Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Getting inside the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart....

Alice Quentin faces her most terrifying challenge yet in this chilling novel, perfect for fans of Nicci French.

The girl was lying on the steps of the Foundling Museum, dressed all in white.

Four girls have disappeared in North London. Three are already dead. Britain's most prolific child killer, Louis Kinsella, has been locked up in Northwood high-security hospital for over a decade. Now more innocents are being slaughtered, and they all have a connection to his earlier crimes.

Psychologist Alice Quentin is doing research at Northwood. She was hoping for a break from her hectic London life, but she'll do anything to help save a child - even if it means forming a relationship with a charismatic, ruthless murderer. But Kinsella is slow to give away his secrets, and time is running out for the latest kidnap victim, who is simply trying to survive....

©2014 Kate Rhodes (P)2014 Oakhill Publishing

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Becoming predictable.

I really enjoyed the first book in the series, I quite liked the second book - but by the third book I could predict what would happen because it seems that Kate has only one main story line for her lead character. I won't lay out the details here because I would hate to spoil the book for someone who hasn't read the others, but the author may consider that it doesn't always need to be the same person who makes the same mistakes in their personal lives and who makes foolhardy decisions that end up with the same person fighting for their lives in every story! There are other ways to weave suspense and action into a book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

silence of the lambs

which came first, the silence of the lambs or winter foundling? They are mirror images

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

more from this author

loved the series, couldn't stop listening. Will there be an other book in the series

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Mandy Dockery
  • 01-05-17

Not so much

The book is well written and entertaining with a good story line. However at times I was lidterning to silence of the lambs! Please don't let me put you off but not a book I would listen to again and will return.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Carolyne
  • 01-01-17

Absolutely brilliant

One of the best thrillers I have listened to in a very long time. The characters fulfil the story line and do not stand outside the authors voice. The story is fast paced and demands reading from start to finish in a sitting. Thanks for a great read

2 of 2 people found this review helpful