Regular price: $23.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Nathan Hurst hated Christmas. For the rest of the world, it was a day of joy and celebration; for Nathan it was simply a reminder of the event that destroyed his childhood. But then a snowstorm, a canceled flight, and an unexpected meeting with a young mother and her very special son show him that Christmas is indeed the season of miracles.

Here is a heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box and Finding Noel. Sure to be a classic, this new tale brings to life the joy of the season and demonstrates the redemptive power of love.

©2007 Richard Paul Evans; (P)2007 Simon and Schuster Inc.

Critic Reviews

"The tightly honed narrative, brimming with good intention to find courage in shared suffering, soon brings everyone together." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • antigudra
  • pine bluff, AR, United States
  • 11-23-09

Wonderful!!!!!

This story will take you through all your emotions. This is a great listen. Well worth the download. Excellent narration

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Excellent story.

Great Christmas message. Lovable and real characters. Didn't want the story to end.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Andrea
  • Linz, Austria
  • 11-15-08

wonderful book - read it during Christmas season

Emotional, touching story with well-developed characters and a message beyond the actual story. Highly recommendable.
Excellent narration!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

My Favorite Author

Richard, your books bring a comfort to my deeply troubled soul. Oh I go. On taking life one day at a time and those around me don't see my scars Bless you.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

excellent book!<br />

Loved it! beautiful story, great listening, good reader. Love Richard Paul Evans books. this one is tops!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book!

As with all of Richard's books, I was both inspired and uplifted. I have a little more understanding in dealing with my own losses. AG, Texas

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good, Easy Read

Where does The Gift rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I enjoyed this light holiday book. It is a heart-warming story, but was a little on the unrealistic side at parts. I would listen to it again next Christmas, as it helped me escape my work life on my drive home. If you are one that over analyzes books, you may not enjoy it as much.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Melanie
  • Las vegas, NV, United States
  • 04-20-12

Inspiring Message. Touching Read.

I think Richard Paul Evans is at his best when he uses allegory to bring universal themes to light. There are so many here. There is no suggestion that Collin is himself any type of deity. The books makes you wonder what the true gifts we give those we love are. Are we willing to give all to those whom we love? Have we ever received those types of gifts from others? I believe in a God who heals completely, both body and spirit. I enjoyed reading this book. While Collin was a physical healer, the truer gifts were those that healed the burdens of spirit that people carried who encountered Collin. Some people can give and receive gifts of the spirit -- Mr. Evans has given one -- the story is just a way to open your own heart to the gifts that you can give and receive to those you love. Forgiveness. Repentance. Love.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lyle
  • Pincher Creek, AB, Canada
  • 12-19-11

Teaching of a multi-God

What disappointed you about The Gift?

Jesus Christ is reduced to another gifted man, just like Mohammad, Gandhi and other people of the ages. Even comparing Conner's gift to Jesus is a stretch since Conner's gift does not bring peace, and definitely does not bring people together. This story is the modern day religion that tries to parallel the real Jesus and attempts to bring another alternative belief to the Gospel of Peace. In the end it just brings more sorrow, to a world full of

What could Richard Paul Evans have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Don't ever try to compete with the real Jesus and his message for mankind - the Gospel of Peace.

Did Richard Paul Evans do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

Richard is an excellent writer, as I have listened to other stories of his. He makes each character come to reality.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

This is a very sad book, very disappointing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful