Regular price: $22.67

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In Toulouse, Louisiana, finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you're lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives.

Laura Landry's quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they're forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like...and if it includes her husband.

For years Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George's affection sparks Cash's jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men....

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right, she won't end up like her mom - a divorced single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire's husband, Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can't help but fear that history is about to repeat itself....

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she'd end up with someone like her fiancé. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league - which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.

©2017 Alloy Entertainment, LLC and Julie Pennell (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Lacking some woman power

I should have realised that the young wives club would not be my kinda book from the title . I really hate that the girls had to go thru this learning phase of figuring out that an early marriage and losing your identity is not good .

Anyway ! The story was okay . The reading was okay but if you are annoyed with people getting married at 19 and then this book is not for you .

As a single woman I enjoy some chick lit but this storyline felt lacking .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Pretty good

It was a good fast read. A little too predictable, but still good. Easy to finish in a day or two.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Brenda
  • Acme, Alberta, Canada
  • 04-09-17

Don't waste the credit

I would have sent this horrible book back but I had sent the previous one back and didn't feel right doing another. Horrible narration and lifeless characters. Don't bother unless you are 13

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So boring

I've been trying to read this book for over a month now, I don't know if it's just me. I cannot get into it. I'm kind of sick of the whining that all of the characters are continuously doing. I keep hoping that it's going to get interesting, but I feel like I'm about halfway through and it's just not getting there. I feel like it had real potential but missed the mark. Everything time I turn it on it just turns into background noise at best.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Trying too hard

I know this is fiction, but It's so far away from actual life in the South as to be off-putting. The reader's "Southern" accent is cringe-wortht. I would have abandoned the book if I had additional credits this month.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book

love It! definitely one of my favorites and a must read for all the woman out there

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Don't listen to it if you are from Louisiana

I was so irritated by the poorly used Louisiana stereotyping that I could not enjoy the book. It is like the author Googled Louisiana tourism and then stuck the "things to do while in Louisiana" she found into the story. Well, we don't eat crawfish and gumbo every day, we surely do not have beignets for breakfast every day. We don't use each other's last names when we speak just to show we are cajuns. I could go on and on with examples of poorly placed Louisiana "customs" haphazardly thrown into this story.🙄

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Love!

This book was wonderful! I could relate to each of the girls and their relationship in different ways. It's a book for those who also were young wives. I do wish the endings were a little different but I still loved it.