Regular price: $23.44

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of Behind Dead Eyes by Howard Linskey, read by Kieran Bew.

A Mystery Victim

A corpse is found, its identity extinguished in the most shocking manner imaginable. Detective Ian Bradshaw can't catch the killer if no one can ID the victim. Out there, somewhere, a missing young woman may hold the answers.

A Secret Web

Journalist Helen Norton is about to uncover a massive criminal conspiracy. She just needs the final piece of the puzzle. Soon she will learn the price of the truth.

An 'Innocent' Killer

True-crime writer Tom Carney receives letters from a convicted murderer who insists he is innocent. His argument is persuasive - but psychopaths are often said to be charming....

What is the dark thread running through these crimes?

©2016 Howard Linskey (P)2016 Penguin Random House UK

Critic Reviews

Praise for Howard Linskey: "One of the best new writers around. This is a must-read series." (Mark Billingham)
"Linskey has taken a sharp swerve towards the big time.... He has elevated his writing to a level of complexity and humanity seldom approached by British writers previously. A new name on our criminal horizon." (Maxim Jakubowski)
"This is lacerating fare that makes most current crime fiction look like thin gruel." (Financial Times)
"Brilliant.... This is first class stuff, an unstoppable tale, a real page-turner not to be missed." (Sarah Broadhurst)
"Linskey delivers a flawless feel for time and place, mixed with unrelenting pace." [The Times (Top Five Thrillers of the Year)]
"Immensely satisfying, utterly compelling. Prepare to add another name to your must-read list." (Eva Dolan)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Behind Dead Eyes

If you could sum up Behind Dead Eyes in three words, what would they be?

Nothing's as it seems!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Helen, she's got a lot of b****! A good strong woman/ reporter!

What does Kieran Bew bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

As always, with a "good narrator" they bring the characters to life, without you even realizing it. They slide effortlessly back and forth from character to character and you're engrossed in the story, not thinking about how the narrator is doing a lousy on that character!

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

I hate this ? I think "Behind Dead Eyes" is a great title. It caught my attention right away!!!!

Any additional comments?

Great beginning, three excellent plots intertwined within each other. Excellent characters! Ending a little weak!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rollin
  • Cholula, Mexico
  • 09-25-16

Coppers and rogue journalists vs corrupt politicos

A riveting and complex procedural whodunit of an alliance of journalists and policemen unravelling crime in Northeast England. Very enjoyable.

The narration is quite good, except for extremely short pauses between sections.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another Grand Linskey Story

Mr Linskey has a talent for maintaining multiple story plots within one story. He writes about the worst of crimes without the gore. His characters are flawed, vulnerable and real. Cannot wait for the next in the series.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Could have been much better

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The narration spoilt this book for me. There are too many instances where the narrator leaves no break between sentences and/or paragraphs, maybe a good editor would have helped

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

Story line was OK

What didn’t you like about Kieran Bew’s performance?

Flat, monotone voice. Read too fast, little or no pauses or breaks between sentences

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

disappointment, it could have been better

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • cristina
  • Somerville, MA, United States
  • 11-04-16

Kept me hooked

Four stars might be a TAD too many stars. The writing is not "great." However, when I run to download another book by the same author I feel I cannot give it any less. Two mysteries. One theme. Nicely done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Pretty good

British,, the law and the press against the sad, yhe bad and the ugly. It starts well and holds thecreadr's interest. Toward the end the red herrings start flying, so many realy bad guys are flushed into the open. There is a biy too much going on then but overall this is a good book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anne
  • Brisbane, Australia
  • 09-03-16

Annoying Narrator!

A good story, so worth buying. But the narrator got on my nerves. He was easy to listen to, just that he would not pause between new scenes. He would transition into the next scene like it was the next line.You had to picture even harder where he was up to. Where we had left off with that scene. Extraordinary,considering the editors could have made this happen. Or for a man who is supposed to be a professional.
However it was a good story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Story drowned by psychological convolutions

I liked the narrator on this but the story was so thick with grim psychological observations, questions and answers -- the story hardly had any ground or movement. Some people apparently liked this a lot. It may have, eventually, been a good story but I gave up. It just felt like clomping through mud to me, like the times when I'm stuck only muddling unproductively with the stuff in my psyche.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

just awful

do not waste your time. how it was published is beyond comprehension. just awful writing. no offense.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Boring

I gave up despite the time I'd invested in it. I honestly couldn't care less what happens, "whodunnit", or how the two mysteries intertwine. This story was the most boring, uninnovative book I've read (or listened to). I'm baffled by the good reviews it received.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • lisasarcy
  • 05-13-17

Entertaining

I like the blend of journalist and police in this series, even if it is a little unlikely. The way the solutions to several cases are uncovered and linked by the different approaches the trio takes makes this an interesting read.

It's not Rebus or McRae, but it's likely to appeal to fans of Rankin and McBride.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Andy Jones
  • 12-20-16

Promising story ruined by poor narration

Any additional comments?

Unfortunately I had to return this book after listening to the first half as I just couldn't get into it. The story and characters had good promise, but the narration is a disaster. Literally everything is read in the same dreary, emotionless monotone, and every character (including the women) have the same voice (the narrator's), such that it is both a chore keeping up with which character is speaking, and impossible to identify or sympathise with any of the characters. Other reviewers have also pointed out that there are very short transitions from scene to scene, further aggravating the problem. Perhaps if this is re-recorded with a better narrator (one of Steven Pacey's talents, for example) in future, I will reinvest in it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lyndel
  • 09-06-16

Kept Me Awake Listening

I Enjoyed The Book. Three story lines moved well between main characters with interesting events unfolding all the while.

it's the first book I've bought by this author, I'm buying a second immediately because he's a great writer.

The publisher's notes tell you all you need for a synopsis, so I don't need to tell more.

The story lines are topical and will not date over time, that makes the book's enjoyment durable for a few decades.

Buy the book, you won't be disappointed with content or narrator, who is brilliant and added polish to the whole audio experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • imtralee
  • 01-15-17

gripping

spanning police , politics, journalism and child expoloitation. Kept my interest to the very end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-06-16

behind dead eyes

looking forward to more from the same author and narrator. many thanks for hours of listening

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Michelle
  • 12-04-17

Loved it

I adore this series and can’t wait till the next one. Unfortunately for me I listened to them in the wrong order but each book does stand alone.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • David
  • 02-12-17

Terrible

no plot, terrible lifeless narration and boring characters make this a waste of time and money.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Raymond
  • 10-14-16

Blah blah, Oh finally, nearly good.

Had trouble staying with it during the first half. Blah blah blah, monotonous tone. The story had some intrigue and by second half I was piecing together the parts I'd stopped listening to and became fascinated.
Considered going back to start but not to repeat listening to that voice. It'll probably make a good TV series because the story is good and just needs some speed and oomph.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful