Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For all no-mercy heroines over 40!

From the five time winner of Best Paranormal Romance Series (Knights of Black Swan), a hot and humorous new series by New York Times and USA Today best-selling author, Victoria Danann.

The day after my 43rd birthday, my husband announced he was trading me in - his words, not mine. The news was unwelcome at the time, but honestly? I needed a good goosing to get up and find my way to the door.

So I was freed from the giant manual of expectations authored by my ex. That was the good news. The flip side was less happy. Due to living in a state not friendly to discarded wives, I was also relieved of the financial "security" I'd spent a lifetime accruing.

Starting over? I didn't plan on it. Didn't see it coming. But pulling a sheet over my head and waiting for the end didn't seem like my style. Granted. I wasn't sure what my style was because I hadn't thought about freedom of expression since I was twenty.

I'd never been a fan of optimistic adages like "it's not too late", but that was before my life was divided into two parts; everything that came before the shoes and everything after. The red shoes shot me with a lightning bolt of attitude adjustment and thrust me head first into an adventure that was unforeseeable to say the least. If you'd told me what my life was going to be like, I would have used every synonym for crazy you've ever heard.

On an ordinary day, should I ever experience one again, I manage the curious goods and antiques shop I "inherited" in a tiny, picturesque English village in Cumbria, where the world of magic lives side by side with the mundane. But eight times a year, I spend a week mediating the disputes of magic kind. Dignitaries and lowborn alike. Odd or not, two of the most attractive males imaginable are finding me and my magical authority sexy.

It may be too late for super shiny hair, going without a bra, or sleeping eight hours without a potty break. But it seems that it's not too late for navigating magical politics, expatriating, romance, and saving the world.

Perfect for fans of KF Breene, Shannon Mayer, Elizabeth Hunter, Darynda Jones, and Lucia Ashta.

©2020 Victoria Danann (P)2020 7th House Publishing, Imprint of Andromeda LLC

What listeners say about Midlife Magic: A Paranormal Women's Fiction Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Midlife magic

Fun story but I had to finish it reading. The narrator seems flat to me and did nothing to separate the characters from one another.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I wasn't a fan of the narrator

The narrator was just ok and it just took away from the story. I liked the story overall and found it entertaining and I plan to read the ebooks for the rest in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good fairy tail

I had reservations about this book. I was thinking it didn't sound all that great. I was wrong. This book turned out better than I expected and couldn't wait for the next in line.

This book is about how magical creatures can learn from the mundane, and an American at that, in a positive nature.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

If only this story happened to me

After Rita Hayworth's husband decides he was leaving her for a younger woman - the story starts Rita on her own journey. Rita's character is skeptical with her new found fortune and family but who wouldn't be? Rita finds out she's inherited a small fortune and estate in England but it comes with a catch -

Eight times a year, Rita convenes over a court as a human with no power of her own, on magic folk and their disputes.

This story was like a warm cuppa tea at the end of a day - it was fun, creative in a paranormal way, and leaves you feeling satisfied.

While I didn't find Michella Moss put a lot of tonal changes in her voice (deeper mens voice from women) from character to character, she was articulate and narrated the story with the right lilt so you knew what the characters were feeling and could empathize with them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A pleasant surprise & entertaining.

Narrator did a great job. Characters were easy to follow. The book was an unexpected surprise.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent start to a new series

Victoria Danann has crafted a great storyline to start a new series. The characters are well developed and the storyline is original. Michelle Miss gave a stellar performance as she brought all the elements together. I highly recommend this book to cozy paranormal fans. I look forward to the next installment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Amazing new series!!

Midlife Magic by Victoria Danann is the first in the Not Too Late series!
I thought this was a fantastic and unique story!! Great beginning for a series!! I loved all the characters, the world building and details. Also, the audio narration was a great fit for the story. Can't wait for more!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BH
  • 12-31-20

Loved It!

She knocked it out of park with this book. I was already a fan of her other books. I love her ability to tell a story and make you feel the characters!
Definitely recommend this to everyone!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KD
  • 12-29-20

Outstanding, Love it

Midlife Magic by V. Danann is book one in her Not Too Late Series and tells Rita Hayworth's fantastic and incredible story. I read the book with KU, bought the narration, it was like hook, line and sinker. I loved reading about a heroine in her fourties with a life already lived but with a lot still to discover. And what she has to discover.
Rita inherits/ gets chosen to be the magistrate of the pnr community. Her new place lies in the UK countryside with everything new and exciting. And by everything I mean everything. Power, love, friends her cup is overfull, unputdownable melting in a puddle of goo. I can't adequatedly express how much I love reading about Rita, Keir and co.
I loved reading this gem of a story, I loved the narration of Michelle Moss, I can't get enough of Rita's stories.
I already had a glimpse of Midlife Blues, where her story continues. I recommend the book and the narration and can't wait to get my hands on the next installment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great start of PWF series

I loved this story. The world building and how she brings the community closer. I love the relationships she forms and how big her heart is. I cannot wait to see how the week of court goes and to see her bonding with the puppies.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teddy
  • Teddy
  • 02-24-21

Needs refining

The story's not bad, although the "romance" element is leaning heavily of the usual sickening overused tropes (he's devastatingly handsome, incredibly powerful, and couldn't possibly be interested in her... could he? - {GACK!})

The author needs to research English terminology/phrasing and use of language better so English characters aren't referring to cars as "automobiles" and "autos" and don't use lines like, "Chatting me up," in the American meaning rather than the English meaning.

Also, some her character naming could use work - for example, "Brad" is a very American name. Yes, no doubt it IS used in the UK, but it's not common and it SOUNDS so all-American. Also, he managed to get himself listed among the attendees of the housewarming party that happened some time after he had died, so continuity could be better.

The narrator needs to check the pronunciation of names like Aisling ("ASH" is the first part, not "Ayes" ask a genuine Irish Aisling, or look it up online), although I only cringed at the accents in a few places.

Not bad but could do with refining.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fantasy Fan
  • Fantasy Fan
  • 01-08-21

Rita Hayworth Comes to England

I received this audiobook in exchange for an honest review. I’ve read/listened to a few of the Fab13 Midlife books and although they all seem to start in a similar way (a woman in her 40’s divorced or separated and starting her life over again), I’m amazed at how each of the Fab13 authors create a totally different adventure. This is no exception and I enjoyed meeting Rita, her talking car and watching her accept the role of magistrate whilst also bringing the town’s people together. There wasn’t really any action in this book, it set the scene and the world building. I did love that this was set in England but there were a few minor issues in the description of food (things we don’t say in England like broiled fish) and I enjoyed the easy listening voice of Michelle Moss. However, her English accents were a little distracting at times and weren’t very authentic which is why I gave this 4 stars! It will be interesting to see where Rita goes from here!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gimmebooks
  • Gimmebooks
  • 02-12-21

good start

A pretty standard story in PWF collection. Not bad but nothing new here. Heroine's situation is a little too much of a perfect set up with little conflict yet I am interested enough to read the next book.
A lot of potential for great worldbuilding.

I did find the narrator too monotonous and lacking in emotional expression outside of dialogue - which was well done with distinctive voices for different characters.