a book. It is such an unnecessary attempt at being edgy that it pisses me off. <br/><br/>For a better read, pick ANYTHING written by ANY adolescent with an IQ over 75... Ever. Seriously. This is just awful.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Enthralling....

Couldn't get enough. The kind of book that could make you late for work because you want to stay in the car and see what's going to happen next!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Great Book, Great Narrator, Great Oral Rendition

I have been on audible for a few months. I have downloaded over 6 books and this one is simply a great book. The narrator is awesome, making characters distinguishable fron one another, and Daniel Suarez backs it up with a great techno-thrilling plot. The plot gets to be a stretch, but let your mind go, and you'll enjoy it. I highly recommend it to those that are geeky gamers, to tech heads.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Charles
  • Nicholasville, KY, United States
  • 02-08-09

Hack the Planet!

If you are into computers, have a good technical background, love science fiction, and still watch the movie Hackers from time to time, you will enjoy this audio book. This would be a great movie but would it would suck if it was made on a cheap budget. Well done Daniel Suarez. I will look forward to future books by you. Do I see a sequel in the future?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Just short of Great

I heard about this book the day I heard Michael Creighton died. Suarez is a worthy successor. The pace gallops along,one learns about, and understands, the implications of high tech, and it just plain fun to read. Is it too techie for some? Maybe, but everything is explained well and is real (not like, say, teleporters in Star Trek). Only disappointment is the end--not that it is illogical or doesn't make sense--in that it is something of a letdown considering how the book builds up and up.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Real world techno-thriller

I got this book after hearing an interview of the author.

In the interview he said that all on the tech in the novel does now exist, and could (if used by the right people) do exactly what is laid out in the novel.

Listen to the story, and let the fact that it may come true keep you up at night.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful