Regular price: $20.72

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of The Rape of Nanking and A Problem from Hell, this account will change the way we think of Churchill and World War II.

In 1943 Winston Churchill and the British Empire needed millions of Indian troops, all of India's industrial output, and tons of Indian grain to support the Allied war effort. Such massive contributions were certain to trigger famine in India. Because Churchill believed that the fate of the British Empire hung in the balance, he proceeded, sacrificing millions of Indian lives in order to preserve what he held most dear. The result: the Bengal Famine of 1943-44, in which millions of villagers starved to death.

Relying on extensive archival research and first-hand interviews, Mukerjee weaves a riveting narrative of Churchill's decisions to ratchet up the demands on India as the war unfolded and to ignore the corpses piling up in the Bengali countryside. The hypocrisy, racism, and extreme economic conditions of two centuries of British colonial policy finally built to a head, leading Indians to fight for their independence in 1947.

Few Americans know that World War II was won on the backs of these starving peasants; Mukerjee shows us a side of World War II that we have been blind to. We know what Hitler did to the Jews, what the Japanese did to the Chinese, what Stalin did to his own people. This story has largely been neglected, until now.

©2010 Madhusree Mukarjee (P)2010 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"[W]ell-researched…This gripping account of historical tragedy is a useful corrective to fashionable theories of benign imperial rule, arguing that a brutal rapaciousness was the very soul of the Raj." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A fascinating narrative with a flawed narration

Where does Churchill's Secret War rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It's a pretty good audiobook. I've just listened to all of Simon Schama's "History of Britain" which ended off with some scathing commentary on the mismanagement of the Raj so it's interesting to move from that to an in-depth exploration of the Bengal Famine and India in the war effort.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of James Adams?

Probably Madhav Sharma, who did a superb job with Kim. Mr Adams isn't a bad narrator per se, but the main problem is that he can't code switch accents when pronouncing a number of Indian terms and names which means that they sound tortured and very odd in his rather plummy British accent. This is, I suppose forgivable in the first couple of chapters where we get fleeting references to "die-wanns" (diwans) and so forth but in a book dealing primarily with India in the Inter-War period, the Second World War and it's aftermath, an inability to pronounce "satyagraha" or "Bose" (protip- it's not "Bo-Say") can be really jarring and jerks one out of the flow. It's as if I were listening to a history of the American Revolution and kept hearing about "George Wossingteen" (not that I'm trying to equate Bo-say with General Wossingteen) and the "Con-TINE-ental Congroos".

Any additional comments?

I wouldn't choose not to buy this audiobook just because of the narrator- in all else he's reasonably easy to listen to and Mukarjee's narrative itself is compelling and well written.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

tedious at times

I did learn a lot about India and its colonization by Brittan. the book is full of numbered statistics which are hard for me to absorb just hearing them. this might have between a better read than a listen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Unknown history for me

What did you love best about Churchill's Secret War?

I was not aware of this part of WWII history and it is certainly something I should have been aware of. While parts of the book are hard to listen to, particularly the suffering and dying of the starving, it is compelling listening.

Which scene was your favorite?

When Churchill met Indira Ghandi during the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Madhusree Mukarjee has a great heart

This is a record that had to be told.

Please remember though that the mindset that Churchill had expressed in his own words is still held today by others about others.
While this is mostly about World War Two, the history of British Colonial Rule is important.
The English company that opened India to Colonial Rule also had been supported by the British Government in their drug running into China that led to the Opium Wars. The Free Traders were not only British.

This is not an easy listen.
How much more difficult was it to research and write?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rajesh
  • United States
  • 11-04-11

Churchill and the case of 3 million dead Indians.

Extremely well researched book that lays out an air tight case of Churchill's beastiality towards his Indian subjects. A must read/listen for any one who wishes to learn about the Indian history under British clonial rule. Narration is top notch with few minor flubs. Highly recommend!

10 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Mandar
  • Austin, TX, United States
  • 03-28-11

Excellent Listen!!

I usually don't write reviews but this book compelled me to write one. After reading this book and how Churchill treated Indians during the World War II era, Hitler and his atrocities seem less cruel. A kind of sad book but stating historical facts and heinous war crimes committed by Churchill. A tad bit longer but definitely a must read for all the history buffs out there!!

10 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Revealing story, bad pronunciation.

It's very interesting to hear Mukerjee's analysis of the Bengal famine of 1943. The narrator was annoying with his constant mispronunciation of Indian names ("Bosay" instead of "Bose" being the most common error), and constantly refering to dates as, for example, "twenty-two February" instead of "twenty-second February". No names of British origin were mispronounced though!

8 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Horrible reading of book destroys the story

Would you try another book from Madhusree Mukarjee and/or James Adams?

No.

What did you like best about this story?

Good story, great research.

How could the performance have been better?

Which genius hired a pom to read a book about the British Raj? Granted this is English but most of the world finds a pom accent horribly rude, disgusting and incredibly out of touch with the modern world - "Gandheee" for Gandhi and Ayab for Ayub, Jeinah for Jinnah and so on - wrong choice of person to read the book.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Good research by the author.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • David
  • San Jose, CA United States
  • 08-06-15

Interesting angle on the War

I thought I was well read on the general subject of the Second World War, at least in terms of the Western Allies, until I read this book. I even took a University course on the History of the British Empire and Commonwealth, and I don't recall any discussion of the war time famines in India. This is clearly written from the Indian point of view, and there are some conclusions which seem speculative. Overall, the book is quite damning of Imperial policy and the comparisons between food requirements for the home islands and India, are a stark comparison. I particularly enjoyed deepening my understanding of the conflict and the post war Independence and Partition of India. The audio version is read by an English narrator which adds some interesting flavor somehow.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • SK
  • Chicago
  • 09-04-11

an eye opener

Churchill is no less evil than Hitler, this historic narration is an eyeopener for folks interested in Indian History

6 of 15 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • S
  • 05-21-13

Interesting reading, marred by pronunciation

This was an engrossing listen, but the narrator could have bothered to learn how to pronounce the names of the people better. That was a really jarring experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Liam
  • 02-02-11

Very easy to listen to

Great book! And very well read. Highly recommended

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • surabhi
  • 02-13-17

Good book but failed narration

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I liked the book itself quite a bit but found the narrator too distracting. The narrators atrocious pronunciation of Indian words was almost comical and distracted me from the serious storyline.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful