Your audiobook is waiting…

Last Lullaby

Detective Natalie Ward, Book 2
Narrated by: Diana Croft
Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (118 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?

When the body of mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband, Adam, in their bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: The word Why? written on the wall in blood. 

As Natalie begins to delve deeper into the couple’s lives, she discovers that Adam has a dark past he’s been hiding, and she’s sure that the Brannons' teenage babysitter, Inge, has secrets of her own.

Then another mother is murdered on her doorstep in front of her young son, the word why scrawled on the wall next to her.

All the key suspects have alibis, and with her own marriage hanging by a thread, Natalie is struggling to stay focused on cracking her toughest case yet.

When a young woman and her baby disappear, a member of Natalie’s own team is put in terrible danger. Can Natalie stop this twisted serial killer and save one of her own before more families are torn apart forever?

Gripping, fast-paced, and nail-bitingly tense, this book will send shivers down your spine. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Karin Slaughter.

©2018 Carol Wyer (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intense!

Loved the storyline and the suspense! Great character developement. Overall fantastic descriptions and a well written book. To the narrator Diana Croft........ Good job! You nailed it! I did not want this story to end😍

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Last Lullaby

I loved it!It has lots of twists and turns.The characters are likable. Diane Croft was a fine narrator. I was given this book by the narrator,author or publisher free for an honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

loved

gripping fast paced, loved from start to finish. you will to. be sure to catch the first one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

Great book. I’ve enjoyed all of the books I’ve read by Carol Wyer. I had a little problem with one simple part of this book, but not bad enough to make me dislike it. One thing I like about these books is that she adds the detectives’ personal lives to the plots. It adds that extra layer to the character. It makes it feel more real.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A new favorite! May we have more in this series?

Finally, I’ve been on a streak of disappointing books and this one just ended it. Author Carol Wyler and narrator Diana Croft are a well-matched duo and delivers brilliantly. A serial killer is on the loose and Detective Natalie Ward and her team take on the case. Thrilling suspense and surprises. One of the best in my vast Audible library! I’ve said it before and will repeat it again. I should stay with the genre Modern Detective. Highly recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story great narrator

loved it will be listening to all books in this series and any narrative that may be by same person

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nia Ireland
  • Nia Ireland
  • 12-18-18

Chilling detective thriller

This is the second book in the Detective Natalie Ward series and again I've been shocked (in a good way) by how unflinching the author is when it comes to writing brutal and realistic crimes. She avoids all of the coy euphemisms that normally irritate me in crime thrillers and doesn't shy away from the violent reality of murder.


Wyer's writing style really appeals to me - most of our time is spent in the mind of Detective Natalie Ward (which is only fair, given that this is her series!). She's a very likable main character - practically minded, intelligent, good at her job and trying her best to maintain a work-life balance when it's impossible to do so with an emotionally difficult job and a family with their own needs at home. I found myself becoming increasingly attached to her in this book, she's the perfect character to carry this series forward.

The crimes in this book are well written and investigated, the pacing is perfect and it really feels like you're part of the investigation and learning the facts as the police do - letting you come to your own conclusions throughout. That's the fun of a police procedural, as far as I'm concerned!

All of the characters in this book are complex and well written. For me, having Diana Croft as the narrator for the book was the icing on the cake. This book contains a lot of dialogue between characters and she manages to give each one their own distinctive voice in both tone and accent, with no confusion between characters - it really is impressive.

I'm now going to have to hold my breath until the third book is released in audio, the audiobook has set my expectations too high to enjoy it any other way!

*I received a free copy of this audiobook*

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for janice
  • janice
  • 05-20-19

amazing<br />

loved it all especially the dynamics between all the characters which make you feel invested in the story. having the characters home lives included the pressures they present to them in doing Thier jobs make it seem so real"

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carol reynolds
  • carol reynolds
  • 04-10-19

As ever ..... brilliant!

Keeps me guessing to the very last half hour of listening. Love the narrator. Love the author! So disappointed when I finish listening to these books, can’t wait for the next

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yvonne fruin
  • Yvonne fruin
  • 11-18-19

Last lullaby

Superbly written easy to believe and very well narrated, I will follow this author, it's good for see a female author promoted by Audible

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sophie
  • sophie
  • 04-04-19

Excellent

I really enjoyed this book read it in two days, but has now got me going at the end. A very good read

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathy Wood
  • Kathy Wood
  • 01-24-19

Would not recommend this audio book, sorry.

Poor story which did not keep my attention at all and some of the male voices sounded quite odd. Did not enjoy and will not be finishing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kylie_marree
  • kylie_marree
  • 06-14-19

two thumbs down

this book took waaaaaay to long to get to the point! And the point was not shocking in the least. this is why isn't not a good idea to buy a whole series in one hit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hamish
  • Hamish
  • 08-04-19

Last Lullaby - Last Time I Buy

You know how sometimes you dislike a bad A-grade movie twenty times more than you dislike a bad C grade movie?? Well i've always wondered about that and i think it's because most C-grade movies aren't pretending to be good - whereas crappy A-grade movies usually have the added flaw of being pretentious - and to me pretentious art is the absolute pits - well - I fear that is what we have here - I really thought I'd try to give this author another go - but honestly - she hasn't got any better.
Carol Wyer has just hopped on the crime bandwagon like every second other writer out there - she's slapped together a female lead DI a la Carol Jordan - Maeve Kerrigan - Kim Stone - Lottie Parker - Anna Travis - take your pick - and off we go with the same old formula - it's just derivative copycat drivel without ANY originality whatsoever - it's sterile - it's cliched - the characters are made out of cardboard - and worst of all - it's DULL
I think the problem is that the author hasn't put any HEART into this - it's as if she thinks she can just spit out a text - out it goes - and quick - onto the nexty! - publisher's waiting for another just like it...
i haven't spotted a SINGLE original thought or piece of dialog ANYWHERE in the text - there is just no heart and no soul in the work - i cannot tell you how much i loathe it - well i suppose i just have - i apologise if i've reacted overly strongly to it - but my lord its appalling - shame on this soulless money-making formulaic CRAP - it really ruins the genre for other more authentic writers...