Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....

©2002 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jean
  • Santa Cruz, CA, United States
  • 03-01-16

Lots of Action

This is the third book in the series. Audible did not have book two available. The year is 44 AD during the Roman invasion of Britain. This is a historical military novel about two soldiers Macro and Cato of the Roman Second Legion.

A sudden storm strikes the Roman fleet bringing food, supplies, reinforcements and the wife, Lady Pomponia, and children of commanding General Plautus. The lead ship with Lady Pomponia aboard is driven off course before crashing against the rocks while attempting to beach the ship. The family is captured by the Druids. The Druids are attempting to exchange the General’s family for a number of captured Druids. Macro and Cato are sent to free the General’s family.

The book is well written and the plot is strong. Scarrow has some dramatic battle scenes along with lots of action. A major battle is fought at Camulodunum or what is modern day Colchester. The author also provides insight into the soldier’s life in the Roman Legion. Scarrow also provides some information about Celtic culture and religion as well as information about the Druids. I am not an expert about this time frame in history so cannot say how accurate Scarrow is in the historical information. I did note two items, first, he said the ships had slave chained to the oars. I know this is inaccurate as the Roman’s only had free men on the oars of ships. The second item he gives the impression the Druids are a tribe and the Celts are a tribe. It is my understanding that the Druids were the educated class of the Celtic peoples not a separate tribe of people. The book is easy to read and is a real page turner. David Thorpe does an excellent job narrating the book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Nice historical fiction

Great reader
Consistent characters
Who are likable
Would recommend
Similar to Bernard Cornwall
With plenty of shield wall and squares
To fight in

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Erik
  • Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
  • 04-12-14

Still entertaining!

The story line for this 3rd novel isn’t quite up to par with the previous two, but is still good. Simon Scarrow’s narration continues to greatly add to the audio version, and I certainly hope they don’t change narrators for follow on books.

If you haven’t been introduced to this series, I might want to start with the first book. If you’ve finished books one and two, and are considering the third book, I recommend you do so.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 09-09-15

And here I'm stuck!

It's a real shame (at least at the time of writing). This is such a great series, extremely well narrated, I love the characters but there are unfortunately gaps after this in the series which even after a year or two show no sign of being filled on Audible.

I'm determined to listen to these in order so will just have to wait. These books are still definitely worth reading but check out the gaps in the series first so you know what the situation is.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • jamie
  • 09-23-16

I love it

I absolutely adore this book and the eagle series as a whole. It's a complete tragedy they aren't all available through audible

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sarah J
  • 10-17-17

Fabulous

I just love this series of books! I can’t wait to download book 4 and tune in to more in the life of these two characters!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ray Williams
  • 06-12-16

Great story

I found myself immersed in this story from the start. Very well written. Good continuation of the stories previously written.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • I WHITE
  • 06-11-16

Great tale

Would you listen to When the Eagle Hunts again? Why?

Great follow up to the first 2 books in the series.Can't wait for the next one.

What other book might you compare When the Eagle Hunts to, and why?

I try not to compare. I take each book on its own merits.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Storming the Hill Fort.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No

Any additional comments?

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Roy
  • 03-17-16

Does what it says on the tin.

familar hero's mixed with true historical names makes for a wining combo. I loved it

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-22-16

great listen.

engaging story with engaging characters. I find myself looking for the next in the series when I have finished a book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • James
  • 01-16-16

Come on Audible - hurry up with Book 4 and 5

Where does When the Eagle Hunts rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Fast paced, comfortable listen - not too taxing, good adventure. So probably the series is in the top 30% of books I have listened to. But that is for the series.....

Who was your favorite character and why?

Boudica - clever, pragmatic and a rounded Briton...

What about David Thorpe’s performance did you like?

I really like his range of intonation - very clear given the breadth of character types he has to deal with here. I particularly like the broad London accents for the Legionaries and Centurions - makes them the "common folk"

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If only I had time....

Any additional comments?

Like many others, I like books such as this where I have a long series to listen to. The obvious fact that Books 4 and 5 in the series do not appear to have been recorded or released is therefore very annoying. I hope that Audible do something about this so that I can continue with the series. These types of story - whilst episodic - follow the development of a character over time. No point in jumping over a couple of years in the life of these characters.....

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jules
  • 12-05-15

Continues to entertain

Would you consider the audio edition of When the Eagle Hunts to be better than the print version?

Far better,this brings the whole story to life and that atmosphere of the times.a great listen

What was one of the most memorable moments of When the Eagle Hunts?

The great battle and how the heroes survived by depending on each other,macro and Cato are brilliant

What does David Thorpe bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

His tone and pace bring the story to life,keeping the listener on the edge of their seats

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Druidsids beware

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Adam
  • 09-02-15

love the series

this series just gets better and better!...although somewhat predictable. still, thoroughly enjoyed listening to this

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • jarrod
  • 11-16-17

Best in the series yet

Brilliant entry. A bit of a change but still a great listen. Can't wait to get through the next one in the series.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • V. Christoforou
  • 01-18-17

Very informative and entertaining

What made the experience of listening to When the Eagle Hunts the most enjoyable?

I love this series because Simon Scarrow has done a marvelous job of weaving fiction and truth together. You get the best of both worlds, entertainment and you get to learn a lot about the inner workings of the Roman Empire, the Legions which furthered the Roman ideal and were the backbone of all power in Rome and of course some great characters that you can follow and really get to know more and more as the stories develop!

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me laugh, it made me a little anxious but all in all I was glad to have my eyes opened to the world of Ancient Rome that much further.