adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.95

Buy for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Rita Hayworth is not just the only American in town. She's also the only human! 

For all the everyday heroines over 40 who know it's not too late for magic! 

This audiobook begins with the formerly reclusive gentleman vampire hosting a murder mystery dinner you'll never forget and ends with the case of the captured kelpie. From Hallow Hill to Northern Ireland, don't miss your favorite judge's magical adventures. 

From the five-time winner of Best Paranormal Romance Series (Knights of Black Swan), a humorous, new, second-chance series by New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Victoria Danann.  

Perfect for fans of K.F. Breene, Darynda Jones, Shannon Mayer, and Fab 13.

©2020 7th House, Imprint of Andromeda LLC (P)2020 7th House, Imprint of Andromeda LLC

What listeners say about Midlife Blues: A Paranormal Women's Fiction Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

A smart, sexy, honest, happy middle aged woman...you don’t say. Thank you Victoria Danann for writing a lady many of us can relate too. Rita Hayworth tenacity is refreshing. A great read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The ending sucked

This book was way too short. And the next book in not in Audio. Major letdown.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Positive friendships

Rita Hayworth's story continues in book 2 -

Rita is breaking all the norms her predecessors did - Making friends, choosing to be friendly as a human has made some skeptical of their new judge.

One such friend is a lonely vampire she befriends only to realize there is more to him than anyone gave him credit for.

As Rita presides over court her decisions have turned some of the most cynical characters into her biggest fans, and Rita, with no law degree of her own, begins to enjoy the positive changes to her new life and a way to help the magic characters in return. Can't wait for the next book in this series.


  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but....

It’s been a very long time since I last reviewed a book, but I felt this book merited it. I LOVE these characters, setting, and storyline, the author paints a great picture in many respects, I was completely hooked after the 1st book, which was a lovely 9+ hours, but this book came up very short. At half the time, many ideas were introduced that went nowhere. At the end of the 1st book we were told about John David’s upcoming murder mystery dinner which is where we come in. There was a lot of build up and many scrumptious details given (clothing worn, preparations made, gorgeous scenery, foods eaten), but the event wrapped up so very quickly and it ended very abruptly. Then we jump right into Ritas magistrate’s duties, again a lot of details are given about the defendants, and we learn some good info about this wonderful world the author is building before us, then the book suddenly ends. One loose end of note left hanging is the object that John David (the vampire) takes care of that showed up in Rita’s shop. And for that matter, the mystery of where the items for the store come from has yet to be addressed. And Rita’s daughter, lots of loose ends there. I expected Rita’s ex to show back up and make a bunch of trouble, because you know we want to see some accountability dished out to him, but these issues may be forthcoming in upcoming books. Rita is living my dream life (except I adore my hubby) and I’m a tad older, so I want more please. Most stories have a basic conflict-resolution main theme, and even some sub-theme(s) that generally wrap up with each book, and have a least one on going theme throughout the series, but this series, so far, doesn’t follow this format. It’s a great to leave your readers wanting more, not so good to leave them so thoroughly unsatisfied.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Judged as Fabulous!

I absolutely love this episode of “life of a mortal judge of the faery courts.” I love the interactions between and among this group. I wish I was part of their little group. I love the murder mystery and absolutely love the rulings in court. Wish our justice system tried these methods...

This is a grand story! Life can happen after 40. I love the narration, perfect voice for these characters!

Definitely recommend to a friend!

Can hardly wait for the next episode!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Surprise

I must admit I was Skeptical About these stories. But, I Thoroughly enjoyed Both books so far.I have pre- ordered the 3rd book, Michella Moss ,The narrator Is Terrific . It did take both books to get any kind of a notion of all the various magical creatures. I don't think I ever had an idea of the number of various kinds and ways of the Entity's Involved.
This is absolutely one of my favorite series. It is funny And Sad And Thoroughly entertaining From start to This intermission between books 2 and 3.
I Will certainly seek out This author and narrator In the future . Thank you, Kaye

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Part 2 still Great!

I'm so loving this series! a the unusual characters that are mythical, and rarely in a romance book! thank you Victoria! Michelle Moss, great job as narrator!!!! I can't wait for #3 on audible!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire
  • Claire
  • 03-22-21

Half a book at full price

I am an avid audio book listener. This is the first reviewer I felt the need to write. Far from leaving a teasing cliff hanger and anticipating the next book. I am frustrated and irritated by being strung along with only half a book at full book price. Yes it is my choice to purchase or not, and guess what, I will not be purchasing anything by this author again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-04-21

very disappointed

I feel that this is not a complete book and that I am paying for chapters. I am left discontented that having bought 2 books I am left feeling like I have only bought 2/3 s of one book and don't even have the end of what could have been a good book.