Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle's Conquest is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer. And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined. But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians....

©2001 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Gripping and moving." (The Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

easy listening

Would you listen to The Eagle's Conquest again? Why?

Yes in a years time; you miss pieces while driving

Who was your favorite character and why?

Carto - lead charactor

Have you listened to any of David Thorpe’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

listen to another in the same series so no difference

If you could rename The Eagle's Conquest, what would you call it?

in a Roman army

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Erik
  • Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
  • 04-12-14

Solid Sword and Sandals Story

This really is an entertaining series. Not exactly haute literature, but the writing is solid and the stories draw you in. As always, Simon Scarrow is perfectly matched to this series.

Give this one a try if you’re into this genre. You won’t be disappointed.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 10-11-15

Excellent Sequel

Simon Scarrow has created two characters who go together extremely well despite their differences. This book continues to follow their exploits in Britain and includes some minor engagements and a significant climactic battle with a genuinely exciting ending.

The combination of the well-rounded characters, Scarrow's detailed knowledge of his subject area and David Thorpe's excellent narration make this a genuinely compelling package that I would recommend to anyone interested in the genre though the books are probably better read in order.

The weakness still, as I write, is that this series has gaps in it on Audible that remain unplugged for whatever reason so have to be sought in other formats.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • patrick callaghan
  • 01-21-18

Fantastic Listen

Thoroughly enjoyed listening the trails and tribulations of Cato and Marco, I like how the author kept things short and sweet not giving long instances of build up without action. Can’t wait for the next !!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Adam
  • 08-26-15

I'm really enjoying this series!

the characters are constantly evolving and it sticks as closely as possible to historical records so makes it more believable! recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • CHERYL BEECH
  • 02-10-18

wonderful story, brilliantly narrated. Cant wait f

riveting story brilliantly narrated. Cant wait to read next installment of the adventures of Cato.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Abigail Wheatley
  • 01-10-18

Great Adventure

I love Cato and Macro. The ups and downs they face are fantastically written. You get just the right amount of detail / description. It's enough to picture the scene without boring the listener.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jake Thomas
  • 12-29-17

Boudica!

That last line made this audio book worth it simply because of the implications that character will bring. the battles were simple although lacking in detail the quickening pace of which event unfold makes the battle seem less boring. Worth the money or credit spent for it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Stephen J
  • 11-17-17

Dissapointed that Invasion not written in detail

This book is about conquest of Britain bit by bit. I was hoping the invasion would be detailed.
Book three is a possibility.

  • Overall
  • Kindle Customer
  • 09-20-17

Macro And Cato march again!

A good book not burdened too much by sticking to historical accuracy. Very enjoyable once you suspend your belief and accept an 18 year old Optio!! Well written and fun it romps along. Well worth reading/ listening took

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Andi Ollygark
  • 06-18-16

Easy reading and an enjoyable story.

Thoroughly enjoyable performance by David Thorpe particularly of a stuttering Claudius, well written light novel.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Huw
  • 05-30-16

Brilliant

Having read the book I was very curious to listen to the audiobook. I was not disappointed. Brilliant just brilliant.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • 02-03-18

Good second book

Good story, continues the series well, great narration (loving Graeme's work) and well written (well done Simon). If you've started the series enjoy this one too ....on to No.3 for me.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Brad
  • 05-27-17

good book with some holes

the story was good apart from the story holes with carto and Lavinia, they speak of knowing the Tribune before their relationship however she was only a slave on the market only recently

  • Overall
  • PTL
  • 04-16-15

eagles conquest review

I am enjoying these Roman era books but I think the author should look at how communications would have occurred particularly between the Romans and the tribes of Britain ( i guess Celts at that time) doubt that the natives spoke latin . Other than this I enjoyed the licence that the author took lookink forward to the next in the series.

Peter T. L.