adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.95

Buy for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Rita Hayworth is not just the only American in town. She's also the only human! 

For all the everyday heroines over 40 who know it's not too late for magic! 

This audiobook begins with the formerly reclusive gentleman vampire hosting a murder mystery dinner you'll never forget and ends with the case of the captured kelpie. From Hallow Hill to Northern Ireland, don't miss your favorite judge's magical adventures. 

From the five-time winner of Best Paranormal Romance Series (Knights of Black Swan), a humorous, new, second-chance series by New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Victoria Danann.  

Perfect for fans of K.F. Breene, Darynda Jones, Shannon Mayer, and Fab 13.

©2020 7th House, Imprint of Andromeda LLC (P)2020 7th House, Imprint of Andromeda LLC

What listeners say about Midlife Blues: A Paranormal Women's Fiction Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but....

It’s been a very long time since I last reviewed a book, but I felt this book merited it. I LOVE these characters, setting, and storyline, the author paints a great picture in many respects, I was completely hooked after the 1st book, which was a lovely 9+ hours, but this book came up very short. At half the time, many ideas were introduced that went nowhere. At the end of the 1st book we were told about John David’s upcoming murder mystery dinner which is where we come in. There was a lot of build up and many scrumptious details given (clothing worn, preparations made, gorgeous scenery, foods eaten), but the event wrapped up so very quickly and it ended very abruptly. Then we jump right into Ritas magistrate’s duties, again a lot of details are given about the defendants, and we learn some good info about this wonderful world the author is building before us, then the book suddenly ends. One loose end of note left hanging is the object that John David (the vampire) takes care of that showed up in Rita’s shop. And for that matter, the mystery of where the items for the store come from has yet to be addressed. And Rita’s daughter, lots of loose ends there. I expected Rita’s ex to show back up and make a bunch of trouble, because you know we want to see some accountability dished out to him, but these issues may be forthcoming in upcoming books. Rita is living my dream life (except I adore my hubby) and I’m a tad older, so I want more please. Most stories have a basic conflict-resolution main theme, and even some sub-theme(s) that generally wrap up with each book, and have a least one on going theme throughout the series, but this series, so far, doesn’t follow this format. It’s a great to leave your readers wanting more, not so good to leave them so thoroughly unsatisfied.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very entertaining, but very short

I love these books and will continue to buy them. although I feel it is wrong to pay full price for a 4 hour book. If you are going to write novellas, they should come with a much smaller price.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Judged as Fabulous!

I absolutely love this episode of “life of a mortal judge of the faery courts.” I love the interactions between and among this group. I wish I was part of their little group. I love the murder mystery and absolutely love the rulings in court. Wish our justice system tried these methods...

This is a grand story! Life can happen after 40. I love the narration, perfect voice for these characters!

Definitely recommend to a friend!

Can hardly wait for the next episode!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just didn’t grab me

Well, it was sort of a self justifying story. Good v bad and easy fixes. Sort of here is the bad guy/gal and here is the punishment. No real story depth. Not as good as the first book. Made the reader feel good but not a story I was looking for. I kept thinking that after the first 2 cases the story would develop but it didn’t.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Don’t waste money on this audio

Rita is plunged into her new role and is suddenly speaking like a magistrate that’s been in the role forever. She is so much less enjoyable now.
And then the book abruptly ends, very short.
The first was really fun. Darn :/

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Judge Judy bangs the gavel in fairyland ....

Well, not exactly, it's Judge Rita, and she does a really great job of righting wrongs and dealing with the fae on fae cruelty of "normal" life in fae-ville. I loved listening to the trials of the cases that make up most of this book ... if you like courtroom stories, you'll love this book, it's very satisfying. The two drawbacks are it's relatively short and it's a bit of a cliffhanger in that there's an unresolved issue at the end, a fae that might want to kill Judge Rita ... I'm not a fan of cliffhangers, but this is such a great series I would have purchased the next book anyway.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Series

Good storyline. Very different than other midlife husband wants a divorce to be with a younger woman(s) series. Love the narrator! Only complaint is the length of this audiobook is short.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very short story

I did not like that the story was so short. It ended abruptly even though the story was enjoyable, the ending ruined it. The narration is top notch, but then again the length of the story and the abrupt end makes me wish I did not buy it. It was not worth the money.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Too Short

Stop with the cliff-hangers and write more stories about the cases Rita is judging - she is great and funny!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Lots going on

The story continues and Rita is introduced to more craziness, more characters are introduced and more of her new world is revealed. I love the cases being summarized when Rita fully steps into being Magistrate, but am left feeling like more could have been said. Not just with the cases but with other characters as well, John David for example. I will not say more as to not give away spoilers, but the books are worth the read and an interesting story is being told. I only hope they are being cut short for a reason and more will be said later in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire
  • Claire
  • 03-22-21

Half a book at full price

I am an avid audio book listener. This is the first reviewer I felt the need to write. Far from leaving a teasing cliff hanger and anticipating the next book. I am frustrated and irritated by being strung along with only half a book at full book price. Yes it is my choice to purchase or not, and guess what, I will not be purchasing anything by this author again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fantasy Fan
  • Fantasy Fan
  • 08-28-21

Rita in Court

This was a short read but still incredibly enjoying. I love the way Victoria Danann writes and her descriptions in the court scenes are great. Lovely to see the inventive ways that Rita comes up with as punishments. Great addition to the series and lots of fun. Still getting used to the English accents but it didn’t put me off.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Casilda A. Slattery
  • Mrs. Casilda A. Slattery
  • 06-07-21

Love it. Love it. A Must Read!!

Excellent, very exciting storyline. The narrator's voice is mesmerising as well! As entertaining. Thank you for such stories.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-04-21

very disappointed

I feel that this is not a complete book and that I am paying for chapters. I am left discontented that having bought 2 books I am left feeling like I have only bought 2/3 s of one book and don't even have the end of what could have been a good book.